Switch Theme:

the effects of multiple gloom prisms  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal







If there was only one roll to be made by the Gloom Prism upgrade, it would have limited the number that the unit can take to one.

I have looked over the upgrade on page 46 and the Spyder in the Army list on page 95. Neither page states that only one Gloom Prism may be taken. Now, see again the wording of the actual upgrade for the Gloom Prism.

It confers a roll for each Gloom Prism upgrade as the Necron player paid for the upgrade. They are now entitled to the benefits for each one.

 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Fond du Lac, Wi

Xzerios wrote:
If there was only one roll to be made by the Gloom Prism upgrade, it would have limited the number that the unit can take to one.

I have looked over the upgrade on page 46 and the Spyder in the Army list on page 95. Neither page states that only one Gloom Prism may be taken. Now, see again the wording of the actual upgrade for the Gloom Prism.

It confers a roll for each Gloom Prism upgrade as the Necron player paid for the upgrade. They are now entitled to the benefits for each one.
You missed a couple of things. First, the reason multiple spyders are allowed to take it, it is within 3" of the spyder, not the unit. Put one spyder with the prism in a unit of 3 spyders. Now a unit of warriors is being targeted with a psychic power, and are within 3" of Spyder number 1 which does not have the gloom prism, and are 3.25" from the spider with the prism, you do NOT get a save. This is the reason they allow multiple gloom prisms to be taken, it increases the size of your prism bubble rather than allowing multiple rolls. Is it specifically stated that a model within 3" of multiple gloom prisms can make multiple rolls? No, so you do NOT get to do multiple rolls. You arguing that they can take multiple prisms is like if I were arguing I can make 5 rerolls of a single die per turn, they all come from a different source, but I can only reroll one per turn. The gloom prisms all come from a different source, but you're only allowed one roll to negate the power per targeting.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal







I urge you to read the Upgrade for Gloom Prisms. Its terminology is to a single Canoptek Spyder. The word 'the' in that sentence makes it a single target for the function of the Upgrade. If I have multiple Spyders with multiple upgrades, each upgrade is counted separate; Per the terminology of the rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/21 03:55:11


 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




Xzerios wrote:
I urge you to read the Upgrade for Gloom Prisms. Its terminology is to a single Canoptek Spyder. The word 'the' in that sentence makes it a single target for the function of the Upgrade. If I have multiple Spyders with multiple upgrades, each upgrade is counted separate; Per the terminology of the rule.

You're wrong. In the sentence "Each time an enemy unit attempts to target the Canoptek Spyder, or a friendly unit within 3" ," (underlined) definite article is as shorthand for "Canoptek Spyder with a Gloom Prism Upgrade".

Now, when you're targeting Necron (or Necron BB) unit, you check following things:
1) Is the target Canoptek Spyder with the Gloom Prism Upgrade? If yes, go to 3. Else Go 4,
2) Is the target within 3" of at least one Canoptek Spyder with the Gloom Prism upgrade? If yes, go to 3. Else go 4.
3) Roll a D6. If you get 4+, power is nullified
4) Rule has been resolved completely.

There's also the page 32 rule that disagrees with you, so you need to quote rule that gives you specific permission stating that Gloom Prism stacks (ie, the rule should say "for each Canoptek Spyder within 3" ")
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal







RAW the Gloom Prism would stack with other Gloom Prisms. The notion on page 32 clears it up nicely though and prevents this from occurring.

With as OP as the Necron Codex is though, I wouldnt be surprised if a FaQ came out and allowed it to stack.


End result, no stacking the Gloom Prisms effects, only the coverage. :3

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: