Multi quoting ahoy.
Oscarius wrote:Because?
Honestly, that's not what the rules say at all. The hellhound is still a template weapon and if you fire at an unit in a ruin you use the template rules in the ruin section.
Because it ignores real world physics and RAI saying it can't
Real world physics have no bearing on the rules, also I think you meant "can".
Because it ignores the Hellhounds special rule (i.e. 12" range, then place the template)
Nope, you can place it with in 12", but only on the same level or one level up/down.
Because it makes you TFG if you argue that it can't
I don't think so, subjective point. And I'm not scared of that either,
Because you're agueing a point based on the lack of evidence (i.e. Hellhound is not mentioned with the exceptions in the rulebook)
Nope, I'm arguing the point that the hellhound is a template weapon, it is the other point that lacks evidence.
Because you may as well say it can't fire up a hill
No, it's only the ruin point I'm arguing, you can fire up a hill and still follow the rules
Because you can place the template anywhere within 12" of the barrel, it doesn't then magically jump down a level in a ruin because of p85
So by the same logic, fire into close combat?

(Place the template, it doesn't magically jump 2" away to avoid close combat)