Switch Theme:

Crazy Necron shenanigans  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

So I was playing a game with a friend earlier today, my Blood Angels with Daemonhunter allies (I'll abuse the crap out of it with what little time I have left!) against a friend's Necrons. It was a team game, but the other two players are irrelevant to the issue.

Anyway, Necron player was on the verge of phase out. He had 12 warriors and a lord (with a res orb) left. I multi-assault the lord and the warriors with a unit of Grand Master and unit of 4 Grey Knight Terminators.

Grand Master goes at initiative 5, wounds the lord, and uses his force weapon to remove the lord from the game.
The Terminators then strike at initiative 4, killing 8 warriors.

At this point he's well below the phase out limit.

So does he phase out at the beginning of his turn since the Lord was still in the game at the beginning of the assault phase, or does he get to make his WBB rolls for the warriors using the benefits of the lord's res orb (because they were all hit with power weapons), even though the lord (and thus his res orb) was removed from the game before any of the warriors were actually wounded? After some deliberation, we just rolled off and let him make his WBB rolls (of which he passed every one... he rolled really damn well that game) to keep the game moving along.

Another situation that came up earlier during the game, if a lord is part of a unit that is assaulted, the unit is beaten in combat, the lord is killed off, and the unit is sweeped, does the lord get sweeped with the unit, even if he is already dead? Or does he get removed from the unit as soon as he's knocked over and get to make his WBB rolls?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/03/13 10:05:58


 
   
Made in fr
Wicked Warp Spider




A cave, deep in the Misty Mountains

For the first question, I think he get's his WBB roles. It's when the Necrons are taken off as casualties that the Phase Out rules comes into play.

As for the second question, I think the lord still gets his WBB rules.

Don't think of downed Necrons as dead, just think of them as on the floor. If they get back up, they were just knocked down, if they don't then they're broken.

Craftworld Eleuven 4500

LoneLictor on thread about an ork choking the Emperor:
 LoneLictor wrote:
I like to imagine the Emperor kills so many Orks that he ends up half buried beneath a pile of corpses, with only his head sticking out. A lone grot stumbles across him, and starts choking him.

Then Horus comes across the lone grot, somehow managing to kill the Emperor, and punts it into space.
 
   
Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

Lord Rogukiel wrote:For the first question, I think he get's his WBB roles. It's when the Necrons are taken off as casualties that the Phase Out rules comes into play.


This isn't the Lord. He was removed from the game by the Grand Master's force weapon power. Remember, this is the old Daemonhunter codex where their force weapons take the model off the table, not kill them. This is about the warriors that were in the same assault, who took their wounds after the warrior had been removed from the table.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/13 10:36:37


 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






As for whether the lord gets sweeping advanced if he's already "dead", thats been debated on here in the past, and I believe the consensus was that if he is in a unit that's swept (downed or not), then the lord is removed.

As for your first question, if the lord dies at a higher initative step than the warriors, then the warriors won't benefit from his orb, and will die outright to power weapons. Think of it like killing a sanguniary priest at a higher initative step, and then the unit losing FNP at a lower step.

Sucks for us crons, but them's the breaks.

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Have a look at the Necron FAQ, it covers your first situation explicitly - no WBB for models downed by power weapons / ID attacks AFTER the Res Orb Lord is knocked over.

The lord, and any other necron models, is still part of the unit when the Sweeping Advance occurs; SA states that NO SPECIAL RULE can save the unit (so, that'd be WBB then) *unless* it specifically states it can - which WBB does not.

This has been true since 4th edition, btw.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Can Grey Knight Terminators make a sweeping advance?

I did not think terminators were allowed to perform such a move.

Though I have not seen the Daemonhunter allies rules, is there something in there that lets them SA?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




The (old)DH codex states "may only consolidate" for terminator armor. But it's not clear from the OP whether it was terminators doing the sweeping advance or not.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Fafnir wrote:
Lord Rogukiel wrote:For the first question, I think he get's his WBB roles. It's when the Necrons are taken off as casualties that the Phase Out rules comes into play.


This isn't the Lord. He was removed from the game by the Grand Master's force weapon power. Remember, this is the old Daemonhunter codex where their force weapons take the model off the table, not kill them. This is about the warriors that were in the same assault, who took their wounds after the warrior had been removed from the table.



Just so you know all Necron get their WBB roles against removed from play, but as stated above he went down first so no one else does since those were PW kills.
   
Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

DeathReaper wrote:Can Grey Knight Terminators make a sweeping advance?

I did not think terminators were allowed to perform such a move.

Though I have not seen the Daemonhunter allies rules, is there something in there that lets them SA?


The Sanguinor made the sweeping advance, not the terminators.

Sol wrote:
Fafnir wrote:
Lord Rogukiel wrote:For the first question, I think he get's his WBB roles. It's when the Necrons are taken off as casualties that the Phase Out rules comes into play.


This isn't the Lord. He was removed from the game by the Grand Master's force weapon power. Remember, this is the old Daemonhunter codex where their force weapons take the model off the table, not kill them. This is about the warriors that were in the same assault, who took their wounds after the warrior had been removed from the table.



Just so you know all Necron get their WBB roles against removed from play, but as stated above he went down first so no one else does since those were PW kills.


Daemonhunter force weapons don't inflict any wounds on the model with their special rule, they just remove it from play. There's no WBB to make since the model wasn't actually 'killed,' just removed. WBB would work with the new force weapons, but Daemonhunters have those cool funky old ones still.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/13 21:29:49


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Well, your OP only says GK termies and grandmaster. Maybe if you had told us the Sanguinor was involved........................

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

I said another situation came up earlier in the game, I said I was playing Bblood Angels with allied Grey Knights. Not to mention that who made the sweeping advance move is largely unimportant. I only detailed that the Grey Knight terminators because their force weapons have different effects.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Gotcha. And to answer the question, IMO the Lord is swept along with the rest of the unit, as damaged models are still part of the unit.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Fafnir wrote:Daemonhunter force weapons don't inflict any wounds on the model with their special rule, they just remove it from play. There's no WBB to make since the model wasn't actually 'killed,' just removed. WBB would work with the new force weapons, but Daemonhunters have those cool funky old ones still.


Q. Are models with an ability to return to play (e.g. Necrons,
St. Celestine, etc) able to use their special rule even after
being removed from play by The Last Laugh? (p52)
A. Yes they can. It sounds odd but their special rule works
just fine.

You get WBB rolls against remove from play.
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Sol wrote:
Fafnir wrote:Daemonhunter force weapons don't inflict any wounds on the model with their special rule, they just remove it from play. There's no WBB to make since the model wasn't actually 'killed,' just removed. WBB would work with the new force weapons, but Daemonhunters have those cool funky old ones still.


Q. Are models with an ability to return to play (e.g. Necrons,
St. Celestine, etc) able to use their special rule even after
being removed from play by The Last Laugh? (p52)
A. Yes they can. It sounds odd but their special rule works
just fine.

You get WBB rolls against remove from play.


What source is this?

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





GW errata under Space Wolves.
   
Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

WBB does not return a model to play, as a model has to still be on the table to make its WBB roll.
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






He's right about the Last Laugh erratta actually. That sets a very interesting precedent.

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

So in my situation, does the unit of warriors still get to make their WBB rolls?

I understand that the lord does, but the warriors should be removed, correct?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/13 22:48:30


 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






In your initial scenario?

If yes, the warriors still wouldn't get WBB as the orb is gone by the time the inititive step when the power weapon blows are landed comes.

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

In the initial scenario, doesn't matter if the Lord gets WBB or not. If he goes down (even eligible for WBB) at Init 5 and they go down at Init 6, they do not get to use the Orb.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

I think you have that backwards don. If the warriors go down at the I6 stage, the lord is still there. If the lord goes down at the I5 stage, then anything that goes down at I4 through I1 does not get to benefit from the res orb.
Unless I have it screwed up?

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

The warriors went down to I4, not I6. Remember, as the first post detailed, the Sanguinor was not part of this conflict (he was actually killed by the Lord who resurrected after his unit got swept by the Sanguinor), the Grey Knight Terminators and the Grand Master are the only units in combat at this point.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/13 23:18:49


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The Lord could not have res'd, was the other point
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





A quick rule of thumb for Necrons and WBB and the ResOrb: The check for the ResOrb range is done when the model is damaged (killed). If the model is in range of the Orb, it can benefit from it's effect. The check for the WBB range is done at the beginning of the turn regardless of the status of the Orb; the Orb is not an issue during WBB rolls.

In the OP, once the Lord is removed (or damaged) in CC, all further models do not benefit from the Orb effect. Note: a Lord with an Orb will almost always get his his WBB roll.

The FAQ states all models in a swept unit are lost without any chance for WBB rolls, this includes any Lords attached are any models in the unit damaged prior to the unit being swept.

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Orlando, FL

TheGreatAvatar wrote:A quick rule of thumb for Necrons and WBB and the ResOrb: The check for the ResOrb range is done when the model is damaged (killed). If the model is in range of the Orb, it can benefit from it's effect. The check for the WBB range is done at the beginning of the turn regardless of the status of the Orb; the Orb is not an issue during WBB rolls.

In the OP, once the Lord is removed (or damaged) in CC, all further models do not benefit from the Orb effect. Note: a Lord with an Orb will almost always get his his WBB roll.

The FAQ states all models in a swept unit are lost without any chance for WBB rolls, this includes any Lords attached are any models in the unit damaged prior to the unit being swept.


This isn't correct. I believe if you check the necron FAQ it explicitely states that the check for a rez orb is done at the time a model is killed.

Thus, if a lord in a unit of warriors is killed, then at a later initiative level warriors are killed by a weapon preventing WBB, those warriors will not get their WBB roll. I'll look up the specifics in a few minutes.

EDIT:

Found it: (GW Necron Errata)
Q. When is the range of the resurrection orb
checked? At the time the Necron becomes
damaged or at the start of the turn when WBB is
rolled for?
A. Check range when a Necron becomes
damaged. If at least one (undamaged) model in
the unit is within 6" of a resurrection orb at that
point, leave the damaged Necron on the board.
Otherwise, immediately remove it from the table
as a casualty.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/14 06:39:09


ARMIES:
Necrons (5k)
Blood Angles (4k) 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:The Lord could not have res'd, was the other point



But he can because the Space Wolf errata/faq says anything with that type of special rule can use it even when removed from play. Unless you are trying to say there are different types of removed from play.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






No, it just talks about that one ability "The Last Laugh". If that FAQ worked on everything then sweeping advance wouldn't work as that move "removes from play" as well.

Also, space wolves =/= DH or BA.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/15 00:27:10


 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





PxDnNinja wrote:
TheGreatAvatar wrote:A quick rule of thumb for Necrons and WBB and the ResOrb: The check for the ResOrb range is done when the model is damaged (killed). If the model is in range of the Orb, it can benefit from it's effect. The check for the WBB range is done at the beginning of the turn regardless of the status of the Orb; the Orb is not an issue during WBB rolls.

In the OP, once the Lord is removed (or damaged) in CC, all further models do not benefit from the Orb effect. Note: a Lord with an Orb will almost always get his his WBB roll.

The FAQ states all models in a swept unit are lost without any chance for WBB rolls, this includes any Lords attached are any models in the unit damaged prior to the unit being swept.


This isn't correct. I believe if you check the necron FAQ it explicitely states that the check for a rez orb is done at the time a model is killed.

Thus, if a lord in a unit of warriors is killed, then at a later initiative level warriors are killed by a weapon preventing WBB, those warriors will not get their WBB roll. I'll look up the specifics in a few minutes.


That's exactly what I posted. What did I get wrong?

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

Kevin949 wrote:No, it just talks about that one ability "The Last Laugh". If that FAQ worked on everything then sweeping advance wouldn't work as that move "removes from play" as well.

Also, space wolves =/= DH or BA.


But it does set precedence.

Following the logic provided by the FAQ, the Grand Master would remove the Lord from play. The Warriors would not get their WBB rolls at all (which was my opponent's error), and then assuming the Necrons didn't phase out, the Lord would get his WBB roll (which was my error).
   
Made in us
Deranged Necron Destroyer





There is no precedent set, the Lord only gets the WBB from the Last Laugh. The Force Weapon would have removed him entirely, and also removed the Rez. Orb, disallowing the Warriors to get WBB if hit by power weapons or something that denied their save in CC.

Kilkrazy wrote:There's nothing like a good splutter of rage first thing in the morning to get you all revved up for the day.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: