Nungunz wrote:SlaveToDorkness wrote:No. If it were 12 wounds the IC would have to make a second save (since there are 6 models in your example unit.
That is not correct. The unit and the
IC are considered separate units when blows are struck in close-combat. Wounds dealt to the unit cannot be allocated to the
IC and wounds dealt to the
IC cannot be allocated to the unit (only applies to close combat)
If the unit suffered 12 wounds in
CC, then the unit must roll 12 saves (provided they aren't complex of course). Say they fail 7 saves. All 5 models in the unit die. The 2 leftover failed wounds are wasted and do not go over to the
IC.
Conversely if the
IC took 12 wounds in
cc and then failed 7 saves the left over 4 unsaved wounds are wasted and do not go over to the unit.
If you want to hurt something in close combat you
must specifically target the unit (be it an
IC or a squad or both) with attacks.
Yes, thank you I know the basic rules for the game. I was replying to this statement that I quoted:
Would it be any different if it was 7 or 8 wounds?