Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/21 18:24:36
Subject: New BA Magna Grapple Rules
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Another question, if the dread drop pods in, pulls a vehicle into base contact, would the dread get to attack?
Since it does attack when it gets charged on the turn after it deep strikes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/21 18:28:51
Subject: New BA Magna Grapple Rules
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If the rules state you can initiate combat then that is what happens - you get to attack.
I imagine thats the point of it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/21 18:31:59
Subject: New BA Magna Grapple Rules
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
phantommaster wrote:Another question, if the dread drop pods in, pulls a vehicle into base contact, would the dread get to attack?
Since it does attack when it gets charged on the turn after it deep strikes.
Wait.
To.
Get.
The.
Codex.
This is VERY AND INCREDIBLY Clearly addressed in the Magna Grapple Rules.
I'll be nice and say the answer to your question is No, but please, wait to see the codex before asking questions.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/21 18:56:39
Subject: New BA Magna Grapple Rules
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
I have the codex, but don't understand properly.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/21 19:05:18
Subject: New BA Magna Grapple Rules
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
phantommaster wrote:I have the codex, but don't understand properly.
If you do have it, I direct you to the "*Grapple" rules, Paragraph 3, Line 1, words 8-14 and words 21 & 22. it does not get clearer than that.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/21 19:57:16
Subject: New BA Magna Grapple Rules
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Ahh, got it, thanks again!!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 06:11:18
Subject: New BA Magna Grapple Rules
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Defiler wrote:Gwar! wrote:Defiler wrote:Gwar! wrote:You know, considering GW at one point said "Ok, sorry, we didn't know how broken DUAL lash was", why did they let Blood Angels be able to take 8 of them? :(
You know, if you end up within 18 inches of a DEATH COMPANY dreadnought, you deserve to lose your vehicle honestly.
Which is of course, 1 per every 5 death company in your army. The maximum amount of expensive dreads is 6.
People are such whiners. Do you want Warhammer to remain a shoot, charge, deepstrike game forever or actually want some varied mechanics?
And no, the grapple mechanic has restrictions that are in the book. Wait for the god-damned thing to be released before you all start nerd-raging about a rule you don't even know??
Actually, the most Death Company Dreads you can take is 5, as you only have 6 Troops Slots, and the Death Company take up one of those. Add to that the three Elite Furiosos, and you can have up to 8 Magna Grapples.
And hey, guess what, I have the codex already, I know the Magna Grapple Rules, and nothing prevents multiple Grapples a turn. Yes, it is going to be hard to reel in AV 13+, but with 8 of them, chances are you will get at least 18" of movement.
Which reminds me of a question I have to add to my FAQ, so Thank you I guess.
Well congratulations rules troll. If you did have the book, you'd know that setting up that many dreads is over 1700 points. Good job pulling around some rhinos with that sort of point investment?
It's a neat trick, but it's not La: Sh and it's not game-breaking by any stretch.
1700 points with not a single scoring unit. . .
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 06:13:10
Subject: New BA Magna Grapple Rules
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
puma713 wrote:1700 points with not a single scoring unit. . .
You don't need scoring units when you table them with thirty Dual Thunderhammer Jump Pack Death Company! Or, you know, Annihilation.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/03/22 06:14:19
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 07:52:54
Subject: New BA Magna Grapple Rules
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
@Kurgash
im aware of this..'Pull you towards me' weapon of doom, but are there other rules that apply of skimmers? Automatically Appended Next Post: meaning that it affects other types of vehicles differently
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/22 07:53:48
You cant spell slaughter without laughter, nor funeral without fun!
'Did you know my blood is black?' - Crona Gorgon
Perils of the Warp
"Orks cannot possibly be female.....It's even less likely than female space marines or grey templars. Or male sisters of battle. Or not-gay Tau..." - Samus_aran115 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 13:14:33
Subject: New BA Magna Grapple Rules
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
Gwar! wrote:Defiler wrote:Well congratulations rules troll. If you did have the book, you'd know that setting up that many dreads is over 1700 points. Good job pulling around some rhinos with that sort of point investment?
It's a neat trick, but it's not La:Sh and it's not game-breaking by any stretch.
I am well aware of the points cost thank you very much. My original post there was slightly Hyperbole, but considering you can get 4 Grapples with only 5 Death Company Models, that's double the "brokenness" of Lash. More when you factor in that Lash can be Psychic Hooded/Runic Staffed, while there is absolutely no defense against magna grapples except gakky rolling.
Actually, I don't think it's that broken at all.
Firstly, the Grapple is only a 12" range, rather than the 24" range of Lash. Secondly, if I read the rules correctly, to even drag the enemy vehicle, you have to make what amounts to a second penetration roll to see if you can pull the vehicle towards you. Assuming this is correct, a single Grapple equipped dread has roughly a 1/3 chance of dragging an AV 11 vehicle; and that's assuming the initial shot didn't destroy it.
Now, an interesting thing about the Grapple is that it appears to be a weapon that can be mounted without replacing either arm. Did I read that correctly? How do you plan on modeling yours? Automatically Appended Next Post: phantommaster wrote:Another question, if the dread drop pods in, pulls a vehicle into base contact, would the dread get to attack?
Since it does attack when it gets charged on the turn after it deep strikes.
The dragged vehicle stops when it comes within 1" of another vehicle, if I remember correctly. That would include the Dread' that initiated the dragging.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/22 13:16:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/23 21:36:49
Subject: New BA Magna Grapple Rules
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
I've modelled mine, not spectacular but it will do, a hunter-killer missile with a warhammer fantasy bow on it, modelled to look like it has a big, mean chain and hooked so that it looks like it could actually pull a tank.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|