Switch Theme:

Snikrot ambush and independent characters  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Squishy Oil Squig




Does the ambush rule allow you to attach a independent character in reserve and then appear behind the enemy? In the FAQ it says that a IC on a warbike can do this but can you do this with a weirdboy or Ghazghkull?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






As silly as it is, yeah Ghaz can ambush with snikrot per the FAQ.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You already could, as Snikrots rule extends to the unit which, as per p48 and 49 the IC is a normal member of.
THe FAQ for once doesnt change any rules

However I have *no* problems with anyone ever sticking ghaz in with snikrot - as you're not getting a turn 2 charge at least 50% of the time.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






You can, though the entire unit will be destroyed if you roll tripple ones for their move, as Ghazghkull wouldn't be able to fully move onto the table by moving 1".

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Jidmah, if a unit has a special rule that would prevent it from coming on the board, that rule is ignored when arriving from reserves.

So Ghaz has slow and purposeful, which is a special rule that could prevent him from coming on, thus he does not have slow and purposeful the turn he arrives from reserves.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




However if you move them through terrain, you're back to rolling 3D6 and this *isnt* a unit special rule.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






DevianID wrote:Jidmah, if a unit has a special rule that would prevent it from coming on the board, that rule is ignored when arriving from reserves.

So Ghaz has slow and purposeful, which is a special rule that could prevent him from coming on, thus he does not have slow and purposeful the turn he arrives from reserves.


Slow and purposeful does not prevent him from moving onto the board, moving through terrain and the resulting reduced movement speed does. Just like it would prevent a regular warboss from entering when he rolls tripple ones when trying to enter terrain the same turn he arrives.
Claiming that he "does not have" slow and purposeful while moving onto the board is nonsense. If that were true, S&P units would also lose relentless when arriving from reserves. Not relevant to orks, but to most slow and purposeful marine units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/20 12:39:53


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





My only question is how is he destroyed. What rule if you can find one.

3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





THE_GODLYNESS wrote:My only question is how is he destroyed. What rule if you can find one.

That if a model isn't 100% on the board, it's destroyed. iirc under the Reserves rules.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




THE_GODLYNESS wrote:My only question is how is he destroyed. What rule if you can find one.


Is the model entirely on the board? No. then that model is destroyed. BRB FAQ
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Jidmah wrote:

Slow and purposeful does not prevent him from moving onto the board, moving through terrain and the resulting reduced movement speed does. Just like it would prevent a regular warboss from entering when he rolls tripple ones when trying to enter terrain the same turn he arrives.
Claiming that he "does not have" slow and purposeful while moving onto the board is nonsense. If that were true, S&P units would also lose relentless when arriving from reserves. Not relevant to orks, but to most slow and purposeful marine units.


The rules do say that any special rule the unit has which would prevent them from coming onto the board is ignored, so I actually disagree; Ghazghkull (and any S&P unit, such as Obliterators) loses the rule for the Movement phase in which they enter the board, if they walk on from a table edge; but, since it says 'would', that ONLY happens after you've already rolled, and seen that they would actually fail to make it. Which, yes, might mean they also lose the Relentless aspect in that case, as it's part of the same rule.

However, if you come on through Difficult Terrain and botch your DT roll so badly that the unit can't get on the board, you're destroyed, because that's not a special rule of the unit.

EDIT: Edited to actually make sense.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/01/20 18:01:54


 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Yes snikrot and any boss have a larger than normal base size, and if the whole unit moves in 1 inch due to bad rolling (remember the whole unit has move through cover since an IC has it until he joins a unit that doesn't) then snikrot and any attached HQ's cannot move fully on the board and are destroyed. This was known but needed and FAQ to spell it out clearly to shut people up and stop vehicle abuse.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Right, but because Ghaz is not slow and purposeful when coming on from reserves, you only make a terrain test if you choose to move through terrain. At that point, I would say its your mistake for choosing to move through terrain from reserves, as you could kill yourself.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Wait, I'm confused, why is Ghaz not Slow & Purposeful when coming in from Reserves? More specifically, where is this rule found?

Edit. Nevermind. I found it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/21 04:21:25


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

DevianID wrote:Right, but because Ghaz is not slow and purposeful when coming on from reserves, you only make a terrain test if you choose to move through terrain. At that point, I would say its your mistake for choosing to move through terrain from reserves, as you could kill yourself.


Actually Ghaz IS slow and purposeful due to having Mega Armor. So no matter what, he is rolling 3D6 for movement.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/21 04:30:08


::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Pg 94, Arriving from reserves, 2nd paragraph.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

Happyjew wrote:Pg 94, Arriving from reserves, 2nd paragraph.


What part of that applies to Ghaz? What special rule tells him to move in a specific direction? Also, what special rule does he have that could stop him from moving?

If I've been gimping myself, I would like to know what part I understood wrong

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/01/21 04:39:13


::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





He doesn't have S&P for the turn he enters the board - which means he just moves 6" on. That's been mentioned a few times in this thread.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

rigeld2 wrote:He doesn't have S&P for the turn he enters the board - which means he just moves 6" on. That's been mentioned a few times in this thread.


You didn't answer my question. What removes his S&P when he enters the board?

The only rule that someone pointed out was arriving from reserves. But this says nothing about ignoring his S&P.

The exact wording is "If a unit has a special rule forcing it to move in a specific direction (such as 'rage', for example) or that could stop it from moving, the rule is ignored in the phase it arrives from reserve."

S&P doesn't force you to move in a direction, nor could it stop you from moving.

So I assume since S&P can't fulfill the above criteria you still have to roll for S&P when moving on to the board.

If you roll 3 1's you still move 1". Which leaves you with a portion of your base off the board.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/01/21 06:11:51


::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I hadn't read the rule yet, so I was going off of what was posted. You're right - he won't lose S&P. Instead, he'll just die.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The paragraph right above it reads
"When a reserve unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player's own table edge"

The way I read it, there was a special rule that stopped it from moving onto the table edge, which is required from the arriving from reserves rule. You can not move off the table, just like you can not move onto or through enemy models or impassible terrain, so the model would not move in that situation, right? And if there is a special rule that could stop it from moving (because there is no valid move available to it) it is ignored. Slow and purposeful is a defined special rule.
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

DevianID wrote:The paragraph right above it reads
"When a reserve unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player's own table edge"

The way I read it, there was a special rule that stopped it from moving onto the table edge, which is required from the arriving from reserves rule. You can not move off the table, just like you can not move onto or through enemy models or impassible terrain, so the model would not move in that situation, right? And if there is a special rule that could stop it from moving (because there is no valid move available to it) it is ignored. Slow and purposeful is a defined special rule.


No. Nothing stops it from moving. You still roll 3D6 and take the highest. If you roll 3 1's, you still move 1" on to the board.

::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





DevianID wrote:The paragraph right above it reads
"When a reserve unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player's own table edge"

The way I read it, there was a special rule that stopped it from moving onto the table edge, which is required from the arriving from reserves rule. You can not move off the table, just like you can not move onto or through enemy models or impassible terrain, so the model would not move in that situation, right? And if there is a special rule that could stop it from moving (because there is no valid move available to it) it is ignored. Slow and purposeful is a defined special rule.

There's a difference between stopping it from moving, and stopping it from moving far enough. S&P falls into the latter.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






My point is that you cant move so that a model is half on the board. If you are surrounded on all sides by impassible terrain, you cant move right?
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/15 00:29:09


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

And per the BRB, the reserve rules, the turn they arrive you ignore any special rule which restricts a unit's movement in such a way that it could prevent them from moving onto the table.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Mannahnin wrote:And per the BRB, the reserve rules, the turn they arrive you ignore any special rule which restricts a unit's movement in such a way that it could prevent them from moving onto the table.


No, you ignore rules that would dictate direction or could stop them moving at all. Nothing in the rules indicate you can ignore special rules that restrict how far you can move unless that rule could completely stop them moving.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

..which invites the question, does preventing them from moving far enough to enter the table count as stopping them from moving?

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Mannahnin wrote:..which invites the question, does preventing them from moving far enough to enter the table count as stopping them from moving?


No.

They are not being stopped from moving, they are just not moving far enough. 0" of movement =/= 1" movement.

- 3000
- 145 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

But does not being able to move onto the table = 0" of movement? The models don't get to move onto the table.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: