Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/17 22:58:08
Subject: Necron Monolith
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Kevin949 beating all challenges like a boss.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/17 23:56:32
Subject: Necron Monolith
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Kevin949 wrote:Luide wrote:I meant restrictions for choosing the unit to be the target of the power/ability.
But that's just it, the Summoning was FAQ'd to not allow it, sure, but there's no restriction anywhere about a falling back unit disembarking from a vehicle, and through the rules loopholes you could still easily get the 2d6 fall back move.
The Summoning power was probably FAQ'd to not be allowed because utilizing DS rules does count as movement.
Disembarking is also movement. And it's movement which isn't 2d6" toward the table edge, which is the only kind of movement a unit Falling Back is allowed to make.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/18 00:10:07
Subject: Necron Monolith
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kevin949 wrote:
But that's just it, the Summoning was FAQ'd to not allow it, sure, but there's no restriction anywhere about a falling back unit disembarking from a vehicle, and through the rules loopholes you could still easily get the 2d6 fall back move.
The Summoning power was probably FAQ'd to not be allowed because utilizing DS rules does count as movement.
I'm just saying, this is a very WAAC/TFG move but in my perspective there is no actual rules breaking, just some slight bending.
Disembarking is movement exactly the same way Deep Strike is movement. Both rules say that performing the action means the unit is not allowed to move any further, which clearly indicates that both Deep Striking and disembarking are movement. Further, GW's rulebook FAQ clarifies that disembarking is moving explaining that you need to take dangerous terrain tests when disembarking into dangerous terrain and why you aren't allowed to disembark on the other side of enemy models.
Furthermore, the important thing to consider about the Summoning FAQ ruling is that whatever reasoning you can come up with for why GW ruled that way about the summoning would be precisely the same thing for a Monolith teleporting a unit. Yes, the actual method of deployment of the transported unit is different, but what is the reason they are disallowed?
In both cases a separate unit is the one transporting the falling back unit and in both cases the falling back unit that gets moved counts as having moved after being transported.
So I'll say it again: The only logical reason that the Summoning isn't allowed to transport a falling back unit is because doing so prevents the unit from making its fall back move which it must do. The same exact thing applies to a falling back Necron unit being teleported through the Monolith.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/18 15:29:56
Subject: Necron Monolith
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
So I then revert to the previous statement of, what happens to an embarked unit on a vehicle that fails a morale test and must fall back? You move the vehicle first then they can't disembark because they can't do their 2d6 move? Game breaks? Allow them to disembark and do their 2d6 move regardless to how far the vehicle moved (as long as disembarking is allowed per the vehicle movement rules)? While this situation is very rare, it's still a possibility that it could come up in a game.
And do remember, I'm just playing devils advocate here.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/18 15:34:23
Subject: Necron Monolith
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
Kevin949 wrote:So I then revert to the previous statement of, what happens to an embarked unit on a vehicle that fails a morale test and must fall back? You move the vehicle first then they can't disembark because they can't do their 2d6 move? Game breaks? Allow them to disembark and do their 2d6 move regardless to how far the vehicle moved (as long as disembarking is allowed per the vehicle movement rules)? While this situation is very rare, it's still a possibility that it could come up in a game.
And do remember, I'm just playing devils advocate here.
The game breaks, See the pre F.A.Q. threads about Doom of Malantai and embarked units from just after the Tyranid codex released.
|
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/18 18:55:59
Subject: Necron Monolith
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Kevin949 wrote:So I then revert to the previous statement of, what happens to an embarked unit on a vehicle that fails a morale test and must fall back?.
Technically? Since they cannot make a legal Fall Back move they are destroyed. However, I don't know anyone who would actually enforce this (but I'm too lazy to look for the original thread).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/18 22:54:53
Subject: Necron Monolith
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kevin949 wrote:So I then revert to the previous statement of, what happens to an embarked unit on a vehicle that fails a morale test and must fall back? You move the vehicle first then they can't disembark because they can't do their 2d6 move? Game breaks? Allow them to disembark and do their 2d6 move regardless to how far the vehicle moved (as long as disembarking is allowed per the vehicle movement rules)? While this situation is very rare, it's still a possibility that it could come up in a game.
And do remember, I'm just playing devils advocate here.
The rules don't currently allow a falling back unit to disembark from a vehicle and don't specifically ever seem to indicate that the designers have ever considered that there are situations where embarked units might need to fall back.
This is why for the INAT we've basically just ruled that embarked units do not fall back, because that seems to be how the designer's intent (perhaps through ignorance) has been played out in the rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/24 07:16:45
Subject: Necron Monolith
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
What about the Necron Megalith, does that get to use the same rule?
|
|
 |
 |
|