Switch Theme:

Couple of Empire Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Definitely not gwar! - I drink less gin
   
Made in us
Stoic Grail Knight



Houston, Texas

bennyboy6189 wrote:The Errata doesnt say you cant double the movement.


I love this argument...

Nowhere does it say that i cant smash all your models and sweep them off the table and claim a win cause you dont have an army to contest me...

Saying its not in the rulebook/errata so you can do it is a stupid argument.

Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins-  
   
Made in gb
Waaagh! Warbiker





Shivan- that's missing the point to some extent.

To some of us (Me, thanatos, Benny), doubling the special value seems completely obvious. The rules say you double movement, you have a way of calculating movement, so you double that result. Giving explicit permission to do so seems pointless, because it's obvious. We would need to see a clear rule that states "Where the relevant value is not given as a number, it cannot be modified" or something similar. That's what we're asking for.

To others (Nos, you?), doubling the special value seems counter intuitive because, under the "M" symbol, there isn't a number, just a word. You can't double a word. In order to double the calculated value, Nos requires explicit permission to do so. To him/her, lack of this permission = not permitted.

The key is whether we can replace the word special with the value it depicts. Given the heat and little light generated so far, it'll have to be another FAQ one. The latest amendment to the Empire book (removing the paragraph about magic) means this is probably one of many such questions.

We can both play reductio ad absurdum here. The whole point of the rules is as a set of principles from which to work out what you can and can't do. To me, this question falls within that remit. To Nos, it doesn't.

In truth, both sides have good reason for having their perspective (which is why I was surprised at Nos' confidence that I was in the wrong). We need an FAQ or similar.

In the meantime, suggest it's discussed at the outset or diced off.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

Doc, you get to double normal movement. All of the STank's movement is special. This spell has no effect on the STank.
   
Made in gb
Waaagh! Warbiker





Sazzlefrats wrote:Doc, you get to double normal movement. All of the STank's movement is special. This spell has no effect on the STank.


Hi, Sazzlefrats.

Most of the thread on here has been debating this point. An honest question (really - this isn't rhetorical): Given my post, and the content of the previous debate, do you have a rulebook reference for that? Something like "special values can't be modified". Only, to me and others on here, it seems really obvious that it can be doubled. And to others, it doesn't. So, my suggestion is that we agree in advance or dice off before games; it's not obvious to everyone.

Cheers,

Ludo
   
Made in us
Moustache-twirling Princeps





PDX

Rules are inclusive.

It doesn't say it can, so it can't.

Argument over?

   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: