Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/15 20:58:42
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Provo, UT
|
EmpBobo wrote:Um, where does it say that you should ignore the section in the Daemons codex where it says if the pink horrors roll a miscast instead of rolling on the miscast table they take d6 wounds with no saves of any kind allowed?
*enter dramatic music bum bum buuuuuuum*
|
"If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face--forever." -1984, pg.267
I think George Orwell was unknowingly describing 40K.
Armies - Highelves, Dwarves |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/15 20:59:04
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Cuz this thread isn't dealing with a miscast the horrors themselfs made.
We've been mostly dealing with a case of a 8-9 miscast from elswhere in the army.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/15 20:59:23
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/16 03:53:31
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Seattle, WA
|
Horrors as models can not channel, they can only channel as a unit. The miscast result says models that can channel and not units therefore they don't take a hit. As for the mount, I have no idea. I personally can see it going both ways, the rider hit alone or the hit being randomized.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/16 06:07:08
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Frenzied Juggernaut
|
Hmmm so by raw, the unit wouldnt take a hit. Interesting..
|
qwekel wants to get bigger, please click on him and level him up.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/16 06:39:05
Subject: Re:Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That's the way it looks, since the 8-9 result on the miscast table specifies "every model on the same side that can channel/generate power or dispel dice".
You start a turn and the Horror unit rolls to channel an extra power die. Now point out which Horror or Horrors in the unit channeled the power die, or even which models in the unit even can channel that power die. Note the contrast with a wizard on a mount, in that you can point to the wizard and say, "That's the model (the wizard on the mount) that can channel power dice."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/17 04:48:56
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Utah
|
You could work it the other way though saying since not one but all do it together they all take a str6 hit. Even though this isn't a RAI forum, I believe it's supposed to be one hit against the unit.
|
Warhammer 40k Ultramarines 5000pts Green Tide 2500pts Foot sloggin' Romanoth 1st-5th 3000pts Eldar 1250 pts
Warhammer Fantasy Woc (emphasis warriors) 3500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/17 07:37:56
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
One per unit is a nice compromise, i still woudn't make a DoC player take a hit unless he really insists on it
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/17 10:08:16
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I'm vindictive, i might make a DoC player takes it for being a DoC player
/bad memories of 7th ed. *shudders*
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/17 10:10:34
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
I didn't play till 8th so i have no such problems
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/17 11:01:58
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Big Fat Gospel of Menoth
The other side of the internet
|
Can someone post the full rules for how the Horror's work for this? That might help clear some things up.
|
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
RAGE
Be sure to use logic! Avoid fallacies whenever possible.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/17 15:02:05
Subject: Re:Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
Houston, Texas
|
Basically the UNIT counts as a wizard of X level based on how many models are in the unit.
|
Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins- |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/17 15:24:55
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Surtur wrote:Can someone post the full rules for how the Horror's work for this? That might help clear some things up.
No we cannot lest the GW law hounds decend upon dakka and destroy us all.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/17 16:49:25
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Theyre ninja attack pandas, not hounds!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/17 17:07:43
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Salem, Oregon USA
|
I'm tempted to think that both the rider and mount take the hit, as they do in the case of a cannonball strike.
|
The pellet with the poison's in the vessel with the pestle.
The chalice from the palace has the brew that is true. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/17 17:14:55
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Durzod wrote:I'm tempted to think that both the rider and mount take the hit, as they do in the case of a cannonball strike.
Ok, explain why to the rest of us?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/17 17:15:06
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/17 17:34:57
Subject: Re:Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Squishy Squig
|
It states in the armybook
"A unit of Pink Horrors is a Wizard that can cast spells from the Daemon Lore of Tzeentch"
Don't know how helpful it will be for the discussion but there it is.
Also from the Tzeentch magic section of the demon armybook its also says
"A unit of Pink Horrors is considered to be a single wizard with its own magic level..."
Once more I don't think that helped but there is the wording from the book again.
On a personal note and with the lack of an official ruling I think I'd just treat the entire unit as being a wizard for the purpose of damage and not every individual model but then I'm more interested with getting the dispute out of the way and the game going then being making sure the rules are more accurately followed which might be why my input isn't too helpful... and I lose a lot of games.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/17 17:44:40
Hive Fleet Hydra-2000
Unger's Grimzag Boyz-4500
Kabal of the Fatal Blade-1500
Salamanders 4th Company-1500
The Obsidian Legion(WoC)-2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/19 08:13:23
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Angry Chaos Agitator
|
Hmm, if that's the exact wording, I'm leaning towards the "no hits" ruling.
Is it possible for there to be 1/2 of a wizard, 1/3rd, 1/4th, 1/5th, 1/6th, 1/10th, etc?
Because a single horror in that unit is certainly not a wizard
OTHERWISE
"The casting player rolls a D6 for each of his Wizards. An extra power dice is added to the pool for each roll of a 6."
A)
If 1/10th of a Wizard (one horror in a unit of 10) COUNTS AS a wizard then each horror gets to channel AND each horror would be vulnerable to a S6 hit.
The alternatives
B)
Since the one unit represents one wizard somehow, it gets to channel once, and takes one S6 hit.
C)
Since no actual models in the unit are wizards, none of the single models can channel and none are hit by the damage.
B and C are both fine to me, neither is extreme. The 10 channelers obliterated by 10 S6 things seems a very illogical ruling to me considering the models themselves have no wizarding level.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/19 08:14:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/19 17:13:42
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Nimble Dark Rider
T.O.
|
Fraction or not, the miscast table doesn't say "wizard" it says "models that can generate PD." Naturally a "Wizard" is a model that can generate PD, but here we are faced with the unlikely situation that a "wizard" is more than one model.
The true question is does each horror model count as channeling its one dice for the unit, does only one count as doing so, or do none count as doing so?
Since a dice can be generated by the horrors, for they are a "wizard" we can ignore the third option. And since the "unit" as a whole is counted as a "wizard" one horror cannot really be said to channel for the whole group. Thus, by the immediately previous statement, we must conclude that all of the horror models contribute to the channeling and therefor (provided the unit is still large enough to be a "wizard") all the horrors count as "models that can generate PD."
All that reasoning aside, if there is any further dispute the rulebook and FAQs are very clear in their president of 4+ or letting the player whose turn it is decide. It is advisable to simply compromise by saying one horror is a focus for their magic and thus one horror channels and one horror gets hit.
|
Please put this on your sig if you know someone, work for someone or are related to someone who suffers from stupidity. Stupidity is real and should be taken seriously. You could be sitting next to a sufferer right now. There is still no known cure for stupidity and sympathy does not help. But we can raise awareness.... 93% won't copy and paste this because they don't know how to copy and paste |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/19 17:52:46
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No. A model is a single figure. No single figure in a horror unit can generate power dice. It's pretty simple. As you said yourself, the "wizard" is more than one model. Therefore it can't be affected by something that affects a "model."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/19 17:53:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/19 18:10:43
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Big Fat Gospel of Menoth
The other side of the internet
|
A unit is made of models. Collectively or even individually they are a wizard. After talking to some people, we came to the conclusion that it would take 1 hit. As it states, it counts as a single wizard, a single model is determined for the purpose of who is casting and this was the best conclusion given the circumstances.
|
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
RAGE
Be sure to use logic! Avoid fallacies whenever possible.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fallacies |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 17:06:29
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Salem, Oregon USA
|
HoverBoy wrote:Durzod wrote:I'm tempted to think that both the rider and mount take the hit, as they do in the case of a cannonball strike.
Ok, explain why to the rest of us?
Sorry about the late reply, but I haven't had a chance to check with my rulebook until now. I refer you to pg 105. In the section about templates it states that both the mount and rider take damage. In parentheses it says that this also includes bouncing cannonballs. Unfortunately another dig at characters riding monsters.
|
The pellet with the poison's in the vessel with the pestle.
The chalice from the palace has the brew that is true. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/30 17:23:00
Subject: Miscasts and horror units
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I agree with the analysis that says that each horror takes a hit, RAW. However, I think it's stupid. Any time I play a daemon player who uses horrors, I'll resolve this first, trying to reach the point where we just have the unit take a hit.
|
Manchu wrote:It's a lie, K_K, pure Imperial propaganda. Where's the Talon of Horus, huh? Plus everyone knows the Imperium planned and carried out the invasion of Cadia itself. Bin Abaddon was just a convenient scapegoat. |
|
 |
 |
|