Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/27 00:07:12
Subject: Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Very simple, you declare that "Unit XYZ is Inside transport ABC and will arrive via EFG" For example: "Unit "Tactical Squad 1" is Inside transport "Drop Pod 1" and will arrive via "Deep Strike"" "Unit "Scout Squad 1" is Inside transport "Land Speeder Storm 1" and will arrive via "Deep Strike"" "Unit "Veteran Squad 1" is Inside transport "Vendetta" and will arrive via "Outflank"" "Unit "Veteran Squad 2" is Inside transport "Valkyrie" and will arrive via "Deep Strike"" "Unit "Chaos Space Marines" is inside transport "Chaos Land Raider" and will arrive via "Reserves""
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/27 00:08:10
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/27 01:38:34
Subject: Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot
|
Gwar! wrote:will arrive via EFG
I'm on it!
|
Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/27 01:39:31
Subject: Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/27 02:27:59
Subject: Re:Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
|
So we 100% agree. Units can start their dedicated transports (page 67, “the only limitation of the dedicated transport is the when it is DEPLOYED it can ONLY carry the unit it was selected with) and units IN RESERVE can start in a non-dedicated transport (page 94 under preparing for reserves, 4th paragraph).
(This may cause an unforeseen issue as units can’t necessary start on the table in a non-dedicated transport. Let’s shelf that one…)
Now we come down to where we don’t 100% and hopefully we can both see were the rules leave a void.
"Unit "Tactical Squad 1" is Inside transport "Drop Pod 1" and will arrive via "Deep Strike""
This difference is important. Tact Squad 1 inside Drop Pod 1 does not arrive via deep strike, they arrive via “Drop Pod Assault”. Enter the special rule. Not only does this Rule dictate when the units held within arrive (half on, half off), but how -> Always “deep strike”. Because it’s always a dedicated transport, only Tact squad 1 can arrive in it -> also the transport restriction of the drop pod dictate they can’t remount. Being forced to deploy by deep stick forces the unit into reserve, but because the codex overrules the main rules, half of the units show up on turn one. So no, your example isn’t right – Tact squad 1 arrives in Drop Pod 1 via Drop Pod Assault. Unless there is an FAQ somewhere, this also allows Tact squad 1 to start on the board, un-mounted and let the Drop Pod 1 to arrive according to its special Rule -> Turn 1.
"Unit "Scout Squad 1" is Inside transport "Land Speeder Storm 1" and will arrive via "Deep Strike""
Scout Squad 1 does not have deep strike, so the UNITS can not arrive via deep strike. The UNITS both have scout so they are entitled to outflank. Alternatively, they could arrive as normal reserves.
"Unit "Veteran Squad 1" is Inside transport "Vendetta" and will arrive via "Outflank""
Unit V1 does not have ‘infiltrate’ or ‘scout’ rules, so UNITS can not arrive via outflank. Unit V1 can be held in reserve mounted in the Vendetta and arrive at normal reserves.
"Unit "Veteran Squad 2" is Inside transport "Valkyrie" and will arrive via "Deep Strike""
Unit V2 does not have deep strike, so the UNITS can not arrive via deep strike. . Unit V2 can be held in reserve mounted in the Valkyrie and arrive at normal reserves.
"Unit "Chaos Space Marines" is inside transport "Chaos Land Raider" and will arrive via "Reserves""
We agree. Units held in reserve can in mounted in a non-dedicated transport.
|
The handsome face of 2T1C |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/27 02:40:19
Subject: Re:Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Chubs wrote:"Unit "Tactical Squad 1" is Inside transport "Drop Pod 1" and will arrive via "Deep Strike"" This difference is important. Tact Squad 1 inside Drop Pod 1 does not arrive via deep strike, they arrive via “Drop Pod Assault”. Enter the special rule. Not only does this Rule dictate when the units held within arrive (half on, half off), but how -> Always “deep strike”. Because it’s always a dedicated transport, only Tact squad 1 can arrive in it -> also the transport restriction of the drop pod dictate they can’t remount. Being forced to deploy by deep stick forces the unit into reserve, but because the codex overrules the main rules, half of the units show up on turn one. So no, your example isn’t right – Tact squad 1 arrives in Drop Pod 1 via Drop Pod Assault. Unless there is an FAQ somewhere, this also allows Tact squad 1 to start on the board, un-mounted and let the Drop Pod 1 to arrive according to its special Rule -> Turn 1.
I am afraid you are wrong here. Drop Pod Assault does not give the Unit inside Deep Strike, nor does it give it any sort of "Permission" to do so. This is because it does not need any permission. Furthermore, being a Dedicated Transport has sweet FA to do with anything. The only difference between a Dedicated transport and a Non Dedicated Transport is that no unit other than the one it was bought for may start the game in it (reserve or otherwise). My example is right, the Drop Pod Arrives via Deep Strike, and the Tac Squad Count as Deep Striking, even though they do not have Deep Strike themselves. You have still yet to show any sort of rule that prevents them from going along with whatever the transport does.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/08/27 02:42:46
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/27 04:28:53
Subject: Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
|
Nor you that allows it.
You know, I get what you are saying about the deep striking units in transport. Really, I think I see what you are getting from the Deep striking Transport.
I still don't see how the scouting non-dedicated transport confers the scouting unto the unit in has inside. I mean, it calles out the dedicated transport in the USR.
|
The handsome face of 2T1C |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/27 04:59:20
Subject: Re:Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'm confused. Chubs, are you arguing that a land speeder storm cannot arrive via deep strike if it is carrying a unit of scouts as passengers?
A unit with Scout or Infiltrate confers an ability upon the dedicated transport for the simple reason that the dedicated transport would not be able to use the rule otherwise.
There are no rules which cause a deep striking transport to confer the ability to deep strike to a unit on board the transport.
The difference is that the transport, because it is the unit performing the action, is the unit which needs to have the ability. Whether or not the passengers have the rule is immaterial to the transports arrival, and really affects when the passengers are allowed to get out.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/27 12:59:53
Subject: Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
|
Thought about it for a while, I'm comming back at this from a different angle. One which my opponets have used on me in the past (mainly because my foundness of Land Raiders)
Gwar, it seems like the focus of your defense of this deployment are the "drop pod assualt" rules. But aren't those codex specific special rules? I mean, not all Land Raider... storm shields... were built the same. They are just codex specific. Give me an example using a non-coded specific rule - Something I can use to show my opponets when I triple demo charge his prize units x 9 units
When is comes down to it, I agree with everyone idea that the outflanking non-dedicated transport is doing the work. but the rules say the "UNITS". There are UNITS inside the Vedetta , yes -> because you have to declare where they are riding. But the UNITS don't have the special deployment rules.
|
The handsome face of 2T1C |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/27 13:03:21
Subject: Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Drop Pod Assault does NOT have anything to do with the units inside! All it does is modify how the Drop Pods themselves arrive from reserve.
If you disallow Vets in Valkyries, you must also disallow Drop pods.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/27 14:47:50
Subject: Re:Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Murfreesboro, TN
|
It is a valid tactic in the game but it is considered an illegal manuever in Tennessee. If you get caught they can fine you up to 3 jugs o' moonshine!
|
"I'm not much for prejudice, I prefer to judge people by whats inside, and how much fun it is to get to those insides." - Unknown Haemonculi |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/28 03:14:05
Subject: Re:Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
|
I may not agree in the sprit of the rules about this, but digging through the FAQ - came across this gem on drop pods for a precedent for drop pods. Check out the Dark Angle FAQ about assaulting out of a drop pod.
"A. No the embarked troop can't assault, as they have deployed by deep strike that turn and troops that deep strike can't assault" . It backs up the validity of Gwar (Never a doubt really, just need to find the info). Some one should really cast his boots in gold or something
I have what I need to show my opponents.
And the meta game shifts to Alpha Strike!
|
The handsome face of 2T1C |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/28 03:33:28
Subject: Re:Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Chubs wrote:I may not agree in the sprit of the rules about this, but digging through the FAQ - came across this gem on drop pods for a precedent for drop pods. Check out the Dark Angle FAQ about assaulting out of a drop pod.
The Dark Angles? Quick! Summon the Emperors Most Holy Protractor and Compass!
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/19 15:52:07
Subject: Is this legal or illegal?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Che-Vito wrote:Gwar! wrote:Only Dedicated Transports may Outflank if the Embarked unit has Scout or Infiltrate. A Stormlord is not a Dedicated Transport. Apologies for omitting "Dedicated" in the previous post, I suppose it was kind of important. It is also in the rulebook however.... Fair enough, sadly, I resort to this forum, and occasionally a glance at a friend's BGB to learn the rules. After a couple of years of this, I have a decent enough handle on them...but always still a learning process. Thanks. (was really hoping I could outflank that Stormlord...bummer.) just to let you know you can outflank with a Stormlord in Appoc if you take the Outflank stratigem. have done this several times and it is fun as far as Infiltrate entry goes i quote "If a unit with this ability is deployed inside a transport vehicle, it cannot infiltrate. infiltrate also confers a special outflank move to units of infiltrators kept in reserve." while the Scouts entry says this "if a unit with this ability is deployed inside a transport vehicle, it confers the scout ability onto the transport too." only diffrence is scouts can make a scout move while infiltrators cannot and scouts make transports scouts while infiltrators do not. naturally Codex entrys take precidence. as far as transports go the rules say this "the only limitation of a dedicated transport is that when it is deployed it can only carry the unit it was selected with(plus any independent characters). after the game begins, it can then transport any friendly infantry unit subject to transport capacity and other exclusions, as explained in the vehicles entry." by reading this one can conclude that units do not have to start the game inside their dedicated transport, and it implies that transport vehicles that are purchased seperatly on the chart (landraiders, Falcons ect) can have troops deployed inside them during deployment.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/19 16:10:27
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
|