Switch Theme:

The Unofficial Codex: Tyranids FAQ v0.5 by Gwar!: Feedback Thread  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Aaaaaaand v0.3 is up

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Can you elaborate your ruling in TYR.51.01? I've been asked this question and came to the same conclusion, but wasn't able to so definitely claim RAW status.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/13 02:14:21


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







MasterSlowPoke wrote:Can you elaborate your ruling in TYR.51.01? I've been asked this question and came to the same conclusion, but wasn't able to so definitely claim RAW status.
Nowhere does it state that you cannot deliberately cause a mishap. In fact, it outright implies it by prohibiting it only in the "Misplaced" result of the mishap table (to prevent an opponent forcing multiple mishaps).

Furthermore, models are only prohibited from moving within 1" of an enemy model. Placing the Initial model is not moving (nor is Deep Striking in fact, the models only "count as" moving). If someone cries foul over "not being able to balance it", that is what Wobbly Model syndrome is for.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/13 02:17:18


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




I do have a request if it's not a big deal. Each time you make a new version, can you maybe at the top or bottom just say what rule you changed. This way I know what has been corrected, since looking through v.1-v.3 I can't tell what has changed.

If it's too much work, I understand since you are doing such an awsome job. Great work, and thank you for doing it.

Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.

Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?

Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong".  
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Gwar! wrote:
MasterSlowPoke wrote:Can you elaborate your ruling in TYR.51.01? I've been asked this question and came to the same conclusion, but wasn't able to so definitely claim RAW status.
Nowhere does it state that you cannot deliberately cause a mishap. In fact, it outright implies it by prohibiting it only in the "Misplaced" result of the mishap table (to prevent an opponent forcing multiple mishaps).

Furthermore, models are only prohibited from moving within 1" of an enemy model. Placing the Initial model is not moving (nor is Deep Striking in fact, the models only "count as" moving). If someone cries foul over "not being able to balance it", that is what Wobbly Model syndrome is for.


That was basically my argument. They then argued that that would let Marbo, who is placed by nearly exactly the same rules, come onto the field inside Impassible Terrain, which seems correct by RAW but against the "spirit" of the game. I was hoping there was a way both wouldn't be true.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







MasterSlowPoke wrote:That was basically my argument. They then argued that that would let Marbo, who is placed by nearly exactly the same rules, come onto the field inside Impassible Terrain, which seems correct by RAW but against the "spirit" of the game. I was hoping there was a way both wouldn't be true.
Correct. Marbo can arrive inside Impassible terrain. He just cannot then move. The same way you can deploy Artillery on top of Ruins or on Impassible terrain but they cannot move. If they don't feel it is in the "Spirit" of the game, then they don't have to use it, but tell them to GTFO if they try and stop you playing by the rules.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Davor wrote:I do have a request if it's not a big deal. Each time you make a new version, can you maybe at the top or bottom just say what rule you changed. This way I know what has been corrected, since looking through v.1-v.3 I can't tell what has changed.

If it's too much work, I understand since you are doing such an awsome job. Great work, and thank you for doing it.
I plan on doing this from v1 onwards, same as I did on my SW FAQ (which went through a similar v0.x phase, just not public because no-one liked me back then likes me but I don't care anymore

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/13 02:40:04


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

What what what.. Space wolf FAQ.. LOVE IT. Everything answered to a degree my friends will accept!

Ahem, hope the Tyranid codex is a little more.. concise?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/13 02:47:29


 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Razerous wrote:What what what.. Space wolf FAQ.. LOVE IT. Everything answered to a degree my friends will accept!

Ahem, hope the Tyranid codex is a little more.. concise?
It will be, for the simple reason that Cruddace actually knows how to fething write, unlike Kelly.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

Triple special CCW "behind enemy lines" Wolf Scouts led by a WGPL. Awesome. Kinda wanna modify Loganwing now..

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in us
Ambitious Acothyst With Agonizer





Murfreesboro, TN

I think you're doing a great job with this FAQ Gwar. although i do have to ask: were people actually trying to say that if you roll a triple for the Tervigon, that you could still make gants after that, because it's not a double?? And kinda in the same vein, are you going to add anything about the Nid CCW either being/not being special CCW's (causing you to have to choose which one to "use")?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/13 04:08:57


I'm currently taking commissions.
Phil's Minis.
Contact me at my site.
Phil's Minis
Use coupon code NWSTRT5 for 5% off EVERYTHING! 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







airmang wrote:I think you're doing a great job with this FAQ Gwar. although i do have to ask: were people actually trying to say that if you roll a triple for the Tervigon, that you could still make gants after that, because it's not a double??
Yes.

And kinda in the same vein, are you going to add anything about the Nid CCW either being/not being special CCW's (causing you to have to choose which one to "use")?
Eventually. The Gwarnalasis machine only has a limited amount of pterasquirrels per nanotube, and a problem of that magnitude gums up the works no end

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





Reedsburg, WI

Drunkspleen wrote:But Monstrous Creatures are never obscured, you can't actually superimpose the vehicle cover RAW onto MCs without it being totally useless due to references to such things as "facing of the vehicle", and "glancing or penetrating hit"


No but GW sure can :
Pg 51 "Cover for them works exactly as for vehicles (see page 62).


I guess just call it a "clarification" for people like me who GW poor technical writing can easily confuse !


Wyomingfox's Space Wolves Paint Blog A journey across decades.
Splinter Fleet Stygian Paint Blogg Home of the Albino Bugs.
Miniatures for Dungeons and Dragons Painting made fun, fast and easy. 
   
Made in us
Boosting Ultramarine Biker





Denton, TX

Here's something for you to add Gwar

Deathleaper has the Pheremone Trail special rule. Now when you go to read the special rules for pheremone trail they state that you only get +1 to reserves if a lictor is in play. In addition units do not deviate if deepstriking within 6 inches of a lictor. Strictly speaking...pheremone trail has no effect if you only take the death leaper as it is not a lictor although I'm sure it's safe to say that that was not the intent of the writer. Pheremone trail should read ...'a lictor or deathleaper...'

5500
3500
2000  
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General






A garden grove on Citadel Station

Why oh why would you compress a 118kb pdf into a 114kb rar?

ph34r's Forgeworld Phobos blog, current WIP: Iron Warriors and Skaven Tau
+From Iron Cometh Strength+ +From Strength Cometh Will+ +From Will Cometh Faith+ +From Faith Cometh Honor+ +From Honor Cometh Iron+
The Polito form is dead, insect. Are you afraid? What is it you fear? The end of your trivial existence?
When the history of my glory is written, your species shall only be a footnote to my magnificence.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Axyl wrote:Here's something for you to add Gwar

Deathleaper has the Pheremone Trail special rule. Now when you go to read the special rules for pheremone trail they state that you only get +1 to reserves if a lictor is in play. In addition units do not deviate if deepstriking within 6 inches of a lictor. Strictly speaking...pheremone trail has no effect if you only take the death leaper as it is not a lictor although I'm sure it's safe to say that that was not the intent of the writer. Pheremone trail should read ...'a lictor or deathleaper...'
Great find! I guess it is the same issue as the Swarmlord being killed with Tyrant Guard eh? Will add that to the local copy now.

ph34r wrote:Why oh why would you compress a 118kb pdf into a 114kb rar?

Several reasons.
1) To save bandwidth (Duh!)
2) Just because.
3) I feel the humble zip file is becoming neglected nowadays, abandoned in favour of it's sexier sister the Rar and it's burly brother 7zip. As such, I wish to show my love for this classic format.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/13 07:19:22


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General






A garden grove on Citadel Station

I'd think that the 3% reduction in file size would not be worth the hassle of decompressing (not that it is much, but it is more actions required to access the pdf), unless you are expecting hundreds of downloads per day. Zip is nice and all, but there's a reason that people use rar, namely that it's better

ph34r's Forgeworld Phobos blog, current WIP: Iron Warriors and Skaven Tau
+From Iron Cometh Strength+ +From Strength Cometh Will+ +From Will Cometh Faith+ +From Faith Cometh Honor+ +From Honor Cometh Iron+
The Polito form is dead, insect. Are you afraid? What is it you fear? The end of your trivial existence?
When the history of my glory is written, your species shall only be a footnote to my magnificence.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




TYR.34.02 – Q: Is the bonus to reserves granted by “Hive Commander” cumulative if you have more than one Hive Tyrant?
A: No. [Clarification]
• This is going to be a bone of contention, no doubt about it. However, due to its wording being essentially identical to the
Imperial Guard wording, which does not stack, neither should the Hive Tyrants. It seems Autarchs really are that special!


GWAR!, I don't understand your argument here. Isn't it your own argument that rules from another codex / FAQ have NO bearing on the rules in another book? I've seen you argue that point like a thousand times. Why the change in thinking?

Gwar: I'm going to quit while I can.

Meh, close enough  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







apwill4765 wrote:
TYR.34.02 – Q: Is the bonus to reserves granted by “Hive Commander” cumulative if you have more than one Hive Tyrant?
A: No. [Clarification]
• This is going to be a bone of contention, no doubt about it. However, due to its wording being essentially identical to the
Imperial Guard wording, which does not stack, neither should the Hive Tyrants. It seems Autarchs really are that special!


GWAR!, I don't understand your argument here. Isn't it your own argument that rules from another codex / FAQ have NO bearing on the rules in another book? I've seen you argue that point like a thousand times. Why the change in thinking?
No change in thinking. I am just explaining it for the masses who do not share my exact line of thought. It's much easier to write "Just do it this way because it works this way elsewhere" rather than go into a 7 page treatise about why they don't stack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/13 11:59:50


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Orlando, FL, USA

A couple points of contention on other forums, with suggested answers:


Q. Do Tyranids have to choose which special close combat weapons to use, as only a single one may be allowed at a time?
A. No. Page 33 of the Tyranids codex states that they carry NO close combat weapons and simply fight with their claws and talons. Tyranid weapon biomorphs are simply wargear which change the fundamental nature of their CC attacks. (RAW)

Q. Can a Tyranid model opt to not use a biomorph at a given point in time?
A. No. Most biomorphs describe their effect as affecting all of a Tyranid's attacks or otherwise. If you don't want to use it, don't take it. (RAW)

Q. Does the Doom of Malan'tai's Spirit Leech ability work on units embarked in vehicles?
A. Yes. Spirit Leech is a special rule that affects ALL units within 6". It is not a psychic power, it does not target units or models, and it does not require line of sight. You should probably back away while you have the chance. (RAW)

Q. Does the Doom of Malan'tai gain the 3+ invulnerable save from Warp Field despite not being a Zoanthrope (as the description of Warp Field denotes)?
A. Yes. (RAI)

Q. Does Deathleaper have to deploy via Chameleonic Skin despite not being a Lictor (as the description of Chameleonic Skin denotes)?
A. Yes. (RAI)



Maybe something about Old One Eye and Living Battering Ram, too. (Answer: O1E has Initiative 3 on rounds he charges but strikes at Initiative 1, like a powerfist. This is important for things like Acid Blood.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/13 13:52:07


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Heh, I had pretty much all of them in my local copy already, except the first (the Gwarlinister is still computing and the pterrasquirrels are acting up again). Thanks for the feedback in any case

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Orlando, FL, USA

Gwar! wrote:Heh, I had pretty much all of them in my local copy already, except the first (the Gwarlinister is still computing and the pterrasquirrels are acting up again). Thanks for the feedback in any case


Not a problem. Everything else looks good. Oh! Don't forget to mention that Mycetic Spores taken by Troops count as scoring!
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Broken Loose wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Heh, I had pretty much all of them in my local copy already, except the first (the Gwarlinister is still computing and the pterrasquirrels are acting up again). Thanks for the feedback in any case


Not a problem. Everything else looks good. Oh! Don't forget to mention that Mycetic Spores taken by Troops count as scoring!
That one I DIDN'T have

I've also added a clarification (actually, it's RaW, but you know what I mean) about how the Spores interact with Subterranean Assault. Models that opt to arrive via Deep Strike can instead use the Subterrainian Assault rule instead of Deep Striking, but the Spores must ALWAYS deploy via Deep Strike, thus preventing them using the Subterranean Assault rule.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Gwar! wrote:
Razerous wrote:What what what.. Space wolf FAQ.. LOVE IT. Everything answered to a degree my friends will accept!

Ahem, hope the Tyranid codex is a little more.. concise?
It will be, for the simple reason that Cruddace actually knows how to fething write, unlike Kelly.
Too bad he can't handle making reasonable points costs for units, 90 points for the Doom of Malan'tai, yeah right...

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Ambitious Acothyst With Agonizer





Murfreesboro, TN

Gwar! wrote:
I've also added a clarification (actually, it's RaW, but you know what I mean) about how the Spores interact with Subterranean Assault. Models that opt to arrive via Deep Strike can instead use the Subterrainian Assault rule instead of Deep Striking, but the Spores must ALWAYS deploy via Deep Strike, thus preventing them using the Subterranean Assault rule.


Oh! didn't even think about that one. That would be funny. It would be as if the Trygon laid a giant egg, containing a Carnifex!!!

I'm currently taking commissions.
Phil's Minis.
Contact me at my site.
Phil's Minis
Use coupon code NWSTRT5 for 5% off EVERYTHING! 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





Reedsburg, WI

Broken Loose wrote:
Q. Does the Doom of Malan'tai's Spirit Leech ability work on units embarked in vehicles?
A. Yes. Spirit Leech is a special rule that affects ALL units within 6". It is not a psychic power, it does not target units or models, and it does not require line of sight. You should probably back away while you have the chance. (RAW)


I thought that per the BRB, models being transported aren't on the table and therefore are not able to be affected by such situations regardless if power is indescriminate or not.

Wyomingfox's Space Wolves Paint Blog A journey across decades.
Splinter Fleet Stygian Paint Blogg Home of the Albino Bugs.
Miniatures for Dungeons and Dragons Painting made fun, fast and easy. 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Orlando, FL, USA

wyomingfox wrote:
Broken Loose wrote:
Q. Does the Doom of Malan'tai's Spirit Leech ability work on units embarked in vehicles?
A. Yes. Spirit Leech is a special rule that affects ALL units within 6". It is not a psychic power, it does not target units or models, and it does not require line of sight. You should probably back away while you have the chance. (RAW)


I thought that per the BRB, models being transported aren't on the table and therefore are not able to be affected by such situations regardless if power is indescriminate or not.


The models themselves are physically removed from the table, but can still be affected by events on the table, using the vehicle's hull for measurement. If this weren't true you wouldn't be able to fire out of the top of a Chimera.
   
Made in us
Ambitious Acothyst With Agonizer





Murfreesboro, TN

What about old one eye and battering ram? Since he comes with Crushing Claws and the Living Battering Ram rule, is the Batteriong Ram rule just a mistake, as the Crushing Claws rules seem to override it?

I'm currently taking commissions.
Phil's Minis.
Contact me at my site.
Phil's Minis
Use coupon code NWSTRT5 for 5% off EVERYTHING! 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Frier of Mount Doom

Broken Loose wrote:
wyomingfox wrote:
Broken Loose wrote:
Q. Does the Doom of Malan'tai's Spirit Leech ability work on units embarked in vehicles?
A. Yes. Spirit Leech is a special rule that affects ALL units within 6". It is not a psychic power, it does not target units or models, and it does not require line of sight. You should probably back away while you have the chance. (RAW)


I thought that per the BRB, models being transported aren't on the table and therefore are not able to be affected by such situations regardless if power is indescriminate or not.


The models themselves are physically removed from the table, but can still be affected by events on the table, using the vehicle's hull for measurement. If this weren't true you wouldn't be able to fire out of the top of a Chimera.


i'm going to have to disagree with that also. since you're calling it RAW, can you give show in the rules where it says you can affect them or simply give another example of anything in all of 40k that can affect an enemy unit while IN a transport? you're saying that it affects all units within 6" but that is no different than shooting; a large blast exploding on the transport affects all units within 2.5" but doesn't catch them either.


@gwar: did you have the creative commons disclaimers about not copying up with the SW faq originally?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/13 15:56:49


 
   
Made in us
Ambitious Acothyst With Agonizer





Murfreesboro, TN

Got another question. Ymgarl Genestealers: Their dormant rule says that models that can not be placed in the terrain because of Impassable, or 1" from enemy models, they are destroyed. Does the "They" in this rule mean just the models that can't be placed, or the whole unit?

I'm currently taking commissions.
Phil's Minis.
Contact me at my site.
Phil's Minis
Use coupon code NWSTRT5 for 5% off EVERYTHING! 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Orlando, FL, USA

airmang wrote:What about old one eye and battering ram? Since he comes with Crushing Claws and the Living Battering Ram rule, is the Batteriong Ram rule just a mistake, as the Crushing Claws rules seem to override it?

Crushing Claws are basically powerfists for the purposes of Old One Eye's initiative, but unoptional. His Initiative is ACTUALLY 3, but he strikes at 1. When you piece apart a hive tyrant and take 4 Acid Blood checks, you'll thank me for pointing this out.

warboss wrote:i'm going to have to disagree with that also. since you're calling it RAW, can you give show in the rules where it says you can affect them or simply give another example of anything in all of 40k that can affect an enemy unit while IN a transport? you're saying that it affects all units within 6" but that is no different than shooting; a large blast exploding on the transport affects all units within 2.5" but doesn't catch them either.

There isn't any rule like it in existence. Half of this is a judgment call. Keep in mind that it's NOT a psychic power, it's a special rule that affects ALL enemy units (that have a Ld value) within 6" regardless of cover or location. RAI states that you can fire out of the transport, so what's preventing your soul from getting sucked out through that window (while a guy huddling in a nearby building with no windows suffers the same fate)? On the contrary, find me a rule that states your unit is completely immune to any effects while embarked on a vehicle.

For the record, you still have to take Wraithsight checks while embarked on a vehicle (using the vehicle's hull to measure psyker/Spiritseer range). If you fail the check, the entire Wraithguard unit is destroyed in the case of a crash. That's the closest analogue we have so far.
airmang wrote:Got another question. Ymgarl Genestealers: Their dormant rule says that models that can not be placed in the terrain because of Impassable, or 1" from enemy models, they are destroyed. Does the "They" in this rule mean just the models that can't be placed, or the whole unit?

"They" in this sentence refers to the subject of the sentence. "If any models cannot be placed, ... they are destroyed."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/13 16:11:38


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: