Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/31 15:01:54
Subject: New Necron Faq Veil question
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The real question...
If the center of mass of the ruler/hammer system is underneath the table, does the ruler count as being on the table?
The center of mass for the ruler is clearly off the table, and as such RAW would indicate that it is not ON the table. The center of mass for the hammer is likewise clearly off the table, and RAW would say that it's not ON the table.
Yet, RAI would indicate that since a portion of the ruler is indeed on the table and the ruler is not moving, then the ruler is indeed ON the table.
What effect does Newton's Third Law have on this?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/31 16:10:41
Subject: Re:New Necron Faq Veil question
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
foolishmortal wrote:A Unit with a Veil in normal reserves, if successfully rolled for (4+ on turn 2, etc) can walk on the board or deep strike instead. That is a special and odd case of the use of wargear before being on the board. It does not, however, grant the unit the deep strike ability at other times of the game.
I'd have to go along with this until some further FAQ "clarifications" can be had. The unit was granted permission to use their wargear instead of moving on the board from reserves as normal. At no point have they been granted Deep Strike, nor have they been placed in reserves to specifically deepstrike - something you normally have to declare when preparing reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/01 02:31:03
Subject: New Necron Faq Veil question
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
NYC
|
Anpu-adom wrote:The real question...
If the center of mass of the ruler/hammer system is underneath the table, does the ruler count as being on the table?
The center of mass for the ruler is clearly off the table, and as such RAW would indicate that it is not ON the table. The center of mass for the hammer is likewise clearly off the table, and RAW would say that it's not ON the table.
Yet, RAI would indicate that since a portion of the ruler is indeed on the table and the ruler is not moving, then the ruler is indeed ON the table.
What effect does Newton's Third Law have on this?
Newton's third law isn't cannon anymore. We use true line of gravity.
|
When Khorne gives you lemons, BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!!!
Tomb Spyder with Gloom Prism=Gloom Spyder
remember you heard it here first.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/01 02:32:43
Subject: New Necron Faq Veil question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I thought, we assign a number for pull of gravity based on elevation. That, or I'm remembering a past edition.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/01 03:32:32
Subject: New Necron Faq Veil question
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Happyjew wrote:I thought, we assign a number for pull of gravity based on elevation. That, or I'm remembering a past edition.
I saw this response in the little blurb you see when you mouseover a thread and I was like. . " WTF?!" Then I stumbled into this thread.
I've been had.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/01 03:53:58
Subject: New Necron Faq Veil question
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
The thread kind of went off-topic sideways, but in a good way
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
|