Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 23:39:40
Subject: Re:Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
The rule on page 49 actually says the IC may not be picked out as a target.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 23:55:25
Subject: Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
..unless the IC is a monstreous creature.
However given as the HT is NOT an IC (he only joins as one, he is NOT one) then that rule from page 49 is not in effect. As a normal member of the unit he cannot be picked out.
To determine if a unit is in cover, yuo determine if half the models are in cover. This means that 1 guard being in cover WILL give the HT a cover save.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/19 00:00:44
Subject: Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
The Hive Tyrant does not count as an IC, he just uses the IC rule to join the unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/19 00:02:49
Subject: Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Page 49 dosn't matter. The Hive Tyrant is not an IC. The only thing that an IC applies to the HT is that he can join the brood of TG. It dosn't give the HT IC status at all. So since he is in a brood with different war gear and stats the wounds can be spread out in shooting and CC.
One thing to consider also, since the HT is not an IC it can't leave the TG, so once it's joined, he is stuck with them as a brood.
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/19 00:06:31
Subject: Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
It's not that MCs have to be 50% obscured to get a cover save.
They must be 50% obscured to count as in cover. Difference? Here:
A tyrant guard and hive tyrant are joined together as a unit. A low 1" wall is present on the board. The hive tyrant gets behind it, but the tyrant guard is in the open.
The hive tyrant is not 50% covered by the wall, which he must be in order to count as in cover. Thus, he is not in cover, and the guard is not in cover, more than 50% of the models in the unit are NOT in cover, and nobody gets a save.
Reverse:
The tyrant guard is behind the 1" wall, and the hive tyrant is in the open. The hive tyrant is of course not obscured. The tyrant guard, though, being not a monstrous creature, is. Now, 50% of the unit is obscured, and the ENTIRE unit gets a cover save.
The monstrous creature rule decides what does and does not count a monstrous creature as obscured. If he's part of a unit, though, and the majority of the models in that unit are getting cover, then they benefit.
As another situation that cannot happen, imagine 9 CSM with a greater daemon attached [I know it can't] where 5 of the CSM are behind a wall, and the GD and 4 CSM are in the open. The GD would get a cover save, because 1/2 of the unit is concealed, even though it itself isn't counting towards which models are concealed.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/19 00:25:57
Subject: Re:Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As far as I can tell, Redbeard is conflating the rules for 'being in cover' and for 'cover saves'. A monstrous creature must be 50%+ in cover to be in cover. In addition, the rules state that the 50% rule takes precedence over over standing in area terrain (page 51). All of this combines to make it unusually difficult for an MC to be in cover.
What it doesn't change is how the rules for 'Units partially in cover' on page 22 are applied because they are not addressed. The rules on page 22 say that if half or more of the models in the unit are in cover, then everybody gets cover saves. The bizarre reference in the MC rules to having cover saves work the same as for vehicles doesn't change this because the rules for units of vehicles refers back to page 22 for how to work out cover saves for units of vehicles, and as a result units containing MC's work as normal:
If there's a unit with one hive tyrant and one hive guard, and the hive guard is in area terrain or otherwise in cover, that means that the hive tyrant gets a cover save where ever it is, because the hive guard is half or more of the unit and the hive guard is in cover.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/19 03:02:02
Subject: Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Assuming you play that the Hive Tyrant can be picked out for shooting, then this clearly isn't an issue, he can't get a cover save from someone else when being targeted alone.
If you don't play that way, then as long as 50% or more of the unit is considered "In Cover" the whole unit gets a cover save, so yes, he can then get a save from his Tyrant Guards.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/19 03:49:28
Subject: Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
So i think i understand where we are but not positive: 1) HT is behind cover, 51% obscured, while a TG is in the open: 50%+ of MC is in cover as well as 50% of unit = unit granted benefit of cover save 2) HT is behind cover but only 10% is obscured while a TG is in the open: less than 50% of unit is in cover= no cover save for unit. 3) HT is in the open while TG is in cover: Either a) 50% of unit is in cover= entire unit granted cover save OR b) 50% of unit is in cover but less than 50% of MC is obscured= unit granted cover to non-MCs only *** I don't know the right answer to this but its a good thread!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/19 03:51:18
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/19 03:55:57
Subject: Re:Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Angered Reaver Arena Champion
|
solkan wrote:As far as I can tell, Redbeard is conflating the rules for 'being in cover' and for 'cover saves'. A monstrous creature must be 50%+ in cover to be in cover. In addition, the rules state that the 50% rule takes precedence over over standing in area terrain (page 51). All of this combines to make it unusually difficult for an MC to be in cover.
What it doesn't change is how the rules for 'Units partially in cover' on page 22 are applied because they are not addressed. The rules on page 22 say that if half or more of the models in the unit are in cover, then everybody gets cover saves. The bizarre reference in the MC rules to having cover saves work the same as for vehicles doesn't change this because the rules for units of vehicles refers back to page 22 for how to work out cover saves for units of vehicles, and as a result units containing MC's work as normal:
If there's a unit with one hive tyrant and one hive guard, and the hive guard is in area terrain or otherwise in cover, that means that the hive tyrant gets a cover save where ever it is, because the hive guard is half or more of the unit and the hive guard is in cover.
Well put solkan.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/20 15:40:39
Subject: Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Very well put Solkan, and after reading that I do agree with you and redbeard.
Drunkspleen wrote:Assuming you play that the Hive Tyrant can be picked out for shooting, then this clearly isn't an issue, he can't get a cover save from someone else when being targeted alone.
If you don't play that way, then as long as 50% or more of the unit is considered "In Cover" the whole unit gets a cover save, so yes, he can then get a save from his Tyrant Guards.
But this is also a crux of the issue. I haven't read the codex yet or played it yet. Do the tyrant guard somehow keep the Tyrant from being picked out as he is a MC, and MC in a unit of non- MCs can be still picked out (I think this is an issue with scarabs for the necrons)? As I see it, the tyrant is on his own if he can be singled out and would not benefit from the unit's cover.
|
DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/20 18:09:33
Subject: Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Padixon - no, that is not correct
MC *ICs* can be picked out of units, however that is the only allowance for doing so - the usual rules are yuou may never pick someone out of a unit.
As the HT is NOT an IC, he just *joins* the unit as an IC, he cannot be picked out?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/20 18:20:40
Subject: Hive Tyrant and cover
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:As the HT is NOT an IC, he just *joins* the unit as an IC, he cannot be picked out?
Correct.
|
|
 |
 |
|