Switch Theme:

Wound Allocation in CC/shooting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Servoarm Flailing Magos





IC with 3 wounds has joined a squad of 5 single wound models.
The squad take 6 wounds from shooting, so all the members take a single wound with one left over, does it have to be allocated to the IC since he has multiple wounds? Would it be any different if it was 7 or 8 wounds?
Is it any different for CC wounds?

Ever thought 40k would be a lot better with bears?
Codex: Bears.
NOW WITH MR BIGGLES AND HIS AMAZING FLYING CONTRAPTION 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




See this posting just a little farther down the page from yours:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/426263.page
   
Made in gb
Servoarm Flailing Magos





I still don't understand.
So I can allocate two wounds to a one-wound model while leaving a multi-wound model with a single wound?

Ever thought 40k would be a lot better with bears?
Codex: Bears.
NOW WITH MR BIGGLES AND HIS AMAZING FLYING CONTRAPTION 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Joey wrote:IC with 3 wounds has joined a squad of 5 single wound models.
The squad take 6 wounds from shooting, so all the members take a single wound with one left over, does it have to be allocated to the IC since he has multiple wounds?

Depends on if shooting or CC. In shooting, yes, all models have to be allocated a wound (6 models taking 6 wounds equals one wound per model).

Would it be any different if it was 7 or 8 wounds?

Similar to above for shooting (I'll use the 8 wound as an example). 6 models taking 8 wounds equals 4 models with 1 wound and 2 models with 2 wounds. So you have two options:

1) 1 Wound on the IC and 7 wounds on the schmucks
2) 2 Wounds on the IC and 6 wounds on the schmucks

Then roll saves for each group.


Is it any different for CC wounds?


Much different. In CC, an IC must have attacks directed at him in order to be wounded as he is treated as a separate unit when blows are struck.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/29 03:22:26


 
   
Made in gb
Servoarm Flailing Magos





What about if he was part of a retinue? Like a Company Commander in his Command Squad?
The crux of my question was do EXCESS wounds, i.e. wounds that go beyond 1 per model, have to be placed on multiple wound models before you can place them on single-wound model.
So can you give a multi-wound model one wound and a single-wound model two wounds?

Ever thought 40k would be a lot better with bears?
Codex: Bears.
NOW WITH MR BIGGLES AND HIS AMAZING FLYING CONTRAPTION 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





FYI - that's not a retinue.

And yes, you can allocate multiple wounds per model to a single wound group before allocating to a multi-wound group.

Remember, you don't allocate to models until after you roll saves.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Yes. You have 5 models, and 6 wounds. Every model gets 1 wound, and then the extra goes wherever you want. Note, this is different if you have a group of multi-wound models. Then you HAVE to assign them as to take whole models off, unless they are equipped differently; such is the shenanigans that is Nob bikers

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

rigeld, you allocate wounds before you roll saves.
It's roll hits, roll wounds, allocate wounds, roll saves, remove models as necessary.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/29 17:07:25


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Joey wrote:So can you give a multi-wound model one wound and a single-wound model two wounds?


Yes you can.

E.G.

Space Marine Librarian (2 wounds) joins a Tactical squad (5 single wound models)

Say you take 7 wounds(X will be a wound) you can distribute like this:

Lib X
Sergeant X
1Tactical marine X
2Tactical marine X
3Tactical marine X
4Tactical marine X

now you have one wound left to allocate, so you put it on the sergeant.
Lib X
Sergeant X X
1Tactical marine X
2Tactical marine X
3Tactical marine X
4Tactical marine X

The Lib (2 wounds) only rolls one save If passed he is uninjured.
The Sgt rolls 2 saves He needs to pass both to live.
The Tac marines roll 4 saves and remove one model for each failed save.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Servoarm Flailing Magos





In keeping with other rules, that makes no sense whatsoever.
Thanks for the clarification, anyway.

Ever thought 40k would be a lot better with bears?
Codex: Bears.
NOW WITH MR BIGGLES AND HIS AMAZING FLYING CONTRAPTION 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Happyjew wrote:rigeld, you allocate wounds before you roll saves.
It's roll hits, roll wounds, allocate wounds, roll saves, remove models as necessary.


You allocate wounds to 'wound groups' (of identical models); then you roll saves; THEN, those actual unsaved wounds are applied to models WITHIN those wound groups. This is how the 'remove multi-wound models' rule works.

So if you have (in the OPs example) a 6-man unit of 5 identical one-wound models and one different 3-wound model, you have six models, in two wound groups.

If they take 6 wounds, the 5-man wound group gets 5, and the IC gets 1. Saves are rolled. The IC will take a maximum of one wound.

If they take 7 wounds, the 5-man wound group gets 5, the IC gets 1, then you get to pick which one takes the extra.

If they take 8 wounds, the 5-man wound group gets 5, the IC gets 1, then you get to pick whether the IC takes ONE of the extras, or not. The 5-man wound group takes either 6 or 7 of the 8.

Only if the unit suffers a grand total of 13 wounds can the IC be allocated 3, and if you wanted to, you could prevent him from having to take 3 until the 18th wound.

 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Joey wrote:In keeping with other rules, that makes no sense whatsoever.
Thanks for the clarification, anyway.


Main rules, page 39 under allocating wounds, if all the models are the same there's no problem, but if the models are not the same in gaming terms then the, "...wounds are allocated against the target unit by the controlling player, wxactly like the fire of a single enemy unit during the Shooting phase...".

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Joey wrote:In keeping with other rules, that makes no sense whatsoever.
Thanks for the clarification, anyway.

It makes perfect sense, because Wound Allocation doesn't care about how many wounds the model has, how tough they are, what armour they are wearing, or what flavour toothpaste they used.

All that matters for Wound Allocation is that the wounds are distributed evenly. So you distribute one to each model, and then you distribute a second to each model, and so on until there are not more wounds to allocate. The order that you distribute them is completely up to you.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Joey wrote:In keeping with other rules, that makes no sense whatsoever.
Thanks for the clarification, anyway.


the 40k rule set rarely 'makes sense'

but then again you are talking about 8 foot super soldiers wearing almost impervious armor killing green skinned orks and alien buglike lifeforms with space ships, chainsaws on a stick, hammers sheathed in energy fields and orbital bombardment, and people with psychic abilities that can teleport through the warp and meltaguns that can reduce the mightiest tanks to slag in a fraction of a second...

The world is pretty fantastical to say the least.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Especially since said 8-ft super soldiers are roughly the same size as an average human.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Happyjew wrote:Especially since said 8-ft super soldiers are roughly the same size as an average human.


Not if you look at the drawings of them they aren't

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I don't go off of drawings of super soldiers, I go off the models used to represent said super soldiers.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Happyjew wrote:I don't go off of drawings of super soldiers, I go off the models used to represent said super soldiers.


Don't, the models are horribly out of scale.

If you go by the models then maybe 5 marines can ride in a Rhino...

Go by the drawings in the Deathwatch book, they have better scale.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/29 22:51:01


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Well seeing as how we're talking about 40k not making any sense...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Happyjew wrote:rigeld, you allocate wounds before you roll saves.
It's roll hits, roll wounds, allocate wounds, roll saves, remove models as necessary.

You allocate wounds to wound groups, roll saves, remove models. You don't allocate to specific models.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I'm not seeing "allocate wounds to wound groups" anywhere. Is there a page number you can give me please? Everything I'm seeing specifies models, not wound groups.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

You effectively "allocate wounds to wound groups" since you allocate wounds to models which then collectively roll for wounds by wound group.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

My request still hasn't been answered. Where does it say you allocate to "Wound groups".
Page 25, left column, 4th paragraph under Complex Units, states that you allocate wounds to each model.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Sigh...


And then you roll each models saves individually? No.
If there's 5 models in the group, you allocate 5 wounds to that group, roll saves, remove models. You do not roll once for each model.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Happyjew wrote:My request still hasn't been answered. Where does it say you allocate to "Wound groups".
Page 25, left column, 4th paragraph under Complex Units, states that you allocate wounds to each model.


You allocate wounds to specific models and then roll saves in groups of identical models (IE "wound groups").

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/30 02:04:57


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I never said you roll saves for each model. I said you allocate wounds to each model. You're claiming you allocate wounds to wound groups.

rigeld2 wrote:Remember, you don't allocate to models until after you roll saves.

According to you, you don't allocate wounds until after rolling saves, So do you take all your armor saves on the majority armor? No.

BeRzErKeR wrote:So if you have (in the OPs example) a 6-man unit of 5 identical one-wound models and one different 3-wound model, you have six models, in two wound groups.


Using this example, if you allocate to "wound groups" then the 3-wound model group would have to have 3 wounds, and the identical 1-wound model group would have 3 wounds. Which is not how it works.

Nungunz, I never said anything about rolling saves. Except for 1 post, where I list the sequence of events (and I never said anything about individual models in that part of the post), I've been talking about just the wound allocation portion of the rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/30 02:31:37


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Happyjew wrote:

Using this example, if you allocate to "wound groups" then the 3-wound model group would have to have 3 wounds, and the identical 1-wound model group would have 3 wounds. Which is not how it works.

Nungunz, I never said anything about rolling saves. Except for 1 post, where I list the sequence of events (and I never said anything about individual models in that part of the post), I've been talking about just the wound allocation portion of the rules.


Incorrect; you misread the example.

My talking about allocating to wound groups is explaining how the rule has to work. If you literally allocated wounds to each model, then multi-wound, identical models would all have to roll their saves separately and track wounds separately; since that isn't how it works, you necessarily have to track wound groups for the whole length of the process. Make sense?

Wounds are allocated to wound groups on an X-to-Y basis, where X is the number of models in the larger group and Y is the number of models in the smaller. If you have a 3-man wound group and a 1-man wound group, then you still have to allocate four wounds (3 to the larger and 1 to the smaller) before you can allocate another to either. Wounds are still counted 'by model', as it were; you simply can't actually associate them with individual models within the wound groups yet, because of how multi-wound models works.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/30 02:56:51


 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Joey wrote:IC with 3 wounds has joined a squad of 5 single wound models.
The squad take 6 wounds from shooting, so all the members take a single wound with one left over, does it have to be allocated to the IC since he has multiple wounds?


No, extra wounds can be allocated to any member of the unit. Only if you take enough wounds for each model to be wounded twice would you have to allocate one to the IC, regardless of how many wounds the IC has. Wounds are allocated on a model basis not wound basis.

Would it be any different if it was 7 or 8 wounds?


No. If it were 12 wounds the IC would have to make a second save (since there are 6 models in your example unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/30 13:28:32


"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





It builds exactly like monopoly houses. Each model in the unit is a property, you must place one wound on a model before you can place a second wound on another.

THEN wound allocation groups take effect since you roll all like models wounds at once. What this means is if you have a marine, a sergeant, and a marine with a plasma gun, and they take 8 wounds, you must place 2 on each model, and then a third on 2 of them. Let's say for this example those go on the marine and sergeant, so you have 3 on the marine, 3 on the sergeant, and 2 on the plasma gun. This means you pick up 3 dice for the marine and roll them. Even if all 3 wounds go unsaved, you only remove the marine model, despite over killing it by 2 wounds. It also means that the marine or sergeant models must make 3 successful saves in order to survive.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/01/30 05:47:18


W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





SlaveToDorkness wrote:No. If it were 12 wounds the IC would have to make a second save (since there are 6 models in your example unit.


That is not correct. The unit and the IC are considered separate units when blows are struck in close-combat. Wounds dealt to the unit cannot be allocated to the IC and wounds dealt to the IC cannot be allocated to the unit (only applies to close combat)

If the unit suffered 12 wounds in CC, then the unit must roll 12 saves (provided they aren't complex of course). Say they fail 7 saves. All 5 models in the unit die. The 2 leftover failed wounds are wasted and do not go over to the IC.

Conversely if the IC took 12 wounds in cc and then failed 7 saves the left over 4 unsaved wounds are wasted and do not go over to the unit.

If you want to hurt something in close combat you must specifically target the unit (be it an IC or a squad or both) with attacks.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/30 05:11:29


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: