Switch Theme:

Clarification ref dispelling remains in play spells.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Crazed Savage Orc



Saginaw, MI

I'm not ignoring the statement and I'm not arguing something different.

The orignal arguement, was under the impression that you "must" roll for saves.. If you must roll for save, then dismissing him would be at the same time as the save rolls. So pg 10 seq. Since you "can" roll for saves, there is no seq issue. This already stated in my above post. If you look over the thread you will see I have not changed my agruement. I have responded to your posts with the rule against your post.

Now your ignoring that if you dismiss after the roll to wound, you give up CR.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/30 16:18:37


   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"If you must roll for save, then dismissing him would be at the same time as the save rolls. So pg 10 seq."

WRONG. Seriously. This is NOT based ANYWHERE in ANY rules. NONE at all. I can end at *any* time - and I choose that to be before rolling for saves. Find a rule that says I cannot do so.

THIS is what you ignored previously, and went and argued something differently. You now repeated it without any single scrap of evidence from the rules that you are right.

Finally: saving throws are NOT optional. Page 43. "Hand our opponent all the dice that scored succesful wounds - he then rolls these in an attempt to "save his models"

The main rule use of "may" is only saying that the save roll MAY cancel the wound, not that you "may" roll for the save - there is no element of choice here.

Even the rules on page 51 disagree with you here - "the enemy now rolls a D6 for each wound suffered"

It does not alter that, if I wish, I can end any RiP that isnt a vortex at ANY time I wish, and Page 10 has NOTHING to say about it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/30 18:50:45


 
   
Made in us
Crazed Savage Orc



Saginaw, MI

Bottom line, If you dismiss the hero after the to Wounds. Those wounds would be counted in the CR.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Bottom Line, I can dismiss any RiP* at anytime, regardless of your rule-lacking opinion to the contrary

*non vortex

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/30 18:56:43


 
   
Made in us
Crazed Savage Orc



Saginaw, MI

I am not disputing that you can't dismiss a RiP at anytime.

I am conceding on the timing issue. I do think there is one, but conceding the issue, there is no timing issue.

You still giving up CR if the To Wounds, wounds.


   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So you dismiss before the opponent rolls to-wound. The attacks are still wasted, which is the main reason for using this "tactic"
   
Made in us
Crazed Savage Orc



Saginaw, MI

Yes, the way its read.. I don't agree with it but thats way its worded.

That not what you stated tho in your original statement.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/30 19:48:08


   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

CR only counts unsaved wounds, if you never get to the saving part then no wounds have failed saves.

Does that even make sense?...


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Crazed Savage Orc



Saginaw, MI

To wounds is the wounding. The To Save is trying to cancel the wounds. The CR doesnt say, unsaved wounds, its says wounds. The Save step just cancels some wounds.

   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Hardly a point worth arguing WoC don't loose combat anyway.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: