| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:23:46
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Tri wrote:Gwar! wrote:Because the rules say if he chooses, he cannot get the bonus attack.
that rule requires the use of only 2 weapons ... Calgar counts as having 3 ... rule doesn't work unless you pick 2 to use. pick two power fists and the rule does nothing
Calgar has 2 Weapons, not 3.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:25:40
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Gwar! wrote:Because the rules say if he chooses, he cannot get the bonus attack.
You're reading the rules as too broad, when in fact, that section of the rules is very specific. It's not saying that the model is choosing between two weapons on his PROFILE, it is saying he is choosing between two that he is using in close combat. I could have ten weapons on my person, but I'm only ever using two. Just because I have the weapons on me, doesn't negate an extra attack from the two I'm choosing to use.
You're reading that the rule applies to the model having to choose amongst the weapons on his profile, whereas we're reading it as he has two weapons in his hands, now he must choose which of those two weapons to use for its bonuses.
I choose to use a power fist and a lightning claw. I have other weapons to choose from, but I don't. So, after I've chosen which two weapons I want to fight with, I read the rules stating that I must choose which of the two weapon's bonuses will apply and that I can't take an extra attack because I'm choosing between two unlike weapons. Not because I simply had two unlike weapons on my profile.
OR
I choose a pair of power fists. Since I chose a pair of power fists, I look at the two weapons and find that they apply to the "gain +1 attack" ruling. I don't have to pick and choose between wielding two complex weapons. And I didn't "pick and choose" because the ruling isn't talking about the profile, it is talking about what you're fighting with.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/28 19:28:05
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:29:33
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
puma713 wrote:I choose a pair of power fists.
Then you don't get the attack. End of Discussion.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:31:29
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Gwar like I said if you don't understand what is a matched pair your lack of knowledge has no bearing on the rules. You tried to play it off "Whats that anways??" This is a perfect example why your rules interpretations often tend to be biased. Personally I think you do it purposefully to bolster your post count. As such I don't take what you say here on YMDC seriously.
G
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:33:00
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Gwar! wrote:Tri wrote:Gwar! wrote:Because the rules say if he chooses, he cannot get the bonus attack.
that rule requires the use of only 2 weapons ... Calgar counts as having 3 ... rule doesn't work unless you pick 2 to use. pick two power fists and the rule does nothing
Calgar has 2 Weapons, not 3.
I choose my words carefully, he counts as have 3 weapons since the gauntlets count as a pair of power fists.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:34:27
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
 Gwar! wrote:puma713 wrote:I choose a pair of power fists.
Then you don't get the attack. End of Discussion.
lol because you say it is. I guess you're starting to see the light of the other side of the argument, otherwise you wouldn't just cross your arms and pout like a three year old
So, since we're using this logic, I suppose no model can ever have an extra attack. Because I have to choose to use complex weapons. I can choose not to use any weapons at all (there are models with no CCW, but with Attacks, therefore we can hit with our fists, right?). So, I can choose to not use any of the weapons on my person, use one complex weapon or use more than one weapon. But since I've chosen between three options, I can never get a bonus attack.
Hm. Guess they should errata that whole part out of the rulebook.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:42:05
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Drew_Riggio
Norway
|
Gwar! wrote:puma713 wrote:I choose a pair of power fists.
Then you don't get the attack. End of Discussion.
A pair of Power Fists gives +1 attack, it says so on page 42. Besides, he is DA MEGA SUPER BOSSY OF THE BLUE MUHHRENS!!1!1LOLOLOL!!1, so he got to have an extra attack
|
The God Emperor
He almost died and got put on life support for your sins.
-n0t_u |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:46:43
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Terje-Tubby wrote:Gwar! wrote:puma713 wrote:I choose a pair of power fists.
Then you don't get the attack. End of Discussion.
A pair of Power Fists gives +1 attack, it says so on page 42. Besides, he is DA MEGA SUPER BOSSY OF THE BLUE MUHHRENS!!1!1LOLOLOL!!1, so he got to have an extra attack
Except he had to choose between "The Gauntlets of Ultramar" and a "Power Weapon", so can NEVER receive the bonus attack for two weapons because he had to choose, as per page 42 of the rulebook.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:49:38
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Gwar= Wrong
Again.
G
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:49:57
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Terje-Tubby wrote:Gwar! wrote:puma713 wrote:I choose a pair of power fists.
Then you don't get the attack. End of Discussion.
A pair of Power Fists gives +1 attack, it says so on page 42. Besides, he is DA MEGA SUPER BOSSY OF THE BLUE MUHHRENS!!1!1LOLOLOL!!1, so he got to have an extra attack
Except you are told that IF you have to choose you NEVER gain the +1 attack
NEVER is fairly specific dont you think?
GBF - so if you are choosing between three weapons you dont think you are still choosing between 2 weapons eventually?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:55:08
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
nosferatu1001 wrote: so if you are choosing between three weapons you dont think you are still choosing between 2 weapons eventually?
In the case of Marneus Calgar, if you choose the Gauntlets of Ultramar you are never required to choose between two special weapons, because you can use them both. That's what allows you to gain +1 attack. So no, in fact, choosing between three weapons does NOT imply choosing between two weapons.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:56:58
Subject: Re:do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
Q: Does Marneus Augustus Calgar ever recieve a bonus attack for two close combat weapons?
A: No. The Gauntlets of Ultramar are, by the strict letter of the rules, a single special close combat weapon. As he has this and a Power Weapon, he must choose between them, thus denying him the Bonus attack for two close combat weapons. [R.a.W]
I'll just leave this here.
|
Godforge custom 3d printing / professional level casting masters and design:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/GodForge |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 19:58:59
Subject: Re:do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Grundz wrote:Q: Does Marneus Augustus Calgar ever recieve a bonus attack for two close combat weapons?
A: No. The Gauntlets of Ultramar are, by the strict letter of the rules, a single special close combat weapon. As he has this and a Power Weapon, he must choose between them, thus denying him the Bonus attack for two close combat weapons. [R.a.W]
I'll just leave this here.
Where's that come from?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 20:00:14
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Terje-Tubby wrote:Gwar! wrote:puma713 wrote:I choose a pair of power fists.
Then you don't get the attack. End of Discussion.
A pair of Power Fists gives +1 attack, it says so on page 42. Besides, he is DA MEGA SUPER BOSSY OF THE BLUE MUHHRENS!!1!1LOLOLOL!!1, so he got to have an extra attack
Except you are told that IF you have to choose you NEVER gain the +1 attack
NEVER is fairly specific dont you think?
GBF - so if you are choosing between three weapons you dont think you are still choosing between 2 weapons eventually?
And you're misreading the passage. It's not talking about choosing on the profile, it's talking about choosing the two in your hand. It is not even referring to models with more than two weapons - it says "some models are equipped with two single-handed weapons. . ." and then it goes on to outline what happens if they are two complex weapons. It doesn't even make reference to the profile of the model, rather the two that you're choosing to use.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 20:05:58
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
BeRzErKeR wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote: so if you are choosing between three weapons you dont think you are still choosing between 2 weapons eventually?
In the case of Marneus Calgar, if you choose the Gauntlets of Ultramar you are never required to choose between two special weapons, because you can use them both. That's what allows you to gain +1 attack. So no, in fact, choosing between three weapons does NOT imply choosing between two weapons.
This.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 20:11:50
Subject: Re:do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
BeRzErKeR wrote:Grundz wrote:Q: Does Marneus Augustus Calgar ever recieve a bonus attack for two close combat weapons?
A: No. The Gauntlets of Ultramar are, by the strict letter of the rules, a single special close combat weapon. As he has this and a Power Weapon, he must choose between them, thus denying him the Bonus attack for two close combat weapons. [R.a.W]
I'll just leave this here.
Where's that come from?
I didn't see it in the latest Space Marine FAQ so I'd say it's from one of three orifices.
-Yad
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 20:11:52
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Green Blow Fly wrote:BeRzErKeR wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote: so if you are choosing between three weapons you dont think you are still choosing between 2 weapons eventually?
In the case of Marneus Calgar, if you choose the Gauntlets of Ultramar you are never required to choose between two special weapons, because you can use them both. That's what allows you to gain +1 attack. So no, in fact, choosing between three weapons does NOT imply choosing between two weapons.
This.
+1
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/28 20:12:25
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 20:16:33
Subject: do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Looks like this thread has covered all the usual ground for this issue, so I think it's done for now.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|