Switch Theme:

Consolidation move and smoke launcher with a dreadnought  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The original question and another rule have the exact same wording.

It's an example of a rule not working only in one phase. Isn't that the basis of your reason for it not working? Because smoke launcher rules are in the movement phase part of the book?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Your question has been answered but you have chosen to ignore it.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in au
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine





Melbourne, Australia

davidson wrote:
tallmantim wrote:
My reading is that the rules are pretty clear as to the intention of the rule (it part of the movement phase - the wording is "after completing its move", not "after completing a move".

Trying to interpret it to allow you to use them after consolidation is a blatant attempt at cheesy rules lawyering IMO.


So if a unit makes a consolidation move into a forest with space marine cluster mines do they blow?

They are worded in the exact same way and mention nothing about in what phase they can blow in.

Heck, they could blow in the movment phase(normal move into the woods), the shooting phase(run into the woods), and the assault phase(assault through the woods)!


So if a unit makes a consolidation move into a forest with space marine cluster mines do they blow?

They are worded in the exact same way and mention nothing about in what phase they can blow in.

Heck, they could blow in the movment phase(normal move into the woods), the shooting phase(run into the woods), and the assault phase(assault through the woods)!


LOL

You're still trying the weaselly cheese?

They are NOT worded in the same way!

The cluster mines section states:

"Cluster mines are automatically triggered the first time a unit (friendly or enemy) moves into the booby trapped terrain."

Compared to:

"Once per game, after completing its move, a vehicle with smoke launchers can trigger them (it doesn’t matter how far it moved)."

If you choose to interpret it as allowing you to pop smoke after a consolidation move, that's your and your gaming buddies discretion.

Cluster mines and popping smoke have nothing to do with each other and are not worded in the same way.

IMO the intention of the game designers is clear although the exact wording may not be for the situation you describe.

There are 10 types of people in the world - those who understand binary, and those who don't.

My work in progress thread 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

He is very cheesy indeed.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Calling me names don't stop you from being wrong.
Some people seem to have a preconceived notion that smokes worked one way in the last ed so they "must" be the same in this edition.

And yes they are worded in the same way, they are both events triggered at the end of a movement. It does not say what type of movement or in what phase it can only happen in.


The fact that using the smoke launcher is listed under the title Walkers Shooting tells me that you use them during the shooting phase, just like the reference to running. So I do indeed think you are not allowed to fire the smoke launcher in any other phase. Sorry.

G


The rules under walkers shooting only points out a exception that allows dreads to run and still use smoke launchers. Otherwise the rules for smoke launchers are under Vehicles and cover-obscured targets, not the movement phase.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/01/28 09:17:02


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Whatever.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)




The Great State of Texas

Moderation on: Gentlemen a reminder, to please post appropriately.

-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
 
   
Made in au
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine





Melbourne, Australia

You can elect to take whatever ruling you want - you have been given opinion on the site, and as with many wordings for rules, there is more than one way to interpret them.

For example, it is possible to interpret getting a weapon destroyed hit on a Necron Monolith results in it gaining an additional attack.

Without an errata or FAQ point however, these rules are up to player discussion and discression.

The point about cluster mines is a straw man argument.

There are 10 types of people in the world - those who understand binary, and those who don't.

My work in progress thread 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: