Switch Theme:

Power Axe at I10?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Steady Space Marine Vet Sergeant





United Kingdom

Hi dakka, i need help deciding which rule applies.

I was trying to decide which libby to put on a bike (using C:SM), and i decided to use the one with the axe. So, i set about choosing which psuchic powers, ones from the Brb or codex. Thats when quickening caught my eye...

Tldr
It says i can increase my Initiative to 10 for the duration of the assault phase. Does this over-write the Unwieldly rule? So, the libby in the above example can attack at I 10 with a power axe, if this is the case. Or does Unwieldly take priority?

Thanks guys. Depending on the outcome of this dicussion, i may have found a nice teq character killer

Sorry if this is disjoined and doesn't make sense in some parts, its 23:30 and i'm on my phone.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No. Your Init is raised to 10, and the axe sets it to 1, as per unwieldy
   
Made in gb
Steady Space Marine Vet Sergeant





United Kingdom

That clears it up, thanks for the help! :/
jokes...

Which Initiative step is the axe used at? 1 or 10? Your post isn't very clear as to which step it is used at.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Beaver Dam, WI

Sadly I believe it will be at 1 - the weapon rule will trump Quickening.

2000
2000
WIP
3000
8000 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

You strike at I1.
You can have I10, no problem there but you'll strike at I1.

I could be wrong but I believe you'll do your pile-in moves at I1 as well, as the two should be done together.
   
Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos




ATL, GA

Not nearly as sure about when the pile in move is done. At your initiative? At your striking initiative?

Either way, you do not get to swing the axe until I1. Follow the steps for modifying attributes in the front of the book. Unwieldy takes any initiative after all other modifiers and sets it to 1.

"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.

"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John

-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:

15 : 0 : 2 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The Pile in move is done when you strike.

Page 22 and 23 equate when a model makes his attacks to when the pile in moves are made.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

The power axe has the same rule as a power fist does/used to.


Quickining makes you I10, but Axes and Fists always strike at I1.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Two set modifiers - roll off to see which takes precedence.

Can't remember which page that rule is on though, I'm sure someone will post it.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Not correct, they arn't both set Modifiers.

Quickening changes your profile to be I10, fine. But Axes stipulate that you always strike with them at I1, regardless of your actual Inititive.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

I'm hoping we see a relic force weapon for Libbies inthe next dex.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Well if you are talking about the grey knight type of librarian? You can always equip them with a force halberd, initiative 6 is still pretty boss. (or one of the other options that isn't an unwieldy axe...)
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Grey Templar wrote:Not correct, they arn't both set Modifiers.

Quickening changes your profile to be I10, fine. But Axes stipulate that you always strike with them at I1, regardless of your actual Inititive.

"always strike at I1" sounds like a set modifier to me.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

"Power Axes reduce the model to I1" is a set modifier
"always strike at I1" is telling you which initiative set you strike at

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





BlueDagger wrote:
"always strike at I1" is telling you which initiative set you strike at

Yes, by setting it to 1. How is this difficult?

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

and that is why it's not a modifier. Unwieldly doesn't change your stat to I1, it just makes you strike at I1.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Logic fail.

It modifies your initiative to 1 when you strike with that weapon. Therefore it is a modifier. You can use another verb if you like but it's the same thing.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Please state for me where in the Unwieldly rules it states that your model's initiative becomes 1. Strike at an initiative level and a models initiative stat are not the same thing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/18 05:22:31


Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





BlueDagger wrote:Please state for me where in the Unwieldly rules it states that your model's initiative becomes 1. Strike at an initiative level and a models initiative stat are not the same thing.

Yes they are. Don't use semantics to exploit gamey tactics.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/18 05:25:35


Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

? Says the guy trying to negate a game balancing USR lol. Trust me I would LOVE to have I10 Str4 AP2 howling banshees however the fact remains that you simply become an I10 model that strikes at I1.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/18 05:30:17


Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





The two modifiers overlap so you roll for them.
I wouldn't model axes on banshees since I'm not WAAC but I understand many would.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

BlueDagger is correct, 'Always Strike at I1' is not a Initiative statistic modifier.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Redemption wrote:BlueDagger is correct, 'Always Strike at I1' is not a Initiative statistic modifier.

Other than modifying your initiative to a static value, obviously.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
Kabalite Conscript






Testify wrote:
Redemption wrote:BlueDagger is correct, 'Always Strike at I1' is not a Initiative statistic modifier.

Other than modifying your initiative to a static value, obviously.

Unwieldy does not change the model's initiative, it will still make pile-in moves and initiative tests at the value in its profile. When making attacks with an unwieldy weapon, all attacks are made at initiative 1 during that combat subphase. Again, the model's initiative value does NOT change.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





As others have said, it doesn't 'modify' your models' initiative stat at all. What it does, is tell you which initiative step when your strikes are going to occur.

Hitting at initiative 1 is 'not' the same thing as 'having' an initiative of 1. There are a few effects like Jaws of the World Wolf and Empyrean Brain Mines which require an Initiative test and would use the statistic as modified by things like the 'Quicksilver' Psychic ability, but the Unwieldy USR is not one of 'em.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/08/18 06:09:24


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

You do realize that 9 people have responded to you at this point with the same answer right?

and for the third time the unwieldy rule never states it is modifying you initiative stat, anywhere, at all. The word "attribute" nor "modify" are not anywhere in that very simple one sentence rule found on page 43pg.

EDIT: 10 people

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/18 06:08:26


Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Testify wrote:
Redemption wrote:BlueDagger is correct, 'Always Strike at I1' is not a Initiative statistic modifier.

Other than modifying your initiative to a static value, obviously.


It does not alter your I value. it alters the I value you strike at. If you were sweeping advances, or called upon to make an Init test from Jaws, you would NOT test at I1

2 different things. Lash Whips / Whip Coils modify your actual init value; "striking at" I1 alters when you hit.
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Also, the rule specifically states you attack at Initiative step 1, which is not the same as being Initiative 1.

Haunter! wrote:
Unwieldy does not change the model's initiative, it will still make pile-in moves and initiative tests at the value in its profile. When making attacks with an unwieldy weapon, all attacks are made at initiative 1 during that combat subphase. Again, the model's initiative value does NOT change.

Wouldn't you also pile-in at I1, as you pile-in on the Initiative Step you attack in?

   
Made in gb
Steady Space Marine Vet Sergeant





United Kingdom

Dam it!

Knew it was too good to be true ;P

Thanks guys

   
Made in us
Kabalite Conscript






Redemption wrote:Also, the rule specifically states you attack at Initiative step 1, which is not the same as being Initiative 1.

Haunter! wrote:
Unwieldy does not change the model's initiative, it will still make pile-in moves and initiative tests at the value in its profile. When making attacks with an unwieldy weapon, all attacks are made at initiative 1 during that combat subphase. Again, the model's initiative value does NOT change.

Wouldn't you also pile-in at I1, as you pile-in on the Initiative Step you attack in?

No. Pile in moves are resolved at the model's initiative value, not what it strikes at. Unwieldy weapons only effect the initiative the model strikes at, anything else is resolved with the initiative in the model's profile.

This means a Space Marine Sergent with an unwieldy weapon would pile in at initiative 4, but strike blows at initiative 1 during the combat sub-phase.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: