Switch Theme:

do power fists count as an extra close combat weapon?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Crazed Cultist of Khorne





Cwmbran, wales

Just a simple question, do power fists give you an extra attack in cmbat like an extra close combat weapon does or not. Because my gw store is split in the fact half think it does and the others dont. Just wanted it cleared. Thanks in advance.
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Not unless the model is equipped with two power fists...
See the close combat weapon section of the BRB.

Visit http://www.ironfistleague.com for games, tournaments and more in the DC metro area! 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Jakeface wrote:Just a simple question, do power fists give you an extra attack in cmbat like an extra close combat weapon does or not. Because my gw store is split in the fact half think it does and the others dont. Just wanted it cleared. Thanks in advance.
It's covered VERY CLEARLY on page 42 of the rulebook.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Cackling Chaos Conscript



England

"Powerfists, Lightning claws and thunder hammers may only be granted an additional attack if the model is equipped with a second powerfist, lightning claw or thunder hammer respectively"
- something along those lines under Close Combat Weapons in the rulebook

unfortunately you'd have to have 2 powerfists to get the extra attack; if you have one powerfist and, say, a chainsword, you wouldn't get your extra attack.

hope this helped; i haven't got the rulebook to hand at the moment but i believe that's correct

[edit] ookay got beaten to it. see above [/edit]

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/28 16:31:34


sons of the tempest 10/1/1 WDL. 1000 points

Raynor's Raiders
WIP starcraft themed army, currently in buying stages

Unnamed Daemons

Glubzog Nutcracka's green tide


 
   
Made in gb
Crazed Cultist of Khorne





Cwmbran, wales

thanks guys for the answer xD
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Marneus does indeed get the +1A.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Green Blow Fly wrote:Marneus does indeed get the +1A.

G
No, he doesn't, but I'll just leave now before GBF causes another gakstorm.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Does Marneus have a 2nd power fist? Yes, so yeah he gets the +1A.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Green Blow Fly wrote:Does Marneus have a 2nd power fist? Yes, so yeah he gets the +1A.

G
And does he have to choose between two special weapons?

Yes, so no, he doesn't get a bonus attack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/28 18:14:02


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

The rule simply states if the model has two of the same special weapon they get the +1A. Stop reading into the rules and just accept them for what they are.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Green Blow Fly wrote:The rule simply states if the model has two of the same special weapon they get the +1A. Stop reading into the rules and just accept them for what they are.
No, the rule says "When it is their turn to attack, these models must choose which weapon to use that turn, but they never get the bonus attack for using two weapons (such is the penalty for wielding too many complex weapons!)."

Also, "The Gauntlets of Ultramar" are a single weapon, not two.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







OH FOR THE LOVE OF GOD ... GWAR, GREEN both of you just link to the last argument and leave it alone. I've got this avatar for a reason.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Gwar you are twisting the rules around now. Everybody know the gauntlets are a pair of power fists. Really¡

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Green Blow Fly wrote:Gwar you are twisting the rules around now. Everybody know the gauntlets are a pair of power fists. Really¡
Except they are not?

They are one weapon that act as a "matched pair" (whatever that is) but that sill doesn't change the fact he has to pick between using either a Power Weapon or "The Gauntlets of Ultramar" and thus is denied the Bonus attack as per page 42 of the BRB.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/28 18:39:29


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Don't mind Gwar!, Marneus gets +1 Attack, like GBF says.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/28 18:41:05


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in ca
Mounted Kroot Tracker





Ontario, Canada

I agree with Gwar!. When a DA Exarch uses bladestorm, he only gets one bonus shot, as his weapon is clearly Assault 4, despite it appearing to be two guns.

Night Watch SM
Kroot Mercenaries W 2 - D 3 - L 1
Manchu wrote: This is simply a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone says, "it won't change so why should I bother to try?" and then it doesn't change so people feel validated in their bad behavior.

Nightwatch's Kroot Blog

DQ:90-S++G++M-B++I+Pw40k08#+D+A--/cWD-R+T(S)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

That has nothing to do with assaults. If this is all you can come up go back and read the rules again.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yay! Time for another back and forth fight of "Gwar! is Right" and "Gwar! is Wrong".

I love the smell of Napalm in the morning!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Gwar if you can't fathom what the term 'matched pair' means that is your lack of understanding and does not reflect upon the rules. Next you'll be saying one is right handed and the other I'd left handed just to make a case they aren't the same. Now suppose I take an apple then I set it beside another. Are they the same?

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Green Blow Fly wrote:Gwar if you can't fathom what the term 'matched pair' means that is your lack of understanding and does not reflect upon the rules. Next you'll be saying one is right handed and the other I'd left handed just to make a case they aren't the same. Now suppose I take an apple then I set it beside another. Are they the same?
No, because they are 2 different apples.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Green Blow Fly wrote:Gwar if you can't fathom what the term 'matched pair' means that is your lack of understanding and does not reflect upon the rules. Next you'll be saying one is right handed and the other I'd left handed just to make a case they aren't the same. Now suppose I take an apple then I set it beside another. Are they the same?

G


So if someone with 2 special weapons can NEVER gain the +1 attack because they are wielding so many complex weapons, what makes you think someone with 3 should be able to? Is 3 no longer "so many" when 2 is?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Regardless if he has:

"Gauntlets of Ultramar" + Power Sword (2 Weapons)

or

"Gauntlet of Ultramar" + "Gauntlet of Ultramar" + Power Sword (3 Weapons)

He has 'two different special close combat weapons' and can NEVER get a bonus attack even if he had 2 powerfists.

Having the powersword on his forehead prevents him from ever being able to gain a bonus attack.

So Choose your 'gauntlet', or 'gauntlet' or 'powersword'. But never do you get a bonus attack.


My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

No he has two of the same for the bonus plus a power sword. Easy. It's like trying to say you can't roll doubles with three dice and we know how GW ruled on that one. Just take a look at the rules for the Tervi if you have any doubt.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So he has to choose which of the 2 items to use (the gauntlets or the sword) yet for some reason he doesnt count as choosing?

Weird.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

He has pair that's all that matters in this case.

Word.

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




nosferatu1001 wrote:So he has to choose which of the 2 items to use (the gauntlets or the sword) yet for some reason he doesnt count as choosing?

Weird.


Right. So, say for argument's sake he picks the power sword. He's wielding a power sword. No bonus or anything.

Alternatively, he picks The Gauntlets of Ultramar. So now he's wielding "a matched pair of power fists. . ."

And guess what? A "pair of power fists" gives you a bonus attack!

Le gasp!

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Why is that so hard??

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Because the rules say if he chooses, he cannot get the bonus attack.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Gwar! wrote:Because the rules say if he chooses, he cannot get the bonus attack.
that rule requires the use of only 2 weapons ... Calgar counts as having 3 ... rule doesn't work unless you pick 2 to use. pick two power fists and the rule does nothing

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/28 19:22:34


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

The rule says if the model has a pair they get +1A.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: