Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/15 02:21:35
Subject: Crazy Necron shenanigans
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
TheGreatAvatar wrote:PxDnNinja wrote:TheGreatAvatar wrote:A quick rule of thumb for Necrons and WBB and the ResOrb: The check for the ResOrb range is done when the model is damaged (killed). If the model is in range of the Orb, it can benefit from it's effect. The check for the WBB range is done at the beginning of the turn regardless of the status of the Orb; the Orb is not an issue during WBB rolls.
In the OP, once the Lord is removed (or damaged) in CC, all further models do not benefit from the Orb effect. Note: a Lord with an Orb will almost always get his his WBB roll.
The FAQ states all models in a swept unit are lost without any chance for WBB rolls, this includes any Lords attached are any models in the unit damaged prior to the unit being swept.
This isn't correct. I believe if you check the necron FAQ it explicitely states that the check for a rez orb is done at the time a model is killed.
Thus, if a lord in a unit of warriors is killed, then at a later initiative level warriors are killed by a weapon preventing WBB, those warriors will not get their WBB roll. I'll look up the specifics in a few minutes.
That's exactly what I posted. What did I get wrong?
Absolutly nothing. I was apparently tired when I read your post and between my eyes and my brain the message was lost. My bad.
|
ARMIES:
Necrons (5k)
Blood Angles (4k) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/15 04:07:35
Subject: Re:Crazy Necron shenanigans
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
In regards to the Last Laugh query, look in the SW codex. It says the models are removed as casualties. WBB only works if the model would normally be removed as a casualty, not the game. Same as to why we get WBB from that but not jaws. So sadly no, the lord couldn't WBB from the grandmaster force weapon and the warriors were done for after that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/15 04:34:41
Subject: Re:Crazy Necron shenanigans
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Kurgash wrote:In regards to the Last Laugh query, look in the SW codex. It says the models are removed as casualties. WBB only works if the model would normally be removed as a casualty, not the game. Same as to why we get WBB from that but not jaws. So sadly no, the lord couldn't WBB from the grandmaster force weapon and the warriors were done for after that.
Actually it says "removed from play as casualties", but yea I do believe you are correct just threw me off because of the removed from play in the description.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/15 04:45:01
Subject: Crazy Necron shenanigans
|
 |
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon
Tied and gagged in the back of your car
|
This wouldn't be the first (or last) time GW's done some horrible wording with their rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/15 16:27:12
Subject: Crazy Necron shenanigans
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Fafnir wrote:Kevin949 wrote:No, it just talks about that one ability "The Last Laugh". If that FAQ worked on everything then sweeping advance wouldn't work as that move "removes from play" as well.
Also, space wolves =/= DH or BA.
But it does set precedence.
Following the logic provided by the FAQ, the Grand Master would remove the Lord from play. The Warriors would not get their WBB rolls at all (which was my opponent's error), and then assuming the Necrons didn't phase out, the Lord would get his WBB roll (which was my error).
Azure wrote:There is no precedent set, the Lord only gets the WBB from the Last Laugh. The Force Weapon would have removed him entirely, and also removed the Rez. Orb, disallowing the Warriors to get WBB if hit by power weapons or something that denied their save in CC.
Kurgash wrote:In regards to the Last Laugh query, look in the SW codex. It says the models are removed as casualties. WBB only works if the model would normally be removed as a casualty, not the game. Same as to why we get WBB from that but not jaws. So sadly no, the lord couldn't WBB from the grandmaster force weapon and the warriors were done for after that.
And there is the clarification.
|
|
 |
 |
|