Switch Theme:

Use of Warp Spider jump generators in opponent's Assault Phase.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





The point to the FAQ was that you do not have to be in a position (i.e., within 6" of an enemy unit) to assault to be able to use it. It can be used instead of assaulting in any phase you are not engaged. The key is instead of assaulting, which can only happen in your assault phase.

Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You have two criteria, one from the FAQ and one from the codex.

The codex states "instead of assaulting"
The FAQ states "any assault phase...."

The FAQ does not contradict or override the codex, therefore the initial codex restriction is still in effect.

So no, OP, you may not assault in the opponents phase therefore you may not make a move instead of assaulting, no matter how many times you pretend only the FAQ counts
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





commissarkurn wrote:Okay...I don't intend to make everyone go ALLCAPSRAGE, but the ANSWER is the answer, not the question asked. "A: This move can be made in any Assault Phase during which the Warp Spiders are not assaulting (which obviously means my Assault Phase) or fighting in an assault (which means any Assault Phase, mine or otherwise)."


The context of the answer is relevant to the question and only the question, applying it in general is taking the answer out of context. The question, paraphrased, is can the Warp Spiders make their extra move if they are not within assault range of an enemy unit. The implication of the question is a unit can only assault if it's in assault range of an enemy unit thus if the Spiders are NOT within assault range there is no assault to give up thefefor the Spiders cannot make the extra move. The answer to the question, paraphrased, is the Spiders can make their extra move in their Assault phase if they do not assault or are not already engaged in an assault; they do not have to be within assault range of an enemy unit in order to make an extra move.

*ninja'd by Homer*

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/06 18:25:00


If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer





Colorado

Hopefully the op will come back and read all this other info. Its pretty much the same message i was trying to convey, just a more in depth explanation.

2012 Record to date

5k hive fleet kraken W: 13 D: 0 L: 2
7k Iron Falcons W:7 D: 0 L1
4.5k Grey Knights W: 3 D: 0 L: 0
3.5k Orks W: 0 D: 0 L: 0
3k W: 0 D: 0 L: 0  
   
Made in de
Swift Swooping Hawk






I think it is pretty clear and well argumented. I'll phrase it, anyway, to support the opinions.

It says Warp Spiders may make an extra move ‘instead of assaulting’. Now, imho, assaulting is what you do with your own unit in your assault phase to initiate close combat with another unit.

The FAQ states: "This move can be made in any Assault Phase during which the Warp Spiders are not assaulting or fighting in an assault". Imho this is done to clarify that you cannot do this when you are locked in close combat (you cannot assault while being locked in cc) and you cannot do this when you are actually assaulting to initiate cc with another unit.

The OP's question is therefore easily answered: you cannot do anything out of your own turn since you have no assault possibility which you have to give up ("instead of assaulting").

My armies:
Eldar
Necron
Chaos Space Marines
Grey Knights
Imperial Knights
Death Guard
 
   
Made in us
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator







It seems the OP already made up his mind and has taken his ball and went home.

40K RTT W/D/L 63/3/29
1 overall, 12 Best Sportsman, 3 Best Army, 5 Best Painting,1 Best Black Templars.
WFB RTT 0/0/6
1 Best Sportsman,1 Best Army 
   
Made in us
Imperial Guard Landspeeder Pilot




On moon miranda.

KGatch113 wrote:

It seems the OP already made up his mind and has taken his ball and went home.
Pretty much. He came in, asked the question, answered his own question with the most favorable interpretation, and went off with it.

IRON WITHIN, IRON WITHOUT.

New Heavy Gear Log! Also...Grey Knights!
The correct pronunciation is Imperial Guard and Stormtroopers, "Astra Militarum" and "Tempestus Scions" are something you'll find at Hogwarts.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

That's what TO are for at tournaments, to squash people that don't observe the obvious.

That is also what the metal dread in a sock is for at a FLGS.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer





Colorado

metal dread in a sock? ouch! observe the obvious or it becomes painfully obvious!

2012 Record to date

5k hive fleet kraken W: 13 D: 0 L: 2
7k Iron Falcons W:7 D: 0 L1
4.5k Grey Knights W: 3 D: 0 L: 0
3.5k Orks W: 0 D: 0 L: 0
3k W: 0 D: 0 L: 0  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: