Switch Theme:

Necron We'll Be Back Interpretations  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Old Sledgeaxe wrote:Whilst Gwar! is correct, he would not do this as even he is not that obsessed with winning, close to it but not THAT obsessed. He would rather play and say it doesn't count than us not included him. Yes, he is that immature.

Chuck Norris can kick through all 6 degrees of separation, hitting anyone, anywhere, in the face, at any time.
So just don't play with him. Once he has burned though everyone and has no opponents to play, he will either Learn or stop playing, win/win for you.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Exactly, either that or buy him a cheap army of a different flavor on ebay and tell him to learn it. Sounds like he'd be a good fit for Dark Eldar.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







BlueDagger wrote:Exactly, either that or buy him a cheap army of a different flavor on ebay and tell him to learn it. Sounds like he'd be a good fit for Dark Eldar.
Dark Eldar are win and Cake and eat MEQ like candy.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone






The CAKE is a LIE

Curse you GW! GO Learn ENGLISH. Calling it "permissive" is no excuse for Poorly written Logic. 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Warren, OH

I think it is pretty self evident. The Will be back rule on page 13 says.

At the start of every Necron turn, damaged necrons may self-repair. Roll a D6 for every Necron capable of self-repair, On a roll of 1-3, remove the model as normal. On a roll of a 4-6, the Necron is repaired and stands back up with 1 Wound remaining.

I think it is pretty self evident that he can't just have turns and turns of rerolling failed WBB roles, but it does say may make the roll, meaning he can choose not to make the roll until he has a monolith near enough for the reroll.

1850 Mech Eldar 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

There's always the old FAQ.....................

Q. If Necrons fail their WBB roll are they removed or do they remain there to try again next move?
A. When a Necron has either failed a WBB roll or is ineligible to take one at the start of the Necron turn it is deemed to be destroyed and is removed, unless you intend to use a Monolith portal to teleport the unit during the current move. If for some reason you change your mind about using the portal, they are removed immediately.

While it is from a previous version of the main rules, it is addressing the same question from this codex. And the codex hasn't changed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/13 20:26:54


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Warren, OH

While this may give insight. It may have been put in there for balance reasons for 3rd edition. Since it didn't make it into the 5th edition FAQ it would default back to RAW in the codex. I stand by the fact that it says that they may make a WBB roll which means that the player has a choice. Otherwise it would say you must make the roll.

The only way a necron unit would not be capable of self repair is if it suffered str>=toughx2 or cc that ignores armor saves. These models are removed immediately. Otherwise it is laid on its side and is damaged.

The only way those models are removed is when a failed WBB roll has been made.

And that can only be made by player choice and a unit of the same type is within 6", or player choice and 12" with tomb spyders and a unit of the same type is on the board.

1850 Mech Eldar 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Valdosta

I er.... hmmmmm

*reading codex*

Well I'll be damned. It DOES say MAY... Which.. I guess means you could just leave little metal treats on the board till you felt like taking the test.

However, eligibility for the use of the Res Orb is still limited to when the casualty occurred as per the FAQ-- meaning-- pick the guy to die and measure if he's within 6". If he is then whenever the hell you feel like standing up... he gets to. So long as he's within proper range to units type,etc...

see yeah.. because this is RAW this is going to cause problems. I can tell. It seems legal, but ...eh.. they'll probably FAQ it away eventually.

Likely, a week right before they release the new Necron Codex in 2025.

As for you guys talking about no WBB in cases of sweeping -- check this thread out and tell me afterward that Necrons STILL can't. Please, explain it ( AFTER you've read the thread).

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/252592.page#909936

Maybe you will actually, legitimately answer some of my points as opposed to printing the same lines out whilst frothing at the mouth.

Gwar: "Of course 99.999% of players don't even realise this, and even I am not THAT much of an ass to call on it (unless the guy was a total dick or a Scientologist, but that's just me)"

 
   
Made in us
Sickening Carrion




Wa. state

Except of course that Bruce Lee killed Chuck Norris in the only movie they were both in.
FAIL chuckie.

Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? 
   
Made in us
Sickening Carrion




Wa. state

Sorry , double tap...I must have been within 12"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/16 11:00:49


Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

sbeasley wrote:While this may give insight. It may have been put in there for balance reasons for 3rd edition. Since it didn't make it into the 5th edition FAQ it would default back to RAW in the codex. I stand by the fact that it says that they may make a WBB roll which means that the player has a choice. Otherwise it would say you must make the roll.

The rule doesn't say you may make the roll. It says that damaged models may self repair (as in they may be able to). It then says "Roll a D6 for every Necron capable of self-repair." not you may roll a D6 for every, etc.
So at the start of each necron turn you roll for every downed necron capable of self-repair.

The other issue of what happens to necrons incapable of self repair at the start of the turn has been debated back and forth across many forums. The FAQ quoted by don_mondo comes closest,
Q. If Necrons fail their WBB roll are they removed or do they remain there to try again next move?
A. When a Necron has either failed a WBB roll or is ineligible to take one at the start of the Necron turn it is deemed to be destroyed and is removed, unless you intend to use a Monolith portal to teleport the unit during the current move. If for some reason you change your mind about using the portal, they are removed immediately.

This has been generally accepted to clear up how the rule works, but as previously noted, wasn't included in the 5th edition FAQ for some reason.


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Valdosta

Yeah.. I just double-checked. You're completely right Time Wizard. While it says a 'may' for self repair , there is no choice at all on rolling for those who are 'capable' of it-- you have to.

oh well, that moment of 'brokenness' came and went

Gwar: "Of course 99.999% of players don't even realise this, and even I am not THAT much of an ass to call on it (unless the guy was a total dick or a Scientologist, but that's just me)"

 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Boston, Massachusetts

The 5th edition FAQ does say some things which were covered in previous FAQs have been omitted, and it would only cover changes that were different because of 5th edition.

This could mean to use previous FAQs to answer questions that were not answered again in the 5th edition FAQ. That's how I've been playing it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/17 03:34:22


 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Valdosta

BTW... I recant myself from my earlier position that Necrons can WBB from SA. my explanation is in the other thread also, but I can guess I can also post it here.

"okay guys I'm throwing the towel in on this one, but it's not because of your guys' arguments. To be frank, you got me on the right topic 'casualty v. destruction' but you could have been a little better with the yellow highlighter.... and of course none of you Ba$tards ever bothered to offer an explanation for what in tarnation WBB's 'or would otherwise be removed as a casualty' meant...I had to really think on it and look it up myself (took me a while to divine it)and I'll send you the bill for the medicine. It still has problems by the way, but we'll get to that...

Anyways...


This is what I have found in my 'meditation' on the Necron WBB rule and its relation to SA in the context of casualty v. destroyed...

The first thing is that I have come to except that there actually IS a difference between the two terms of Casualty and destroyed.

This is difficult to make out because they are two of the nebulous pseudo-rule terms within the BGB that are certainly in there, but not organized/Listed with a reference or absolute description in the back index. You have to find their mentions individually if you have anything referring to them.

For those who are interested, casualties are mentioned specifically in 3 separate situations ( though numerically they are in more than one section--there's some repetition).

They are mentioned as occurring as a result of wounding from shooting on p. 24, from an Instant death attack on 26, and wounding from an assault on p.39

Simply put, and though it galls me to admit so, because SA simply says remove the models and that they are destroyed, without mention of the word 'casualty' , WBB does nothing.

I say this because the rule-book specifically took pains to mention that lost models were 'casualties' in each of the other examples, yet did not in reference to SA

However... this still leaves us with answering just exactly what WBB does do.

As I said they don't mention rules for nothing....

'When reduced to 0 wounds...'

I have taken this to mean 2 instances for WBB. In the case of failing a dangerous terrain test with a model, losing the 1 wound, and then having the model dead, and also for instances of regular 'casualties' where a wound was not saved and resulted in model death.

Now.... is where things get WeIrD

"...or would otherwise be removed as a casualty"

Since we know regular (NPE: Non-Power-Equivalent) wounds would work under the 'reduced to 0 wounds' this must refer to something else.

We have that something else.... or at least we think we do.

The instant death as mentioned above is counted as a casualty and does not involve being reduced to 0 wounds. It's instant death.

Thus we have a plausible meaning for "or would otherwise be removed as a casualty"

...except for a teeny tiny problem. Like....
N-Codex p.13
"A Necron cannot self-repair if it was destroyed by a close combat weapon that allows no Armour save or any weapon whose Strength is twice the Toughness of the Necron concerned."


You know... the thing that causes ID in most cases...
*sigh* Real useful, thanks GW.


So, for the most part, there goes that. Instant death, the only seemingly legal use for the "Otherwise removed as a casualty' clause is almost entirely shut down.

Double strength causing ID is down and any power-class melee weapon that causes ID is down. Since nearly nearly all melee weapons which cause ID are also power weapons (Force Weapon, etc.) that also pretty much locks that down.

So all I can think up being left where WBB actually works for ID is a NPE melee weapon which causes ID and a special ranged-weapon which causes ID yet doesn't have double Strength to Toughness.

So in that regard... does anyone know of a single weapon which is not a power weapon yet can cause instant death? Likewise, does anyone know of a ranged-weapon which causes ID, but does not have the double Strength to Toughness over say... a T4 model?

...I can't think of any other possibilities for what the "ORAAC" clause could mean.


Oh well....another fine day for Necron."

Gwar: "Of course 99.999% of players don't even realise this, and even I am not THAT much of an ass to call on it (unless the guy was a total dick or a Scientologist, but that's just me)"

 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone






ah, there is ONE weapon that I know of that ID w/out Str

the Eldar Wraithcannon that are equipped on the WraithGuard


Automatically Appended Next Post:
also the Eldar D-Cannon


Automatically Appended Next Post:
despite them both being Ap2


Automatically Appended Next Post:
you're safe from those ;P

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/08/17 08:34:36


Curse you GW! GO Learn ENGLISH. Calling it "permissive" is no excuse for Poorly written Logic. 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Valdosta

For sure, it causes ID- not just removes them from the table?

Gwar: "Of course 99.999% of players don't even realise this, and even I am not THAT much of an ass to call on it (unless the guy was a total dick or a Scientologist, but that's just me)"

 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone






it says ID regardless of toughness

Curse you GW! GO Learn ENGLISH. Calling it "permissive" is no excuse for Poorly written Logic. 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Valdosta

very nice *Borat accent*

Gwar: "Of course 99.999% of players don't even realise this, and even I am not THAT much of an ass to call on it (unless the guy was a total dick or a Scientologist, but that's just me)"

 
   
Made in au
Yellin' Yoof






thanx everyone

you've been a real help, we played an apocalypse match and he tried his ploy, but since this apocalypse was a team match and so we just beat everyone else and won overall, i'm fighting him again today so hopefully i can convince him.

Cheers, Old Sledgeaxe

There is no life on Mars, this is because Chuck Norris has a beach house there.

Try Powerthirst, the energy drink for men.
If God gives you lemons, you get a new God!!
hopefully 1750 pts
1750 pts W/D/L 13/3/7
1750 pts W/D/L 11/2/2

"It's not stealing if you take it quick" and
"It's only illegal if you get caught"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: