Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/08 22:11:10
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
@sub-zero: Yes but make sure that your opponent does so before shooting.
Sometimes he will just land it down facing something else. Start shooting some stuff, then go back to Stormraven and start shooting all missles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/08 23:39:53
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Pivoting *at the end* of your movement does not cost you anything. You cannot pivot the vehicle if you start moving other units, or have moved on from the movement phase at all, because you would be re-moving the vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 00:45:50
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
leohart wrote:Back to the OP's original question: 2- Yes it can fire all weapons if it moves 6" so all 4 missles is fine. as long as the target is right in front of it. The missles are under the wings so if the target is just left or right of the hull, without pivoting only 2 of the missles can shoot.
That is not true. the rule only requires you to draw LoS along the barrel of the weapon to the target. Technically the missiles on the SR can never fire as they do not have a barrel. However that is silly. You Draw LoS from any of the missiles to the target, if you have LoS to the target all 4 missiles can fire from the one weapon "Barrel".
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/03/09 07:05:51
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 01:37:34
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
@DeathReaper: each weapon has to be able to draw line of sight to the target for that weapon to be able to shoot. The FAQ also says that you cannot shoot through your own hull.
Since each missle is a separate weapon, you have to be able to draw LOS to the target. That is why the right ones cannot shoot at target on the left side of the hull.
Hull-mounted weapons have 45 degree arcs, barrels or not.
For example, take a look at this image
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_A8bZUPrO8dk/TN0cqowvI-I/AAAAAAAAC8g/EP5rZSITKKo/s1600/storm%2Braven.jpg
Can you see the missles on the right wing? Nope. So if the target is within 45 degree arcs of the missles on the left, they can shoot (as long as the stormraven moved 6" or less).
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/03/09 01:40:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 06:03:07
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
It does not matter if the missiles are in 4 different places. In the Pic, the missiles can draw LoS in a 45degree arc, and as such all 4 missiles can be shot from the left wing. The fact is that you have to draw LoS from the missile to the target. This can be the same Missile, as you are allowed to draw LoS from the weapon without additional restrictions.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/03/09 06:04:23
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 06:10:14
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Dude, it is 4 different weapons. You don't draw line of sight from the left sponson and shoot your right sponson on your predator, do you?
If you say they are all 1 single weapon, then you cannot shoot 4 times since it is Heavy 1 or something like that.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/09 06:11:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 06:13:11
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Lascannons on a predator are a different situation, because a lascannon has a barrel. As I said, technically the missiles on the SR can never fire as they do not have a barrel. So we have to make the rules up to get them to be usable anyway.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/03/09 06:13:46
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 06:14:46
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Page number on barrel is required to fire please?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 06:19:33
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Read 'Vehicle Weapons and Line of Sight' P.58
"Trace the LOS from each weapons' mounting and along its barrel."
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 06:25:08
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Page 59, "Hull-mounted weapons can fire in a 45 arc from their mounting point".
Even with 45 degree vertical, you can't see from the left missiles to the target on the right side of your Stormraven anyway.
Oh well, why are we doing this? :-) This is not really what the OP asked and it is midnight. I am gonna go paint some stuff.
Thanks for the page reference DeathReaper. :-)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 09:45:10
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DR - stop claiming that you can draw LOS from one missile and fire all 4. You cannot. You must draw LOS from EACH weapon you wish to fire, to confirm it can shoot.
Each missile is a seperate, one shot weapon, as opposed to a manticore which has a single, 4 shot limit weapon
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 16:54:27
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
@nosferatu1001: Thank you sir. I was wondering what other people's opinions on this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 16:55:06
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
So you have to keep track of which "Missiles" have fired turn to turn?
That seems wrong, since you can not remove the weapons from their mounting.
if your SR is immobile and facing straight towards your opponents board edge, and the SR is on the far right side of the board, you can only ever shoot the two left missiles?
you can shoot from the left missile because the rules tell you to measure from the weapon, and the weapon does not physically go away once it is shot.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 16:56:35
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Weapons don't but the FAQ specifically say one-shot weapons become "Weapon Destroyed" once it is used.
You need to keep track of which missle you have shot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 17:00:29
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
leohart wrote:Weapons don't but the FAQ specifically say one-shot weapons become "Weapon Destroyed" once it is used.
You need to keep track of which missle you have shot.
That does not make any sense.
"Weapon Destroyed" just means you are not able to shoot that weapon anymore during the current game.
It does not mean the weapons mounting magically disappears physically from the model.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 17:07:50
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It still does not alter that you have FOUR weapons you can shoot, and EACH WEAPON has to be able to see before it can fire
Just because it is a missile doesnt mean you can ignore very, very clear rules because it is slightly inconvenient!
Your argument is akin to arguing that you should be able to shoot the right hand sponson of a pred immobilised in the same position as your SR example
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 17:10:37
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Right, so the first turn you shoot 2 of the missiles, drawing LoS from the left side of the SR.
The next turn you fire two missiles, drawing LoS from the left side of the SR.
since the weapons do not disappear from the model once shot, you should be able to draw LoS from any of the missiles.
This will hardly ever come up though.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 17:15:07
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
@DR: Nope, once the left ones are used, you have to use to right ones.
The left ones are already DESTROYED. You don't draw LOS from destroyed weapons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 17:20:46
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
2 Missiles are destroyed.
Not "The left ones are already DESTROYED."
only 2 of the 4 missiles.
The mountings are still there, so you can draw LoS from them.
This is a fairly unique situation, I can only think of a dreadnought with 2 HK missiles that is the same as the SR's one shot missiles.
You can draw LoS from any of the missiles, if you are firing one missile, because that is what the rules say to do
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 17:22:27
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Actually, the rule doesn't say so. If you have a dreadnought with 2 HK missles, you use one, you say which one, that one is gone. Rinse and repeat.
Even the modelling of the HK missles on the dreadnought are separate pieces.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 17:34:48
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, You say " I am firing the left hand most missile, which is one shot" and you shoot that missile. It is then destroyed. You cannot fire it again, meaing you cannot use it for your LOS
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 18:09:32
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
That does not gel with the rules, but play it how you like. leohart wrote:Actually, the rule doesn't say so. If you have a dreadnought with 2 HK missles, you use one, you say which one, that one is gone. Rinse and repeat. Even the modelling of the HK missles on the dreadnought are separate pieces.
Citation for the underlined please.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/09 18:10:24
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 18:47:11
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The part where you specify WHAT weapon you are firing with, as usual.
When firing a sponson do you not bother to say what sponson is firing? Where is your rules allowing you to not specify which weapon is firing just because its a missile?
Actual rules this time
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 19:15:41
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
you fire 1 mindstrike Missile, that is the weapon you declare you are firing (as per the rules of declaring weapons you are firing)
Then you check from any of the 4 Missile mountings, as they are all Phys Reps of "Mindstrike Missiles"
Find where it says that once you use one mounting for LoS you can not use that Phys rep again. You cant use one of the 4 Missiles, but that is not the same thing as measuring from the missile pod.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 19:29:50
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
One weapon - one physical representation.
I think what we are arguing is: what constitute ONE missile?
nosferatu and I believe that 1 missile is that 1 missile piece of plastic you can see there on the model.
I think you believe that 1 missile is some magical ammo lying somewhere that will be magically appearing on the side of the wing you want and go out from that missile pod.
In other words, you believe that both missile pod is the weapon. I believe the missile itself is the weapon.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/09 19:30:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 20:32:28
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
So if in a game a Land Raider gets a "Weapon Destroyed" result and your opponent chooses the left twin-linked lascannon you can decide to shoot that left lascannon even though it was specifically destroyed just because it has one on the right side as well?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/09 22:20:53
Subject: Re:A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Sorry, DeathReaper, you're wrong here.
Each missile is it's own, independent weapon. Each of those weapons can fire once, and each one needs to have LOS drawn from it, not from the others. Yes, this means you must keep track of which missiles have fired.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/10 00:32:52
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DR - the vehicle has 4 weapons, each of which has a weapon mounting.
They do not have 1 weapon represented by 4 mounts. Youre just wrong
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/10 00:37:13
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
So it takes 6? Weapon Destroyed before it upgrades to Immobilized?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/10 00:54:47
Subject: A few noobish questions for the veterans.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, as it has 4 missiles plus 2 weapons.
of course, as you fire each missile it is now "weapon destroyed" for that weapon, as per the faq
|
|
 |
 |
|