Switch Theme:

Space Hulk Ambiguous Rules?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Soul Token





My comment is...

Can the space marines evar win?

Played like 10 games with friends.. switching sides.. trhe first mission really is a suicide mission lmfao.

Haven't had a win yet... haha


The fastest, safest, and largest trade market on the net.
 
   
Made in ca
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine




Toronto

Yes you can win.... it just takes a little practice. Just go in with a plan, and then stick to it, regardless of what happens.

My question involves missions where it says "the generstealer starts with two blips, and two reinforcement blips per turn." Does this means that the genestealer player can put two blips anywhere on the board not in LoS, and then gets two more that can enter on the start of his Turn 1? So they really have 4 in action on Turn 1?

Nothing worth winning ever came easy.

DA:80+S+G+M+B--I+Pw40k02#-D++A+++/areWD266R++T(R)DM+
 
   
Made in au
Nimble Ellyrian Reaver






Australia, mate

SargesSquad wrote:Yes you can win.... it just takes a little practice. Just go in with a plan, and then stick to it, regardless of what happens.

My question involves missions where it says "the generstealer starts with two blips, and two reinforcement blips per turn." Does this means that the genestealer player can put two blips anywhere on the board not in LoS, and then gets two more that can enter on the start of his Turn 1? So they really have 4 in action on Turn 1?


Page 9 of the Mission Book: "No genestealers are deployed at the start of a mission, but the genestealer player may be allowed to set up one or more blips as his starting forces. These blips are set up in the same manner as reinforcement blips, after the Space Marines have been deployed."

So the genestealer player can use two blips after the Termies deploy but before the first turn.
   
Made in us
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine





Centerville MA

A couple of Ap questions, can a space marine not on over watch use his command point in the GS phase to shoot at bugs he can see?, also must you use the Command points at the same time you use the Ap for a terminator, or can these be used after everyone has moved as a kind of clean up points(overwatch, turning ect.)?

   
Made in au
Ferocious Blood Claw





In reference to questions about blips and genestealer AP, the term used to clarify this in the rulebook is "activating". If a blip has been activated, any revealed genestealers that turn do not get AP. Note that voluntarily revealing a blip does not constitute as activating. This term is also used for the marine player, once a termie has been activated, you must use all of his AP.


fire4effekt wrote:A couple of Ap questions, can a space marine not on over watch use his command point in the GS phase to shoot at bugs he can see?, also must you use the Command points at the same time you use the Ap for a terminator, or can these be used after everyone has moved as a kind of clean up points(overwatch, turning ect.)?


If a stealer performs an action within 12 squares of his LOS then a termie may perform an action with any CP remaining. I also assume this means that the flamer marine may flame a section - can anyone clarify this?

The CP and AP thing is a bit confusing, but I have interpreted it as that you can come back to use CP, as this is not re-activating a marine to use his AP.
   
Made in ca
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine




Toronto



fire4effekt wrote:A couple of Ap questions, can a space marine not on over watch use his command point in the GS phase to shoot at bugs he can see?, also must you use the Command points at the same time you use the Ap for a terminator, or can these be used after everyone has moved as a kind of clean up points(overwatch, turning ect.)?


I'm not so sure about this one. I think sure the only time you can shoot during the Stealer turn is if the Terminator is on overwatch...

Iron Priest wrote:In reference to questions about blips and genestealer AP, the term used to clarify this in the rulebook is "activating". If a blip has been activated, any revealed genestealers that turn do not get AP. Note that voluntarily revealing a blip does not constitute as activating. This term is also used for the marine player, once a termie has been activated, you must use all of his AP.

The CP and AP thing is a bit confusing, but I have interpreted it as that you can come back to use CP, as this is not re-activating a marine to use his AP.


I don't think you have to use all of his AP.... I think the point is more that if you leave a Terminator with some AP left, and start moving another one, you can't go back and do more actions with the one you just left, unless they got put on overwatch and are going to use their remining AP's/CP's in the Stealer turn.

Nothing worth winning ever came easy.

DA:80+S+G+M+B--I+Pw40k02#-D++A+++/areWD266R++T(R)DM+
 
   
Made in au
Nimble Ellyrian Reaver






Australia, mate

fire4effekt wrote:A couple of Ap questions, can a space marine not on over watch use his command point in the GS phase to shoot at bugs he can see?, also must you use the Command points at the same time you use the Ap for a terminator, or can these be used after everyone has moved as a kind of clean up points(overwatch, turning ect.)?


Page 11 of the Space Hulk rule book tells you what you need to know. Basically if a genesteaker completes an action in the LOS of a marine then that marine can perform one action, whether walking, turning, shooting or firing a heavy flamer.

In the SM turn command points can be used whenever you like.Eg. Move Flamer 4ap forward, move Sergeant 4ap forward, then move flamer one 1cp forward.


Iron Priest wrote:In reference to questions about blips and genestealer AP, the term used to clarify this in the rulebook is "activating". If a blip has been activated, any revealed genestealers that turn do not get AP. Note that voluntarily revealing a blip does not constitute as activating. This term is also used for the marine player, once a termie has been activated, you must use all of his AP.


If a stealer performs an action within 12 squares of his LOS then a termie may perform an action with any CP remaining. I also assume this means that the flamer marine may flame a section - can anyone clarify this?

The CP and AP thing is a bit confusing, but I have interpreted it as that you can come back to use CP, as this is not re-activating a marine to use his AP.


Yes you can use CP to fire a flamer in the genestealer turn. You can activate a terminator once per turn (barring CP) and you may use as many of his 4 AP as you wish.
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




London

I would go with that - CP's may be used to perform actions in the GS turn (if you still have some left of course!) This includes being able to take a shot. The difference between this and overwatch is of course that in overwatch you have as many shots as you have stealers moving without any point expenditure whereas using a CP is doing soemthing once 'at cost' if you will (hopefully thats fairly clear - I know what I meant anyways )

CP's are also quite clearly stated in the rulebook as being totally separate from AP's and can be used at ANY Time, so you can move a guy, move another guy then use a CP to move the first guy again.
   
Made in us
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine





Centerville MA

Thank you guys for clearing this up

   
Made in us
Tinkering Tech-Priest







My Question is about the timing of Unjamming. You have a genestealer 3 squares away when the stormbolter Marine on overwatch jams, you want to clear the jam and have the command points, do you have to see a genestealer take an action to unjam your Stormbolter? Would the stealer get a move action while the marine unjams?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/14 08:14:06


Check out my painting and Modeling Blog
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/228997.page

 
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




London

NinjaRay wrote:My Question is about the timing of Unjamming. You have a genestealer 3 squares away when the stormbolter Marine on overwatch jams, you want to clear the jam and have the command points, do you have to see a genestealer take an action to unjam your Stormbolter? Would the stealer get a move action while the marine unjams?


You only have to see a genestealer move to fire at them on overwatch. Other than this you can use CP's at any point during the stealer turn. Therefore it is perfectly feasible to spend a CP unjamming your storm bolter in the stealer turn. The rules also clearly state that if you unjam the storm bolter straightaway (which could only logically be done by use of command points) then you flip the counter back over to overwatch, so clearing the jam would appear not to affect O/W either. This being said, I would assume that clearing the jam would count as an action so you would have to let the stealer advance one space closer to you 'for free' before you could recommence firing at them each time they moved.
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka







So, I was at my club last night, being completely new to Space Hulk and I (quite successfully I might add) managed to confuse the living heck out of the veteran space hulk players by asking about how the whole Lurking thing worked.

I'll caveat this by saying, I haven't played the game yet, but;

The rules say something like, "If a marine is within 6 squares of an entry point, any blips behind the entry point must lurk for a turn."

My question is this, what happens after the turn and the marine is still there?
   
Made in us
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine





Centerville MA

That is the question that just came up here, i answered i don't know, and stayed from that end of the hall

   
Made in ca
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine




Toronto

Compel wrote:So, I was at my club last night, being completely new to Space Hulk and I (quite successfully I might add) managed to confuse the living heck out of the veteran space hulk players by asking about how the whole Lurking thing worked.

I'll caveat this by saying, I haven't played the game yet, but;

The rules say something like, "If a marine is within 6 squares of an entry point, any blips behind the entry point must lurk for a turn."

My question is this, what happens after the turn and the marine is still there?


Then the blips still have to lurk. The victory condition for one of the missions is that the Marine player has to make all of the access point unavailable to the Stealer player (ie have a marine within 6 squares), so if the Marine sticks around, the Stealer player can't go in from that entry point, and have to lurk.

Nothing worth winning ever came easy.

DA:80+S+G+M+B--I+Pw40k02#-D++A+++/areWD266R++T(R)DM+
 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

SargesSquad wrote:
Compel wrote:So, I was at my club last night, being completely new to Space Hulk and I (quite successfully I might add) managed to confuse the living heck out of the veteran space hulk players by asking about how the whole Lurking thing worked.

I'll caveat this by saying, I haven't played the game yet, but;

The rules say something like, "If a marine is within 6 squares of an entry point, any blips behind the entry point must lurk for a turn."

My question is this, what happens after the turn and the marine is still there?


Then the blips still have to lurk. The victory condition for one of the missions is that the Marine player has to make all of the access point unavailable to the Stealer player (ie have a marine within 6 squares), so if the Marine sticks around, the Stealer player can't go in from that entry point, and have to lurk.


That's only in missions with the 'Area Secure!' special rule. Normally, a blip/genestealer only has to lurk the turn it comes into play from reinforcements, if there's a marine within 6 squares. It may move onto the board the next turn, even if the marine is still there.

   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Agree with Redemption.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
 
Forum Index » Board Games, Roleplaying Games & Card Games
Go to: