Switch Theme:

Runtherd weapons - 1 or 2-handed?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







BlackSpike wrote:
Gwar! wrote:the reverse means People with pistols and CCW don't get the bonus attacks, as Pistols are never stated as one handed.

P. 29, BRB:
"Pistol Weapons
Pistol weapons are light enough to be carried and fired one-handed"

Pretty explicit, if you ask me.
And since when did shooting rules apply in Close Combat?

Please, if you are going to quote rules, quote the correct ones.
Furthermore, you are not even quoting the actual Pistol rule. The actual rule states:
All pistols are effectively Assault 1 weapons with a range of 12' (unless differently specified in their profile). In addition a pistol counts as a close combat weapon in the Assault phase.

See, nothing about one handed there. That means, accordion to Ghaz, Pistols do not give a bonus attack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/09 02:01:07


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





Please! I have an actual rules question that is actually related to the thread. By replying to Ghaz or anyone that agrees with him in this topic, you are being trollbait.

EDIT! Page 42
Two normal close combat weapons
These models gain one bonus attack

It doesn't even say two single-handed CCWs. It says 2 normal ones.
QED
a weapon doesn't need to say one-handed.
/argument.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/09 02:14:46


 
   
Made in qa
Dakka Veteran






Nova Scotia, Canada

Gwar, chill out. Its a close combat weapon, meaning it adds an attack. What do you want here?

In a Society in which there is no law, and in theory no compulsion, the only arbiter of behaviour is public opinion. But public opinion, because of the tremendous urge to conformity in gregarious animals, is less tolerant than any system of law. When human beings are governed by "thou shalt not", the individual can practise a certain amount of eccentricity: when they are supposedly governed by "love" or "reason", he is under continuous pressure to make him behave and think in exactly the same way as everyone else.

George Orwell is my hero.

Social Experiment: if you're pissed like me, copy and paste this into your sig, and add a number after it.
PISSED 8374982374983749873948234
Check out my band Man In A Shed 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nintendoeats wrote:Gwar, chill out. Its a close combat weapon, meaning it adds an attack. What do you want here?
I know it is. I am just pointing out what Ghaz is using to claim that they do not give a bonus attack, which is utter nonsense.
Deffgob wrote:Please! I have an actual rules question that is actually related to the thread. By replying to Ghaz or anyone that agrees with him in this topic, you are being trollbait.

EDIT! Page 42
Two normal close combat weapons
These models gain one bonus attack

It doesn't even say two single-handed CCWs. It says 2 normal ones.
QED
a weapon doesn't need to say one-handed.
/argument.
QFT. However Ghaz says because it is under the part "FIGHTING WITH TWO SINGLE HANDED WEAPONS", weapons must be explicitly stated to be 1 handed or not give a bonus attack.

Edit: No, the Irony that I have done more arguing for this point than the people who actually think this is not lost on me.

-Le Sigh-

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/09 02:17:08


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver






Leicester, UK

Gwar! wrote:
BlackSpike wrote:
Gwar! wrote:the reverse means People with pistols and CCW don't get the bonus attacks, as Pistols are never stated as one handed.

P. 29, BRB:
"Pistol Weapons
Pistol weapons are light enough to be carried and fired one-handed"

Pretty explicit, if you ask me.
And since when did shooting rules apply in Close Combat?

Please, if you are going to quote rules, quote the correct ones.
Furthermore, you are not even quoting the actual Pistol rule. The actual rule states:
All pistols are effectively Assault 1 weapons with a range of 12' (unless differently specified in their profile). In addition a pistol counts as a close combat weapon in the Assault phase.

See, nothing about one handed there. That means, accordion to Ghaz, Pistols do not give a bonus attack.


How can I not be quoting the "actual Pistol rule" when it is copied verbatim from the Pistol Weapons section of the rulebook?
My interpretation, which seems to differ from your interpretation, is that "carried and fired one-handed" is explicit enough to classify it as a one-handed weapon.
The rule then goes on to state that it counts as a CCW. Still one-handed, as no explicit change is mentioned.

I refuse to enter a battle of wits with an unarmed opponent. 
   
Made in qa
Dakka Veteran






Nova Scotia, Canada

Does a two-handed CCW qualify as abnormal?

In a Society in which there is no law, and in theory no compulsion, the only arbiter of behaviour is public opinion. But public opinion, because of the tremendous urge to conformity in gregarious animals, is less tolerant than any system of law. When human beings are governed by "thou shalt not", the individual can practise a certain amount of eccentricity: when they are supposedly governed by "love" or "reason", he is under continuous pressure to make him behave and think in exactly the same way as everyone else.

George Orwell is my hero.

Social Experiment: if you're pissed like me, copy and paste this into your sig, and add a number after it.
PISSED 8374982374983749873948234
Check out my band Man In A Shed 
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





I would hope that he isn't trying to push this on the basis of the title of the rules section. For the sake of my faith in mankind, I will continue to think that he simply misremembered what the book actually said, and that any time now he will come into the thread and admit his mistake.
nintendoeats wrote:Does a two-handed CCW qualify as abnormal?

yes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/09 02:19:15


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







BlackSpike wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
BlackSpike wrote:
Gwar! wrote:the reverse means People with pistols and CCW don't get the bonus attacks, as Pistols are never stated as one handed.

P. 29, BRB:
"Pistol Weapons
Pistol weapons are light enough to be carried and fired one-handed"

Pretty explicit, if you ask me.
And since when did shooting rules apply in Close Combat?

Please, if you are going to quote rules, quote the correct ones.
Furthermore, you are not even quoting the actual Pistol rule. The actual rule states:
All pistols are effectively Assault 1 weapons with a range of 12' (unless differently specified in their profile). In addition a pistol counts as a close combat weapon in the Assault phase.

See, nothing about one handed there. That means, accordion to Ghaz, Pistols do not give a bonus attack.


How can I not be quoting the "actual Pistol rule" when it is copied verbatim from the Pistol Weapons section of the rulebook?
My interpretation, which seems to differ from your interpretation, is that "carried and fired one-handed" is explicit enough to classify it as a one-handed weapon.
The rule then goes on to state that it counts as a CCW. Still one-handed, as no explicit change is mentioned.
The fact you call it "my interpretation" shows you have not bothered to read a damn thing in this thread. Also, you DID notice that the first Paragraph of each Weapon type is what we like to call "Fluff" while the second and subsequent ones are the actual rules?

And again, they can be "fired one handed". It does not say "they may be used in a Swirling meleƩ one handed".
Deffgob wrote:I would hope that he isn't trying to push this on the basis of the title of the rules section. For the sake of my faith in mankind, I will continue to think that he simply misremembered what the book actually said, and that any time now he will come into the thread and admit his mistake.
I'll take your sanity now Please, this is not the first time this has come up, and the posts were of the same nature the first time round.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/09 02:27:28


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver






Leicester, UK

Deffgob wrote:Please! I have an actual rules question that is actually related to the thread. By replying to Ghaz or anyone that agrees with him in this topic, you are being trollbait.

EDIT! Page 42
Two normal close combat weapons
These models gain one bonus attack

It doesn't even say two single-handed CCWs. It says 2 normal ones.
QED
a weapon doesn't need to say one-handed.
/argument.


Earlier on P.42 it states under the heading Normal Close Combat Weapons:
"Weapons like chainswords, rifle butts combat blades ..."

and then clarifies under Fighting With Two Single-Handed Weapons :
"a two-handed weapon (such as a rifle butt)".

So is a rifle-butt a normal CCW? Is it one handed? Are all normal CCW one-handed?

I refuse to enter a battle of wits with an unarmed opponent. 
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





but... but it says very clearly that if a model has 2 normal CCWs, they get +1 attack... Can't they see that?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Deffgob wrote:but... but it says very clearly that if a model has 2 normal CCWs, they get +1 attack... Can't they see that?
Exactly. The only time it comes into play is if it specifically mentioned as two handed (which denies the bonus attack)

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver






Leicester, UK

So, does a Grabba-Stick count as a CCW (specifically, for the purpose of getting +1A for combining it with a pistol)?

I refuse to enter a battle of wits with an unarmed opponent. 
   
Made in qa
Dakka Veteran






Nova Scotia, Canada

Can we get back to the part where we decide if a Grabba stick is a CCW?

In a Society in which there is no law, and in theory no compulsion, the only arbiter of behaviour is public opinion. But public opinion, because of the tremendous urge to conformity in gregarious animals, is less tolerant than any system of law. When human beings are governed by "thou shalt not", the individual can practise a certain amount of eccentricity: when they are supposedly governed by "love" or "reason", he is under continuous pressure to make him behave and think in exactly the same way as everyone else.

George Orwell is my hero.

Social Experiment: if you're pissed like me, copy and paste this into your sig, and add a number after it.
PISSED 8374982374983749873948234
Check out my band Man In A Shed 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







They are listed as Weapons, but are never specified to be Close Combat Weapons of any sort. The codex actually states: "A Model with a Grabba Stikk Attacks Normally, but each assault phase he can cause a single model in base contact to lose an attack"

Nowhere does it state it is a Close combat weapon at all. Compare to grot prods, which state he is armed with a "Poisoned Weapon" (and as such a CCW).

So, No, Grabba Stikks do NOT allow for +1 Attacked when combined with a Pistol because they are not a CCW at all.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





Gwar! wrote:They are listed as Weapons, but are never specified to be Close Combat Weapons of any sort. The codex actually states: "A Model with a Grabba Stikk Attacks Normally, but each assault phase he can cause a single model in base contact to lose an attack"

Nowhere does it state it is a Close combat weapon at all. Compare to grot prods, which state he is armed with a "Poisoned Weapon" (and as such a CCW).

So, No, Grabba Stikks do NOT allow for +1 Attacked when combined with a Pistol because they are not a CCW at all.

lol, I've been waiting for a page and a half for someone to agree with me on that, or in the very least try to tell me that I'm wrong.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: