Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 17:07:25
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
The issue with Anrakyr's ability isn't about shooting, it is LOS. Previous to 6th, GW FAQed that you did not have LOS from inside a vehicle so he couldn't use it. This FAQ is now gone so we await a new one to see if it is allowed in 6th.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 17:42:26
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
It is allowed, as now you can draw Los until faqd.
|
2K Daemons Fantasy
2.5K Ogres
3K Flesh Tearers
2K Necrons
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 17:55:06
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No, it is not allowed. There is no FAQ needed because there is no rule that allows you to draw line of sight from a vehicle (open-topped or not) for anything other than shooting and psychic powers and 'Mind in the Machine' is neither.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 18:00:20
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Sorry page 82 says I can fire AND draw Los.
|
2K Daemons Fantasy
2.5K Ogres
3K Flesh Tearers
2K Necrons
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 18:57:10
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
jspyd3rx wrote:Sorry page 82 says I can fire AND draw Los.
No, it says you're allowed to draw LOS for firing. You're not given permission to draw LOS for anything else. This has been pointed out to you multiple times,
And there's no need for FAQ either, though one might come out anyway. As many others have pointed out, nowhere in BRB you're given permission to draw LOS except for shooting and witchfires.
Note that even in 5e, that FAQ ruling was a rare one: It didn't actually change any rules, it just pointed out that so far, most people had misread rules and played wrong.
So in 6e, we know that we must have spefici permission to draw LOS from inside transport and unless one is given, like for shooting, one can't use any ability that requires LOS.
BRB page 82 wrote:Passengers shooting from Open-topped Transports
Open-topped Transports do not have specific Fire Points. Instead, all passengers in an Open-topped Transport can fire, measuring range and line of sight from any point on the hull of the vehicle.
There is no way someone can in good faith claim that this rule somehow gives permission to draw LOS for using special abilities from Open-topped vehicle.
Neither can anyone who reads the whole rule and has basic understanding of english grammar.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 19:28:33
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
At this point if jspyd3rx wants to continue arguing his point, we should hand him an english textbook and stop feeding the troll.
Back on topic however, i do believe this is an interesting predicament. The precedent was set in 5th that arakyr could not use his ability while embarked, so i don't see that changing just because its a new edition, especially if the currents rules do not allow for it.
I think its safe to say this debate is done now. Any objections?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 19:44:41
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Entirely done, as you have one person failing basic English sentence parsing, everyone else doing it correctly. There is NO permission to draw LOS from ANY vehicle for ANY purpose other than firing. so you may not do so.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 19:49:45
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Bananas! We will see when new FAQs roll out this month. I am dropping it now.
|
2K Daemons Fantasy
2.5K Ogres
3K Flesh Tearers
2K Necrons
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 19:52:23
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
So it means as well then, that Weaken Resolve CANNOT be used either?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 19:56:32
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Only if there is a Fire Point, as it requires LoS.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 19:57:33
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
jspyd3rx wrote:Bananas! We will see when new FAQs roll out this month. I am dropping it now.
Not bananas, literally the only way to read that sentence correctly
You do realise that your method of parsing it means you arent allowed to determine los, or measure range when firing - right? You are told you can fire, and under your inaccurate parsing are never told where to measure LOS or range from when firing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 19:57:54
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
But it isn't a shooting attack, it just says i gotta be able to draw LOS to a target and be within 36"
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 19:58:21
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Bloodhorror wrote:So it means as well then, that Weaken Resolve CANNOT be used either?
Psychic powers can be used while embarked, as long as there is a fire point for those that require LOS
This is only for non-psychic, non-shooting powers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 19:58:50
Subject: Anrakyr, Chariots, and 6th.
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Ah right okay then
Thanks Nos ^^!
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
|