Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 01:10:11
Subject: Jaws of the worldwolf and Canoptek Spyders
|
 |
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet
|
I've only ever used it once, and sniped 2 useless Guardsmen
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 01:32:22
Subject: Jaws of the worldwolf and Canoptek Spyders
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
i think the key word here is "attempts", by any reasoning (either before or after the psy test is done) if you hit a model you are "attempting" to target it, as per the FAQ, so gloom would take affect
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 08:04:43
Subject: Jaws of the worldwolf and Canoptek Spyders
|
 |
Rifleman Grey Knight Venerable Dreadnought
Realm of Hobby
|
Brother Ramses wrote:Sorry to burst your bubble Zombiejoe, but it doesn't work against JAWS.
The timing of the Gloom prism is as follows,
"Each time an enemy unit attempts to target the Canoptek Spyder, or a friendly unit within 3", with a psychic power, roll a D6 if the Psychic test is passed. On a 4+, the power is nullified and has no effect."
The problem with JAWS and the subsequent FAQ regarding targetting is that the target model is not determined until after the Psychic test has already been passed, after the line has already been drawn, and after the first model to be affected by the power has been determined.
As opposed to a power like Living Lightning where you declare a target, check LoS, and then attempt a psychic test at which time the Canoptek Spyder can use the Gloom prism.
This is muddied even further by the fact that JAWS targetting FAQ is based on a target model, not a unit.
Because of what I think as at the minimum, a badly worded rule for an entire army of crappy initiative models, I would allow the 4+ roll from Gloom prism for the FAQ targetted model. However, I would not allow it for any other model that the line touched because, they were not targeted as the requirement for the Gloom prism to work.
+1
|
 MikZor wrote:
We can't help that american D&D is pretty much daily life for us (Aussies)
Walking to shops, "i'll take a short cut through this bush", random encounter! Lizard with no legs.....
I kid  Since i avoid bushlands that is
But we're not that bad... are we?  |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 09:25:05
Subject: Jaws of the worldwolf and Canoptek Spyders
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Avatar - you're +1'iong an incorrect argument, as has been shown.
You have attempted to target, so you get a gloom prism roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 10:02:07
Subject: Jaws of the worldwolf and Canoptek Spyders
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
Central Valley, CA
|
yakface wrote:
Agreed, there is no conflict with the Gloom Prism nullifying Jaws, provided the 'target' (the first model hit) is a unit within 3" of the Spyder with the Gloom Prism.
This is exactly how saving throws work. If you pass them, the wound/damage is ignored. Just because that's the case doesn't mean that the saving throw can't be used because a successful save would mean a space-time paradox in which there was never a wound to start with...
This is not an issue, IMHO.
If you want a real issue, then look at the Grey Knight's 'Aegis' special rule which requires a target to be identified BEFORE taking the psychic test, which isn't actually possible the way the rules are written (you have to pass a psychic test in order to USE a power, which means you don't choose a target for any power until after taking the psychic test).
Agreed!
|
2500+ Pts.
1000 Pts. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 11:10:09
Subject: Jaws of the worldwolf and Canoptek Spyders
|
 |
Rifleman Grey Knight Venerable Dreadnought
Realm of Hobby
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Avatar - you're +1'iong an incorrect argument, as has been shown.
You have attempted to target, so you get a gloom prism roll.
Opps! So I did...
wrong quotation...
|
 MikZor wrote:
We can't help that american D&D is pretty much daily life for us (Aussies)
Walking to shops, "i'll take a short cut through this bush", random encounter! Lizard with no legs.....
I kid  Since i avoid bushlands that is
But we're not that bad... are we?  |
|
 |
 |
|