Switch Theme:

Can units in transports that scout disembark passengers on their scout move?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior




PG 76 of the BRB says "...scouts make make a normal move. Done exactly as in their movement phase." There for if my movement is to disembark all i have to do is meet the conditions equivalent to a movement phase. They started the phase (we'll call it the scout movement phase ) inside the transport there for they met the requirements of a movement phase and can disembark.
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Wrong.... they can ONLY move as if in their movement phase.
Embarking and disembarking during the movement phase, but have their own subset of rules within that phase, that means after the game has begun. They are also not part of a 'normal move'.

There is NO SUCH THING as a scout movement phase. It is a scout move done before the game begins.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/11 02:11:40


Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...




"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." 
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka







Although I really hate rules discussions (the only ones I care about are the ones that me and my opponent of the day agree to) and am completely firmly in the RAI camp as opposed to RAW in general matters.

However, it seems to me that the discussion has tended to miss the main point that's been raised.

It seems to me that the keyword is the 'begins.'

Therefore, using 'Gwar Logic' - which is very much correct in the context that he defines it as (I'll summarize as RAW or bust) the fact that the 'begins its' is there means that the state

Movement phase begun must equal 'true' before unit may disembark.

I'm sure if it weren't nearly 3am I could do some structured English if/else statements that might clarify the no-disembark point but well, brain is currently mush.
   
Made in us
Grovelin' Grot





Kansas

pg 67: A unit that begins its Movement phase aboard a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has move.
I do not see that disembarking is limited to the movement phase but that if you are in the vehicle you can disembark.
I say if the vehicle has scout it can move in the scout movement phase. If a unit with scout is inside a transport I would support that he could disembark from said vehicle.

Trukks git ya ta da killy part fasta!
Template weapons don't roll to hit. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Dartorn wrote:pg 67: A unit that begins its Movement phase aboard a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has move.
I do not see that disembarking is limited to the movement phase but that if you are in the vehicle you can disembark.
I say if the vehicle has scout it can move in the scout movement phase. If a unit with scout is inside a transport I would support that he could disembark from said vehicle.
Yeah.... no.

There is no Scout Movement Phase. There is a Scout Move. Big Difference. How can you not see that disembarking is limited to the movement phase? The rule EXPLICITLY STATES that in order to disembark, the unit must "[begin] its Movement phase aboard a vehicle".

During the scout move, the unit has never had a chance to "[begin] its Movement phase aboard a vehicle".

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: