Switch Theme:

Independent Characters and Turbo-boosting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Kommissar Kel wrote:Sure thing, boss:

BRB Page 21, "When are models in cover?": When any part of the target model's body (as defined on page 16) is obscured from the point of view of the firer, the target model is in cover.

BRB page 76, "Turbo boosters", 4th sentence: in the following enemy shooting phase, the bike benefits from a cover save of 3+ to represent the difficulty of hitting such fast moving targets.

Now clearly turbo-boosting bikes are never "In Cover" by definition, so Either you are saying that Turbo-boosting Provides no defensive benefit; or it works exactly as I detailed for you earlier.

Mann already explained to you how the KFF Grants a Cover save(still while not actually being In cover, again by definition).
While Both KFF and TB do work differently to standard cover they only change some aspects of the rules. Cover saves a model is in cover hence the name; in case of the orks its because the KFF gives it to them; in the case of TB its because the model is moving fast
First: the turbo-booster rule(which I quoted above) states the bike(unit type) gets the Cover save, not the unit.
While it does say the model gets the save it does also say the unit must have move 18". I think you'll find unless the unit is also a unit of bike they won't have moved 18"
Second: Joining a unit is not a Voluntary action, if you are an IC within 2" of a friendly unit, you join that unit.
If you don't have to do something it is voluntary. Must you join the unit? No; also note that the joining rule includes that IC must stay +2" if the IC does not intend to join a unit or cannot join a unit.


Must admit I missed the * so yes if he did manage to join he still wouldn't have save as he no longer has the rule . Doesn't matter how you look at it the IC is ether not getting that save or not joining a unit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: