Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 01:13:22
Subject: Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
They do move onto the table. They move 1" onto the table. Then, you check if the models are all the way on, and Ghaz is not, and as such is destroyed.
|
- 3000
- 145 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 01:52:44
Subject: Re:Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Perth Australia
|
Deleted - sorry read it wrong
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/23 01:55:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 01:54:26
Subject: Re:Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
Stooge wrote:Q: What happens when a unit that moves a random
distance enters or moves through difficult terrain? (p14)
A: Unless stated otherwise they are not slowed down
and will move the full distance rolled. However they
must still take Dangerous Terrain tests as normal.
from the FAQ
Correct, but that doesn't really have any specific bearing on the discussion. Trip 1's on Ghaz moving in from reserves still destroys the unit.
|
- 3000
- 145 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 01:55:55
Subject: Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Perth Australia
|
Hey Shrike, just read it properly. My bad!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 02:15:29
Subject: Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
No problem, I do that all the time.
|
- 3000
- 145 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 02:39:30
Subject: < Taken by the void dragon. >
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
< Taken by the void dragon. >
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/15 00:28:50
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 03:09:09
Subject: Re:Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Shrike325 wrote:Stooge wrote:Q: What happens when a unit that moves a random
distance enters or moves through difficult terrain? (p14)
A: Unless stated otherwise they are not slowed down
and will move the full distance rolled. However they
must still take Dangerous Terrain tests as normal.
from the FAQ
Correct, but that doesn't really have any specific bearing on the discussion. Trip 1's on Ghaz moving in from reserves still destroys the unit.
I think the argument is that S&P models always move on 6" because of the rule that discards rules should they prevent movement.
This I think disproves that argument.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 09:29:55
Subject: Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
Scrap Thrall
Higher up the tables than you!!!!!!!!!!!!
|
Jidmah wrote:You can, though the entire unit will be destroyed if you roll tripple ones for their move, as Ghazghkull wouldn't be able to fully move onto the table by moving 1".
Where is this rule in the rule book?
|
Ghostfacekillah has it right, the DoW deployment allows you to deploy 1HQ unit and 2 troop units. A squad of boys is 1 unit, the transport is a second unit, for them to count as a single unit the transport would have to maintain coherency with a squad and be restricted to firing at the same target as the boys, that and it would be impossible for the transport to embark upon itself so the universe would implode if your boys squad attempted to embark. -TheAvengingKnee
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 11:47:28
Subject: Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
BRB FAQ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 14:36:40
Subject: Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
Scrap Thrall
Higher up the tables than you!!!!!!!!!!!!
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:BRB FAQ
If thats the case the same would be said for obliterators which is pretty nasty.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/23 14:37:06
Ghostfacekillah has it right, the DoW deployment allows you to deploy 1HQ unit and 2 troop units. A squad of boys is 1 unit, the transport is a second unit, for them to count as a single unit the transport would have to maintain coherency with a squad and be restricted to firing at the same target as the boys, that and it would be impossible for the transport to embark upon itself so the universe would implode if your boys squad attempted to embark. -TheAvengingKnee
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 14:46:11
Subject: Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
GhostfaceKillah wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:BRB FAQ
If thats the case the same would be said for obliterators which is pretty nasty.
But 100% true. Don't roll lots of 1s.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 14:51:03
Subject: Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
It comes up so rarely that it wouldn't bother me anyway.
Even i don't roll triple ones that often  , and express delivery Ghaz-a-grams are a good way to get him killed, albeit taking a very suprised unit or two with him.
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 16:10:04
Subject: Re:Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
Scrap Thrall
Higher up the tables than you!!!!!!!!!!!!
|
I still have never seen the rule saying a unit that cant enter the board is destroyed. What page is it on?
|
Ghostfacekillah has it right, the DoW deployment allows you to deploy 1HQ unit and 2 troop units. A squad of boys is 1 unit, the transport is a second unit, for them to count as a single unit the transport would have to maintain coherency with a squad and be restricted to firing at the same target as the boys, that and it would be impossible for the transport to embark upon itself so the universe would implode if your boys squad attempted to embark. -TheAvengingKnee
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/23 16:15:32
Subject: Re:Snikrot ambush and independent characters
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
GhostfaceKillah wrote:I still have never seen the rule saying a unit that cant enter the board is destroyed. What page is it on? BRB FAQ page 8 2nd question on the left wrote:Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is unable to completely move onto the board? (p94) A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/23 16:15:43
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|