Switch Theme:

Progression of Ram and Deff Rolla  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Works, altho I won't need to borrow one, as I'm one of those silly gits that buys them all. And uses the Ork codex for my Genestealer Cult.............

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






don_mondo wrote:Yes, it can continue. On it's next turn. The Ramming rules take precedence here. They state that on a Destroyed - Exploded result the vehicle continues. Since it wasn't Exploded, the ramming vehicle stops. Page 69, main rulebook:
If the vehicle that is rammed is not removed, the rammer halts. However, if the rammed vehicle is removed because it suffers a ‘destroyed – explodes!’ damage result, the rammer continues its move


I still see nothing that says the Deffrolla is applied after the ram... A Ram is resolved after death or Glory so its 'immediatly' is delayed by DoG as well.

So you either have:

*Declare Ram/Deffroll
*Skimmer dodge

*Declare Ram/Deffroll
*DoG Stops tank
*Apply 2D6 Deffroll

*Declare Ram/Deffroll
*DoG Doesn't stop tank
*Apply Ram and Apply 2D6 Deffroll

*Declare Ram/Deffroll
*Brace for impact/Regular impact
*Apply Ram and Apply 1D6 Deffroll

*Declare Tankshock/Deffroll
*Morale Check
*Apply 1D6 Deffroll

*Declare Tankshock/Deffroll
*DoG Stops tank
*Apply 2D6 Deffroll

*Declare Tankshock/Deffroll
*DoG doesn't stop tank
*Apply 2D6 Deffroll


At no time is the ram resolved at a different time than the deffrolla as it is all part of the same tankshock action.

And the rule only specifies being removed while being rammed, not destroyed by the Ram.

I see the train of thought of both sides, I simply don't see evidence that the Ram is resolved at a different initiative order than the Deffrolla because they are always resolved together in all situations. The ORK faq saying you then apply 2D6 doesn't change anything because the 'immediate' ram is still resolved after DoG which puts it at the same time of the deffrolla.

My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I've always been in the Pro-Deffrolla camp (thank you GW for that one) and figure it happens at the same time. What I don't agree with is anyone stating you can also mash occupants of a vehicle if you crush it. When you declare a Ram you pick your targets and embarked passengers aren't a valid target since they aren't "on the table" per se.

Kind of like how I believe DoM won't affect embarked passengers but that is for a differen't argument all together.
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Boss GreenNutz wrote:I've always been in the Pro-Deffrolla camp (thank you GW for that one) and figure it happens at the same time. What I don't agree with is anyone stating you can also mash occupants of a vehicle if you crush it. When you declare a Ram you pick your targets and embarked passengers aren't a valid target since they aren't "on the table" per se.


You pick a target, yes, but that actually doesn't have anything to do with it. If you Ram, you move max speed directly toward your target. Anything in the way is Rammed/Tank Shocked, whether you targeted it or not. So if a vehicle explodes, the passengers fall out, adn then the BW rolls forward over them, yes, they get Tank Shocked.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




berzerker is right on his interpretation

I am in the camp that has always argued the side that deffrollas worked as intended with ramming.

worked for both ard boyz I played in, and those are GW tournaments.

glad that debate has finally been solved by a faq.

In terms of resolution. there are no seperate steps when resolving the ram/deffrolla from what i can find. if someone can find specific text that separates those two steps then we should follow that. Otherwise we will have to just wait until it gets faq'd again (fat chance)

however I still have to disagree that it is treated as a weapon, regardless of the new ruling. it is a piece of wargear that modifies ramming and tank shock, not a weapon with a shooting or CC statistic.

NaZ

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/03 18:35:19


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Right you move towards your target. But where does it say you place the troops from the destroyed transport before you continue moving the BW? I can't find it anywhere. I would say you ram the vehicle and keep going so the troops are placed after you finish movement. Otherwise you move and stop so your opponent can place his troops then continue moving. There is nothing in the rulebook that allows you to stop moving and start again.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






Boss GreenNutz wrote:Right you move towards your target. But where does it say you place the troops from the destroyed transport before you continue moving the BW? I can't find it anywhere. I would say you ram the vehicle and keep going so the troops are placed after you finish movement. Otherwise you move and stop so your opponent can place his troops then continue moving. There is nothing in the rulebook that allows you to stop moving and start again.

The part where you stop to resolve the ram and then start again nonwithstanding, I assume?
You've go no rules basis to go on, there's nothing that says to delay the resolution of the explodes result until after the entire ram movement is complete.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/04 03:55:16


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Boss GreenNutz wrote:Right you move towards your target. But where does it say you place the troops from the destroyed transport before you continue moving the BW? I can't find it anywhere. I would say you ram the vehicle and keep going so the troops are placed after you finish movement. Otherwise you move and stop so your opponent can place his troops then continue moving. There is nothing in the rulebook that allows you to stop moving and start again.


Because you are still resolving the damage from the ram - nothing tells you you can stop resolving the damage to do something else.
   
Made in be
Regular Dakkanaut




Only thing i see proven in this thread is that the DR hits happen after DoG. But that doesn't matter one yota since the faq tells us that even if it gets stopped they still get the 2D6.


"ANY" includes the special ones 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine




Can't we close this down?... Gwar hit it on the head when he answered "Yes. No. Maybe". Nuff said.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: