Switch Theme:

Monolith particle whip  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

No, because we're using the unaugmented strength of the WEAPON, which for a powerfist is 2 x users ST. Since the +1 for Furious Charge is added AFTER determining the strength of the PF, it's a modifier. The doubling of strength is not a modifier, it's the formula used to determine the unaugmented strength of the PF. See the difference?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/08/25 16:23:33


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






If you can disprove that the BRB on page 7 actually says that 2x ST from a powerfist is a modifier, sure. Otherwise, you're just wrong.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





But it's a modifier to the model's strength rather than the weapon's strength.

Regardless of when in the process you add it into the mix to find the strength of the attack, it modifies the unit rather than the weapon, thus it isn't forbidden by the Living Metal rule.

Codex: Grey Knights touched me in the bad place... 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





@Jidmah You need to READ the rule...

Living Metal:
"Attacks which count the TARGET'S ARMOUR VALUE as being less than it really is (such as bright lances and blasters) do not do so against the Monolith. Similarly, weapons that get ADDITIONAL ARMOUR PENETRATION DICE (such as chianfists, monstrous creatures, or melta weapons) do not get the extra dice against the Monolith. Ordanance weapons still roll 2D6 for Armour Penetration and select the highest score."

No where does it say it ignores modifiers of any kind.

Also the FAQ entry is a specific clarification that the above rule does not apply to powerfists. This is fairly clear from the rule itself, but apparently was asked enough to warrant entry in the FAQ.


To summarize, the only thing effected by living metal are the following:
Lances and any other armor modification abilities
Melta, Chainfists, and other abilities that give you an attack of Strength + 2D6 instead of Strength + 1D6


Since a powerfist augments the wearers strength, it is not adding a die. The attack is still Strength + 1D6.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/08/25 16:49:55


W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Huh? I was merely answering to don_mondo claiming that Furious Charge is a modifier and Powerfists are not.

I was in agreement with you.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





I grabbed the wrong name when I was referencing the post. My bad. It was aimed at don_mondo when he said that furious charge didn't work vs monoliths :3

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/25 16:54:33


W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






WanderingFox wrote:@Jidmah You need to READ the rule...

Living Metal:
"Attacks which count the TARGET'S ARMOUR VALUE as being less than it really is (such as bright lances and blasters) do not do so against the Monolith. Similarly, weapons that get ADDITIONAL ARMOUR PENETRATION DICE (such as chianfists, monstrous creatures, or melta weapons) do not get the extra dice against the Monolith. Ordanance weapons still roll 2D6 for Armour Penetration and select the highest score."

No where does it say it ignores modifiers of any kind.

Also the FAQ entry is a specific clarification that the above rule does not apply to powerfists. This is fairly clear from the rule itself, but apparently was asked enough to warrant entry in the FAQ.


To summarize, the only thing effected by living metal are the following:
Lances and any other armor modification abilities
Melta, Chainfists, and other abilities that give you an attack of Strength + 2D6 instead of Strength + 1D6


Since a powerfist augments the wearers strength, it is not adding a die. The attack is still Strength + 1D6.


Well...you ARE forgetting the whole bit in the living metal rule that says (paraphrased) "In practice, when attacking a monolith a weapon rolls it's unaugmented Strength+1d6 no matter what."

Now, as has been said, the rule does say WEAPON and not MODEL. So yes, Furious charge works, power fists work, and so on. Tank hunter does not work though, as a "for instance".
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





umm no i'm not. that is the entirety of the living rule minus the single line of fluff.

See attached. It says NOTHING of the sort.
[Thumb - metal.png]

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/25 17:24:40


W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Assuming that they didn't just allow powerfists as a specific exception, to shut whiny SM players up..

That and the fact that Orks had practically no other way to kill the thing.

I'm not fussed personally. I'm ok with FC and so on without argument, as the Lith is a pain to take down without it, and also so that my Orks get the same benefit if i ever run across another Necron player.

In any case I prefer to play the game than have heated RAW arguments eating into my gaming time. The heated RAW arguments are over beer, afterwards

It'll all be irrelevant soon, in any case, with a bit of luck

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





God I can only hope so. I hate having these fights every time I put my 'crons on the table

W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Before people start killing each other over this again: Which of the two printings is the current one? The one Fox posted?

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Does the codex say 'no matter what'?

If it does it's the current one.

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





I was unaware of multiple printings of the codex? Mine is the one that was released in 2002 :/

W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

That and the fact that Orks had practically no other way to kill the thing.


Really? I'd say that outside of IG massed S 10 weapons, the thing that scares my Liths the most are Deffrolla's. Sure I can dodge it on a 3+ but if I dont, thats D6 S 10 hits. In 1 turn your Deffrolla has the potential to hit a lith as much as a Leman Russ can for the entire game.

As far as the rest goes, agreed with Kevin. The way the rules are worded, FC is a boost to the models Strength value and not the weapons.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

WanderingFox wrote:I was unaware of multiple printings of the codex? Mine is the one that was released in 2002 :/


Yup, it looks like you've got the old one. GW did an update on the Necron codex years ago. They changed several rules (I don't remember the full list), but didn't really go out of their way to inform people that the old codex wasn't up to date.

It has the exact same cover, but the new one says 2nd Printing somewhere on the inside. This has caused more confusion and arguments than I care to think about.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





So it would seem

Thank god I only have one major game planed for my crons before October.

W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in be
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





Belgium, Mechelen!

your codex is the old one as mine has the 'no matter what' sentence.

I've read the entire discussion and it seems the problem isn't solved...

I've read the FAQ now and it seems my question is answered there also the monolith is the monolith no matter if you have STR8 its only a 6 glance :p

Check out the Avengers vid! : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9D_Vi2_BtKc&feature=youtu.be

Also take a peek at the new intro I managed to develop for my future videos! = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xk4yVUsqvy0

Avenger Crons : AVENGERS ASSEMBLE! <= fully in painting process. View progress in this thread = http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/454194.page 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Apparently I do. I apologize Like I said above, I was completely unaware a second printing of the codex came out since my codex is from an older player who no longer plays and I started only fairly recently :3

W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Lehnsherr wrote:
That and the fact that Orks had practically no other way to kill the thing.


Really? I'd say that outside of IG massed S 10 weapons, the thing that scares my Liths the most are Deffrolla's. Sure I can dodge it on a 3+ but if I dont, thats D6 S 10 hits. In 1 turn your Deffrolla has the potential to hit a lith as much as a Leman Russ can for the entire game.

As far as the rest goes, agreed with Kevin. The way the rules are worded, FC is a boost to the models Strength value and not the weapons.



Deffrollas didn't exist when the Lith was released, at least as far as i remember from the previous codex PK's were your AT.


I said had, not have. These days they have ways, but not back in 3rd ED.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/25 18:45:00


The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

I said had, not have. These days they have ways, but not back in 3rd ED


Ah, sorry for misreading your post then.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Yep, Fox has wandered far astray by quoting from the old codex. The current printing has this line in it:

"In practice, any WEAPON attacking the Monolith will roll for armour penetration using its UNAUGMENTED STRENGTH and a SINGLE D6 no matter what." Emphasis mine, obviously.

Breaking that down into a mathematical formula, you get A (unagmented st of weapon) plus B (single d6) = C (armour penetration). there are no allowances for anything to be added to the formula, all you ever get is A + B.

Now, which part of the formula, A or B, does the +1 from Furious Charge go into? Neither, which means you don't get it. it's really that simple.

And Fox, there are some other changes too, that you should be aware of if you intend to use 'Crons.
1. They no longer count as disembarking from a stationary vehicle if the Monolith has moved.
2. If the unit moved, they cannot be teleported at all.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/25 20:06:28


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Good to know. Thanks. God, I can't wait till the new codex :3

W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





don_mondo wrote:
2. If the unit moved, they cannot be teleported at all.


Yes they can, they just can't move beyond disembarking. Per the FAQ.

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

TheGreatAvatar wrote:
don_mondo wrote:
2. If the unit moved, they cannot be teleported at all.


Yes they can, they just can't move beyond disembarking. Per the FAQ.


Correct, the FAQ is:

Q. Can a Necron unit that teleports through a
Monolith’s portal move after emerging?
A. Only if the Monolith (and the teleporting unit)
hasn’t already moved that Movement phase. If the
unit has already moved before being teleported,
it may only be deployed within 2" of the portal; if
it hasn’t already moved, it may deploy out 2" and
then move normally.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

TheGreatAvatar wrote:
don_mondo wrote:
2. If the unit moved, they cannot be teleported at all.


Yes they can, they just can't move beyond disembarking. Per the FAQ.


No, they cannot. Last line of the 2nd printing Monolith entry:

"A unit phasing out to re-emerge from the portal MAY NOT MOVE BEFORE PHASING OUT."

And that FAQ (old, btw) does not grant an exception for a unit to move prior to teleporting. It merely states what used to happen if a unit moved before teleporting.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/25 22:27:25


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





The FAQ specifically calls out what to do if the unit has moved prior to being ported through the Monolith. It doesn't qualify the move type just that if the unit has moved....

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

TheGreatAvatar wrote:The FAQ specifically calls out what to do if the unit has moved prior to being ported through the Monolith. It doesn't qualify the move type just that if the unit has moved....


Exactly. If they have moved. Which the Monolith rules specifically prohibit them from doing. I really don't see any way to say they can move prior to porting, given the rule I quoted.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

TheGreatAvatar wrote:The FAQ specifically calls out what to do if the unit has moved prior to being ported through the Monolith. It doesn't qualify the move type just that if the unit has moved....


But after re-reading the FAQ, don is correct. The rule in the codex that a unit cannot move before phasing out is what must be used.
That's because the first sentence of the last Necron FAQ said;

Some of the information in this document has
already been incorporated in later editions of the
Necron Codex. We have decided to leave them
here for people that might own an older version
of the Codex. If you are using a more recent
edition, please ignore any redundant information.

So we would ignore the FAQ I quoted, and instead use the rule from the codex that a unit cannot move before phasing out.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






time wizard wrote:
TheGreatAvatar wrote:The FAQ specifically calls out what to do if the unit has moved prior to being ported through the Monolith. It doesn't qualify the move type just that if the unit has moved....


But after re-reading the FAQ, don is correct. The rule in the codex that a unit cannot move before phasing out is what must be used.
That's because the first sentence of the last Necron FAQ said;

Some of the information in this document has
already been incorporated in later editions of the
Necron Codex. We have decided to leave them
here for people that might own an older version
of the Codex. If you are using a more recent
edition, please ignore any redundant information.

So we would ignore the FAQ I quoted, and instead use the rule from the codex that a unit cannot move before phasing out.


That still doesn't make sense because the rule in the later edition codex (second printing) is still vastly different from the rule in the FAQ. That would lead me to believe that the FAQ is still the most up to date ruling on this particular subject simply because they don't match up at all and, going by the date stamp on the FAQ, it is the newest release. I believe some of the redundant information may be something like "Do wraiths need to take dangerous terrain tests?" or the question about firing the gauss flux arc into close combat.
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

The FAQ has a later release date than the second printing of the Necron codex.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: