Switch Theme:

Feel no pain and Rage rules...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Maybe I should have worded it like this:

Would a Space Marine Terminator, that currently has a 2+ armor save, be able to take its save against the wound?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

The chart is worded as "armor save"

daemons have no armor save. So according to the chart, they would not get to take a FnP.

Entropic strike would similarly put a model in this category. Hence if we are claiming that those models cannot take a FnP, then none of the daemons should be able to either. No armor. no save. The chart is clear but I am not sure that is the intent.

Say a paladin gets his armor ripped off, he still gets a 5++ invul during the next round of combat. but according to the chart, the pally should then not be able to make a FnP. That the intent?

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

No, the chart asks if a model that has a 2+ armor save could take that save against the wound. applying ES or models with no armor save makes no difference.

the box referencing the armor save is not refrencing the model that took the wound in any way.

"Can a model with a 2+ armor save take their armor save against the wound"

Let me break that down for you:

"Can a model" (This means any not just the model that took the wound)

"with a 2+ armor save"(This means the aforementioned model has a 2+ armor save(Note we are not talking about the model that took the wound))

"take their armor save against the wound" (their armor save refers to the aforementioned 2+ armor save)

Does the breakdown clear it up?

If not maybe I should have worded it like this:
"Pretend that a Space Marine Terminator, that currently has a 2+ armor save, just took this wound instead of the model that actually took the wound, Would the Space Marine Terminator be able to take their armor save against the wound?"

Does this clear it up?

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2012/02/04 02:12:34


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

actually that did clear it up. thanks!

Another question came up though, say your str was enough enough to force instant death by double the toughness, but your model also has eternal warrior and you are immune. Do you still get to take the FnP?

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

EW only makes you "Immune to the effects of the Instant Death rule"(P.74 brb), that attack still caused ID, but the EW only lost one wound instead of all of them.

So as long as the attack inflicts ID, you consult the chart and can not roll for FNP.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/04 02:30:59


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
PanOceaniac Hacking Specialist Sergeant




Great Falls MT

DeathReaper wrote:No, the chart asks if a model that has a 2+ armor save could take that save against the wound. applying ES or models with no armor save makes no difference.

the box referencing the armor save is not refrencing the model that took the wound in any way.

"Can a model with a 2+ armor save take their armor save against the wound"

Let me break that down for you:

"Can a model" (This means any not just the model that took the wound)

"with a 2+ armor save"(This means the aforementioned model has a 2+ armor save(Note we are not talking about the model that took the wound))

"take their armor save against the wound" (their armor save refers to the aforementioned 2+ armor save)

Does the breakdown clear it up?

If not maybe I should have worded it like this:
"Pretend that a Space Marine Terminator, that currently has a 2+ armor save, just took this wound instead of the model that actually took the wound, Would the Space Marine Terminator be able to take their armor save against the wound?"

Does this clear it up?


Or maybe people could just look in the BRB for the stinkin list that states what negates FNP....
Its even simpler than saying could a model from ANY ARMY, that has a 2+ armor save still take the armour save against the wound.
Is the wound you are trying to FNP ap 1 or 2? If yes, no FNP for you *snatches FNP from hand*
Is the wound from some kind of power weapon, or special rule that denies ALL armor saves? If yes, no FNP for you *snatches FNP from hand*
Is the wound from a source that causes instant death for ANY reason? If yes, then no FNP for you *snatches FNP from hand*

Its really quite simple. As with all rules.... it doesnt help to, I dunno, READ them...

When your wife suggests roleplay as a result of your table top gaming... life just seems right

I took my wife thru the BRB for fantasy and 40k, the first thing she said was "AWESOME"... codex: Chaos Daemons Nurgle..... to all those who says God aint real....  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

thakabalpuphorsefishguy wrote:Its even simpler than saying could a model from ANY ARMY, that has a 2+ armor save still take the armour save against the wound.
"a model with a 2+ armor save" Means any given model that has a 2+ armor save.

I do not see how the flowchart is unclear.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: