blaktoof wrote:Yes but there is no cover save for vehicles there is a save for being obscured and in the case of this piece of war gear the FAQ states that models in the squad not within range are. Not obscured. They are obviously addressing the unit as a whole and do not include the majority squadron rule in the FAQ for a reason. What do you think it means that models not within 6" do not count as obscured even if in a squadron that is within range
You are correct that models not in range are not obscured, but Scott just presented you the section of the rulebook that explains how vehicles squadron cover is determined. If 1/2 the squadron is obscured, then the squadron,
as a unit, it subject to benefitting from cover saves.
edit: Also you should take note that the save granted as per the
BRB for being obscured is a 4+
cover save.