Switch Theme:

Vehicles Do Not Grant First Blood.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Not to mention he is using the same analogy in 2 different conclusions. To say a DT would not count as a separate unit and in the same sentence saying that combat sqauding results in 2 separate units is contradictory. To further it along if a DT is part of the unit it is purchased for you would break the coherency rule by deploying it on one side of the table and the squad on another even though that is allowed by the rules.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

Friendly reminder: if you can't participate in conversations in YMDC without reaching for insulting labels like "troll," I can remove your ability to participate in them at all.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Green Bay

No, but trying to pass off your house rules as the actual rules and reasserting it after someone explains how you are wrong kindof does.

rigeld2 wrote:
Now go ahead and take that out of context to make me look like a fool.
 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

yakface wrote:
Only models get removed as casualties by the RAW, units do not.

So by the 'RAW', First Blood is meaningless and never occurs.


Nah, you just have to kill an IC, who is both a model and unit.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not while attached to a unit, then they are a normal member of that unit
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

Maybe with this, we can make a baby step in moving towards the day where removed, removed from play, removed from play as a casualty, destroyed, etc. can all mean the same thing in game terms and we can get rid of this stupid self-imposed layer of complexity all together.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/15 16:51:24


11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Maelstrom808 wrote:Maybe with this, we can make a baby step in moving towards the day where removed, removed from play, removed from play as a casualty, destroyed, etc. can all mean the same thing in game terms and we can get rid of this stupid self-imposed layer of complexity all together.


Actually the idea that effects that remove models from play somehow means that those models are NOT being removed as casualties as well, is a completely player-driven concept as far as I know.

People have read the rulebook where it explains how models ARE removed as casualties and then taken the improper logical leap to assume that this means by the rules this is the ONLY way that models are ever casualties, when that position is actually a logical fallacy.

While it is true that we know for sure that models removed via the typical casualty removal rules are without a shadow of a doubt considered casualties (because the rules explicitly say as much), for vehicles that are destroyed or models that just get removed from play we just don't know...they are as likely to be considered casualties as they are not to be considered casualties.

Because GW never says = a casualty is when a model loses all its wounds and is removed from play. They actually say the opposite, they say that when a model loses its last wound it is removed as a casualty. So they never actually define 'casualty' as a game term, despite what some people mistakenly believe.

So when a rule says that a model simply gets removed from play, while we cannot know for certain that this model is a casualty (because the rules don't explicitly say) we also can't know for certain that it isn't a casualty (because precisely what a casualty is in the game is not actually defined).

I could be mistaken here, but I don't think GW has ever explicitly ruled that an effect that removes a model from play is somehow not a casualty and should ignore abilities that apply when a model gets removed as a casualty. And in fact I know one ruling in particular (Saint Celestine) where they ruled that her effect (which triggers when she's removed as a casualty) does in fact apply even when she's affected by something that simply removes her from play.

So IMHO, its always been pretty clear: There is no distinction between something that simply removes a model from play and something that just removes a model as a casualty. In both cases, the model is a casualty.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





yakface wrote:So IMHO, its always been pretty clear: There is no distinction between something that simply removes a model from play and something that just removes a model as a casualty. In both cases, the model is a casualty.

So, just because I'm curious, you were voting for Necrons to make WBB rolls after failing the JotWW check?
Feel free to PM a reply if you want to.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

rigeld2 wrote:
yakface wrote:So IMHO, its always been pretty clear: There is no distinction between something that simply removes a model from play and something that just removes a model as a casualty. In both cases, the model is a casualty.

So, just because I'm curious, you were voting for Necrons to make WBB rolls after failing the JotWW check?
Feel free to PM a reply if you want to.


Yes, personally I believe that models that are removed from play from such attacks are casualties and therefore are still entitled to things like WBB.

I understand why people have made the distinction and believe that it is 'RAW' to play otherwise, but I firmly believe that the basis for this is false (that the rules clearly dictate this).


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





yakface wrote:I understand why people have made the distinction and believe that it is 'RAW' to play otherwise, but I firmly believe that the basis for this is false (that the rules clearly dictate this).

Fair enough - thanks.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





next to a stop sign

"...Because GW never says = a casualty is when a model loses all its wounds and is removed from play. They actually say the opposite, they say that when a model loses its last wound it is removed as a casualty. So they never actually define 'casualty' as a game term, despite what some people mistakenly believe..."


Then what is the rule actually telling us when it states a model is removed as a casualty when its strength, toughness, or wounds are reduced to zero ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/16 00:12:06


"...you don't run internet lists, except for when you make a list and it becomes an internet list..." 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

SkyD wrote:So 1st turn, your transport blows, your unit lives. No First Blood, the entire unit wasn't eliminated. 1st turn a non-transport tank blows, First Blood is awarded. Until the unit and their dedicated transport separate, they are one unit.

But where are you getting the idea that they're one unit? They've always been two units. The "common sense" interpretation would be that they're two units- a squad of guys and their vehicle are two different entities, and from the perspective of the rules they've always been two units. In every edition. They have had certain exceptions for which they're treated like one unit, like how many units they count as for Reserves. But those have always been exceptins.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal







People are getting the idea from the Preparing Reserves rule, which does state while counting for the 50% tally to count a Dedicated Transport and its occupants as one unit.

As far as vehicles granting first blood, Ill have to pour over the rules to see if theres a correlation or not. But for now... sleep. -_-zzz

toxic_wisdom wrote:
"...Because GW never says = a casualty is when a model loses all its wounds and is removed from play. They actually say the opposite, they say that when a model loses its last wound it is removed as a casualty. So they never actually define 'casualty' as a game term, despite what some people mistakenly believe..."


Then what is the rule actually telling us when it states a model is removed as a casualty when its strength, toughness, or wounds are reduced to zero ?

Page 15 for the casualties section. Page 3, top right hand side for the second half.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/16 04:51:00


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

toxic_wisdom wrote:
"...Because GW never says = a casualty is when a model loses all its wounds and is removed from play. They actually say the opposite, they say that when a model loses its last wound it is removed as a casualty. So they never actually define 'casualty' as a game term, despite what some people mistakenly believe..."


Then what is the rule actually telling us when it states a model is removed as a casualty when its strength, toughness, or wounds are reduced to zero ?



That is the rule saying that a model which has its S,T or W reduced to zero is removed as a casualty. That rule does not say that a casualty is only a model that has its S,T or W reduced to 0.

That's the logical fallacy. Its the difference between saying (not that this is a example accurate to actual cats) that 'all cats have whiskers, fur and a tail' as opposed to saying 'all animals that have whiskers, fur and a tail are cats'.

That statement in the rules tells us without a shadow of a doubt that models who have their S,T or W reduced to zero are casualties. What it doesn't say is that ONLY models in this condition are ever considered to be casualties.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

yakface wrote:
toxic_wisdom wrote:
"...Because GW never says = a casualty is when a model loses all its wounds and is removed from play. They actually say the opposite, they say that when a model loses its last wound it is removed as a casualty. So they never actually define 'casualty' as a game term, despite what some people mistakenly believe..."


Then what is the rule actually telling us when it states a model is removed as a casualty when its strength, toughness, or wounds are reduced to zero ?



That is the rule saying that a model which has its S,T or W reduced to zero is removed as a casualty. That rule does not say that a casualty is only a model that has its S,T or W reduced to 0.

That's the logical fallacy. Its the difference between saying (not that this is a example accurate to actual cats) that 'all cats have whiskers, fur and a tail' as opposed to saying 'all animals that have whiskers, fur and a tail are cats'.

That statement in the rules tells us without a shadow of a doubt that models who have their S,T or W reduced to zero are casualties. What it doesn't say is that ONLY models in this condition are ever considered to be casualties.



Indeed, a second good example is "All squares are rectangles." This does not mean that "All rectangles are squares."
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

If the first unit removed from play is my Valkyrie that flys off, it doesn't award a point. I think that is what the rule is referencing. I don't think they meant to say only troops bleed so no point for killing vehicle. I think they just meant it's got to be dead, not something that left on it's own and might return.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: