Switch Theme:

Vehicles Do Not Grant First Blood.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





yakface wrote:
Only models get removed as casualties by the RAW, units do not.

So by the 'RAW', First Blood is meaningless and never occurs.

Not true.
Sweeping Advance specifies that the unit is destroyed and RFPaaC.
The destroyed unit is immediately removed as casualties

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

yakface wrote:
Only models get removed as casualties by the RAW, units do not.

So by the 'RAW', First Blood is meaningless and never occurs.

What about single model units? (Mephiston)


Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





pretre wrote:
yakface wrote:
Only models get removed as casualties by the RAW, units do not.

So by the 'RAW', First Blood is meaningless and never occurs.

What about single model units? (Mephiston)

Model would be RFPaaC and the unit therefore is not in play anymore.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






pretre wrote:
The Purge The Alien bit makes me fall more in the RAI on this one though. It is unlikely that PtA only means that vehicle, sweeping advances, mishaps and units falling back at the end of the game or off table count.


But it's likely that first blood doesnt count for vehicles?

im assuming no one would try this in game. Anything killed counts for first blood and anything killed counts for kill points (or Purge the Alien.) if anyone tried that, Id stick my metal flyrant where the sun doesnt shine.


 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

jifel wrote:
pretre wrote:
The Purge The Alien bit makes me fall more in the RAI on this one though. It is unlikely that PtA only means that vehicle, sweeping advances, mishaps and units falling back at the end of the game or off table count.


But it's likely that first blood doesnt count for vehicles?

im assuming no one would try this in game. Anything killed counts for first blood and anything killed counts for kill points (or Purge the Alien.) if anyone tried that, Id stick my metal flyrant where the sun doesnt shine.

Umm. Reading comprehension?

I said that the PtA bit makes me fall moer in the RAI bit for First Blood. That means I believe that it was intended to work for all destroyed or removed as casualty units, just like Purge the Alien. Also, way to be an ITG.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




jifel wrote:
pretre wrote:
The Purge The Alien bit makes me fall more in the RAI on this one though. It is unlikely that PtA only means that vehicle, sweeping advances, mishaps and units falling back at the end of the game or off table count.


But it's likely that first blood doesnt count for vehicles?

im assuming no one would try this in game. Anything killed counts for first blood and anything killed counts for kill points (or Purge the Alien.) if anyone tried that, Id stick my metal flyrant where the sun doesnt shine.


Likely ? Well anything is possible with GW, however given that its "First Blood" and "any unit", I think that they mean even vehicles, despite adding "as a casualty". Its the same as they interchange "destroy" with "removed as a casualty."
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Fragile wrote: Its the same as they interchange "destroy" with "removed as a casualty."

I believe that this is the intent. PtA along with yakface's comment show that all victory point scoring breaks down to an unworkable mess unless you make these interchangeable.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in gb
Gangly Grot Rebel





Well you get kill points in purge the alien so why not for first blood?

I can see it now....Nids are now a collection of autonomous hive fleets there are multiple Hive Minds and they all war with one another in addition to everyone else. They speak to humans using telepathy, and they can now ally with Space Wolves as battle brothers, because reasons.
Tyranids talking to humans would be like you talking to your mashed potatoes or the probiotic in your kiefer drink. It is neither possible nor productive.
Inside my mind I pinched my nipples and savored his bitter silence.

DT:90S+++G+++MB++IPw40k10#+D++A+++/hWD-R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Tod wrote:Well you get kill points in purge the alien so why not for first blood?

One, kill points don't exist in 6th edition.
Two, Purge the Alien has different language and uses 'Destroy'.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader





Massachusetts

jmurph wrote:Technically true, but history can give some idea how GW may swing. For example, strictly literal readings that produce an odd result tend to get FAQed/Errata. Additionally, I contend that strict reading of GW rules is a waste of time as they were never written with that degree of specificity or clarity. It reflects a fundamentally different mindset than the GW writers seems to have. Strict semantics and pedantry seem to consistently fall. See also The Most Important Rule.


Yes sir. +1 to this. Strictly literal readings that produce an odd result tend to get FAQed. Strict reading of GW rules is a waste of time as they were never written with that degree of specificity or clarity.

I'm not sure which game is more fun ; Warhammer 40K or trying to find the most broken RAW arguments in the book.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/13 20:37:26


2500 pts

Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.



 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Grugknuckle wrote:I'm not sure which game is more fun ; Warhammer 40K or trying to find the most broken RAW arguments in the book.
Bah! Don't limit yourself; the first is for the table, the second is for the internet!


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader





Massachusetts

kirsanth wrote:
Grugknuckle wrote:I'm not sure which game is more fun ; Warhammer 40K or trying to find the most broken RAW arguments in the book.
Bah! Don't limit yourself; the first is for the table, the second is for the internet!




2500 pts

Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.



 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





next to a stop sign

sfshilo wrote:Give me a break....of course it counts torwards first blood.


But why ? units of any kind that could be removed as casualties include the likes of infantry, bikes, jump infantry, beasts / cav, and monstrous creatures etc.

"...you don't run internet lists, except for when you make a list and it becomes an internet list..." 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




We just discussed that Toxic
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





next to a stop sign

Not to mention that wrecked vehicles do not get removed...

"...you don't run internet lists, except for when you make a list and it becomes an internet list..." 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend






The sink.

Pffft ... as if GW is even consistent with their language. This thread is silly.
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





Mountain View, CA

Similiar to moving inside the same level of a GW ruin and having to roll a D6 assuming there is battle debris all over the floors - I think that vehicles are assumed to be manned with a crew (driver at a minimum). Hence the wreck or explosion of one would be first blood.


Armies I field - Tau, Dark Angels, Necrons, Blood Angels  
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




The way we've been playing it is that if its a dedicated transport, you get First Blood when the unit inside it is dead, so if you wreck the tank 1st but the unit that it came with isn't dead yet, the point remains open, but if the unit that it came with dies and the tank remains the point is given.

If it was a Vindicator, or similar kind of non transporting vehicle, the point is given when its no longer a viable unit. Destroyed, etc.

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Noisy_Marine wrote:Pffft ... as if GW is even consistent with their language. This thread is silly.

Language is subjective. If you'd rather have a ruleset made by machines, go ahead.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

yakface wrote:Only models get removed as casualties by the RAW, units do not.

So by the 'RAW', First Blood is meaningless and never occurs.


This. If you play "RAW", only a single-model, non-vehicle unit can ever give up First Blood. I think this conclusion is silly. I don't expect to ever see it played other than "any destroyed unit" counts.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

SkyD wrote:The way we've been playing it is that if its a dedicated transport, you get First Blood when the unit inside it is dead, so if you wreck the tank 1st but the unit that it came with isn't dead yet, the point remains open, but if the unit that it came with dies and the tank remains the point is given.

If it was a Vindicator, or similar kind of non transporting vehicle, the point is given when its no longer a viable unit. Destroyed, etc.


By what basis would you play this way? A unit and its transport are two entirely separate units, why would you say that a Vindicator gives up the point for being destroyed but a Rhino doesn't? There is absolutely no rules basis for a distinction between the two, so is this just a house rule you guys have chosen to play with?


---


And getting back to everyone else: Again, the rules do not specify that UNITS get removed as a casuatly except in a few remote occassions, such as a sweeping advance (only models get removed as casualties).

So either you accept that GW used casualties as a general term for killing something (including destroying a vehicle) or you play that only units killed by a sweeping advance (or other rule that specifies that a UNIT is removed as casualties) woruld actually trigger 'First Blood'.

Hopefully everyone can understand how ludicrous that is and continue on playing in a sensible manner regardless of what they think some pure RAW says.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

yakface I like your insight on the interpretation of this situation. I pretty much agree with you.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




Because dedicated transports are taken as an add on to that unit and don't take up a FOC spot, its only after deployment and the original unit has left it, that it can transport other units other than an IC. A Vindicator is a unit on its own and takes a FOC spot.

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

SkyD wrote:Because dedicated transports are taken as an add on to that unit and don't take up a FOC spot, its only after deployment and the original unit has left it, that it can transport other units other than an IC. A Vindicator is a unit on its own and takes a FOC spot.


Just because two or more units share the same force organization slot in no way makes them into a single unit. The rules are very clear about this.

There are plenty of examples of multiple units being taken from only a single force organization slot, but that doesn't suddenly make them into a single unit. Because remember, rules for units are what the game is built upon...if the transported unit and its transport are somehow the same unit, then they would always have to move together, shoot together, be shot at together, keep coherency with each other, etc.

I'm honestly a bit amazed this interpretation keeps popping up edition after edition after edition, when there is nothing in the actual rules that indicates that a unit and its transport should ever be considered a single unit together, and everyone who does try to somehow make that connection also seems to ignore what that interpretation would actually mean were you to fully apply it.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




A lot of the multiple units under 1 slot are allowed to split though making multiple separate units. Like Combat squads can be made from 10 man teams, but they must split before the game starts.

We only use it because a dedicated transport can be destroyed 1st turn but the unit inside can survive. Kind of the equivalent of killing one member of a 10 man squad, which also would not give first blood, as we read it. The whole unit has to die. Dedicated transports must be fielded with the unit they are brought for, its only after that unit has separated from its Transport that it takes on independence from the unit and can transport other friendly models other than IC.

So 1st turn, your transport blows, your unit lives. No First Blood, the entire unit wasn't eliminated. 1st turn a non-transport tank blows, First Blood is awarded. Until the unit and their dedicated transport separate, they are one unit.
In a Purge The Alien style game though a dedicated transport is considered a Victory Point winning unit so First Blood can be won in that style of game.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/15 06:44:10


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Dedicated Transports are separate units from their unit they are carrying SkyD. You cite part of the reference yourself with the Purge the Alien reference.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut






Easy way to answer this.

Does the rulebook have a specific definition of what a casuality is? Or is it referred to in the sence used in the English language? If the latter, then you use the English definition of what a casuality is when rules reference it.

The destroyed results would infer the vehicle and crew are casualties. Unless GW superceedes the meaning of the word with their own definition (i.e. 'unit'), First Blood applies to destroyed vehicle, whenever it is removed as a casualty. The debate should be on 'removed', not 'casualty'...
   
Made in ca
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant




Ontario

Actually they do, page 3, top right corner.

DCDA:90-S++G+++MB++I+Pw40k98-D+++A+++/areWD007R++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Green Bay

*Edited to stop that MOD frmo deleting me from the forums.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/15 15:22:34


rigeld2 wrote:
Now go ahead and take that out of context to make me look like a fool.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Having house rules doesn't make you a troll.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: