Switch Theme:

Chronometron and the Stormlord  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Jaws and BL never needed to roll to hit the faq was just to silence all the haters
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

"The haters" were looking at similar powers and weapons to try and determine whether or not a "To Hit" roll was required.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




bagtagger wrote:Jaws and BL never needed to roll to hit the faq was just to silence all the haters


Or, and here's the more likely explanation: you dont know what youre talking about.

Both required a roll to hit, according to the rules. GW changed the rules - like they did with Lash.
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





I understand the Jaws & Blood Lance bit. Both those weapons are 'templates', in that they just draw a line and hit everything on that hair-thin line. But lash... I'm dumbfounded there. I wasn't aware that rolling to hit was ever even debated.

As for Imotekh... what benefit is there to keep him in reserve, as opposed to just keeping him behind cover and out of LOS?
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

azazel the cat wrote:As for Imotekh... what benefit is there to keep him in reserve, as opposed to just keeping him behind cover and out of LOS?
That is up to the player to decide. What may be generally more beneficial does not mean it is the only option.

Before he could stay in Reserves until Turn 5 or die Turn 1and your army could still get to roll for the Storm every turn. Now that the Storm roll is associated with him, does the FAQ mean he has to be on the Table at least by Turn 2 (I have NO idea how the timing on Reserves and rolling for the Storm work 'at the start of the turn' if he is coming from Reserves) and stay alive in order to utilise this ability? Or does this just mean that he has to be on the table in a unit with the chronometron Cryptek to get the re-roll?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/18 02:42:48


I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: