Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/18 12:40:25
Subject: Power Axe at I10?
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
Testify wrote:BlueDagger wrote:
"always strike at I1" is telling you which initiative set you strike at
Yes, by setting it to 1. How is this difficult?
The initiative is not set at 1. If something required you to take an Initiative Test at while the Quickening was up and you were wielding a Power Axe, the Initiative Test would be done on the I value of 10. The Power Axe does not change your Initiative value to "1," only changes when you strike during Assault. Quickening, on the other hand, actually changes the model's Initiative value.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/18 13:17:39
Subject: Power Axe at I10?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Haunter! wrote:Redemption wrote:Also, the rule specifically states you attack at Initiative step 1, which is not the same as being Initiative 1.
Haunter! wrote:
Unwieldy does not change the model's initiative, it will still make pile-in moves and initiative tests at the value in its profile. When making attacks with an unwieldy weapon, all attacks are made at initiative 1 during that combat subphase. Again, the model's initiative value does NOT change.
Wouldn't you also pile-in at I1, as you pile-in on the Initiative Step you attack in?
No. Pile in moves are resolved at the model's initiative value, not what it strikes at. Unwieldy weapons only effect the initiative the model strikes at, anything else is resolved with the initiative in the model's profile.
This means a Space Marine Sergent with an unwieldy weapon would pile in at initiative 4, but strike blows at initiative 1 during the combat sub-phase.
Not true, the 2 pages together make it clear that Initiative step pile in and the point at which you make your strikes are equivalent. A SM with powerfist piles in and strikes at I1
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/18 13:19:11
Subject: Power Axe at I10?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Otherwise, GKs with Halberd would attack before they could pile-in.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/18 13:53:13
Subject: Re:Power Axe at I10?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Well, Halberds modify your actual I value(while using them) So either way they pile in at I+2.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/18 16:16:09
Subject: Re:Power Axe at I10?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Grey Templar wrote:Well, Halberds modify your actual I value(while using them) So either way they pile in at I+2.
No they do not, they make you strike at +2 Initiative. (P.54 GK Codex)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/18 16:17:30
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|