Switch Theme:

Two questions that came up in my last game.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Remember that you can not use the pad if he is covering enough of it. and it looks like he can change it to shielded anyway to prevent you from landing there.

"The structure itself is still a fortification" this is true, but it does not have an inside so how can one deploy inside of it?

They can infiltrate on top of it all they like.

Plus a unit of CSM with a sorceror of tzeench is hardly a tax...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
Remember that you can not use the pad if he is covering enough of it. and it looks like he can change it to shielded anyway to prevent you from landing there.

"The structure itself is still a fortification" this is true, but it does not have an inside so how can one deploy inside of it?

They can infiltrate on top of it all they like.

Plus a unit of CSM with a sorceror of tzeench is hardly a tax...

You'd have to have a lot of infiltrators to be able to prevent me landing a squad of 4-5 Flamers. Also, he can only change the pad to Shielded mode at the beginning of his Movement phase, so if I go first and he doesn't seize I'll drop my Flamers on the pad and kill whatever he put there.

Can an enemy unit deploy Infiltrators on the battlements of a Bastion, or on the outside sections of a Fortress of Redemption? They aren't 'inside', they aren't 'embarking'. I think the same rules would apply to the top of the Skyshield.

For me, the CSM units would be a tax, they would dilute the focus of my list. Plus I don't like leaving targets out there for my opponent to claim First Blood, and a single unit of CSM would be a mighty attractive target for my opponent's entire army to shoot at if I don't go first, especially if I put them in the open on top of a Skyshield Pad. I'd rather stick to pure Daemons and leave him with nothing to shoot at.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 undertow wrote:

You'd have to have a lot of infiltrators to be able to prevent me landing a squad of 4-5 Flamers. Also, he can only change the pad to Shielded mode at the beginning of his The Movement phase, so if I go first and he doesn't seize I'll drop my Flamers on the pad and kill whatever he put there.

Added the Orange for clarity.

The rules simply state "At the beginning of the Movement phase, before rolling for reserves, a model in base contact with a Skyshield landing Pad can change its confi.guration from shielded to unfurled (or vice versa)." P. 115

It may be changed in any players turn.
 undertow wrote:
Can an enemy unit deploy Infiltrators on the battlements of a Bastion, or on the outside sections of a Fortress of Redemption? They aren't 'inside', they aren't 'embarking'. I think the same rules would apply to the top of the Skyshield.
Yes they can infiltrate there, as they are not inside of it.

P.S. you do not have to put the CSM on top of the Skyshield, just within 17 inches of the furthest edge and within Line of Sight, that will stop any infiltrators from deploying there. Put them in a Ruin near the Skyshield.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/12/17 18:49:39


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
 undertow wrote:

You'd have to have a lot of infiltrators to be able to prevent me landing a squad of 4-5 Flamers. Also, he can only change the pad to Shielded mode at the beginning of his The Movement phase, so if I go first and he doesn't seize I'll drop my Flamers on the pad and kill whatever he put there.

Added the Orange for clarity.

The rules simply state "At the beginning of the Movement phase, before rolling for reserves, a model in base contact with a Skyshield landing Pad can change its confi.guration from shielded to unfurled (or vice versa)." P. 115

It may be changed in any players turn.
That's an interesting assertion, but can a player do anything that he wasn't explicitly granted permission to do when it isn't his turn?

Also, did you see my previous comment about enemy infiltrators deploying on the battlements of other fortifications such as Bastions?

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Yes I did, see my edit.

and the Skyshield rules tell us that a model may change its config, it does not restrict it to friendly models. It even provides rules for what happens if both players have models in contact with the Skyshield. "If there are models from both sides in base contact with the landing pad, its configuration cannot be changed." P. 115

It is clear that your opponent can change its configuration.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Your opponent failed to read and apply the rules for removing casualties. 4 wounded 4 die. but we see interpretations like this applied wrong even here so I dont think he was cheeting he was misinformed.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes I did, see my edit.

Edit was after my post, but whatever.

The way I see it, in this context 'inside' means in or on the fortification.
 DeathReaper wrote:
and the Skyshield rules tell us that a model may change its config, it does not restrict it to friendly models. It even provides rules for what happens if both players have models in contact with the Skyshield. "If there are models from both sides in base contact with the landing pad, its configuration cannot be changed." P. 115

It is clear that your opponent can change its configuration.

I'm not disputing that an enemy can change the configuration, I just don't see how they'd have permission to do so when it's not their turn.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

They have permission because the rules say "At the beginning of the Movement phase, before rolling for reserves, a model in base contact with a Skyshield landing Pad can change its configuration"

Is your opponent's model "a model in base contact" If yes, then is it "the beginning of the Movement phase, before rolling for reserves" If yes that model can change the configuration.

Those rules do not limit it to friendly models, just a model in contact.
 undertow wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes I did, see my edit.

Edit was after my post, but whatever.

The way I see it, in this context 'inside' means in or on the fortification.

Inside does not equal on top of.

Also, I know the edit was after your post, I was saying to read my edit. Thus the comma in the middle there telling you to see my edit (For more information) as I was not going to post it twice.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/17 19:17:03


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Because they can change it on any turn, not "their" turn
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Because they can change it on any turn, not "their" turn
I understand where the rules for the Skyshield don't limit the ability by turn, but where in the rest of the rules are players allowed to initiate actions outside of their own turn without specific permission?

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 undertow wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Because they can change it on any turn, not "their" turn
I understand where the rules for the Skyshield don't limit the ability by turn, but where in the rest of the rules are players allowed to initiate actions outside of their own turn without specific permission?

The Skyshield rules give specific permission.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 undertow wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Because they can change it on any turn, not "their" turn
I understand where the rules for the Skyshield don't limit the ability by turn, but where in the rest of the rules are players allowed to initiate actions outside of their own turn without specific permission?

The Movement rules say "In your turn, you can move any of your units"

The Skyshield rules say "At the beginning of the Movement phase, before rolling for reserves, a model in base contact with a Skyshield landing Pad can change its configuration"

In the movement rules they specify your turn. In the Skyshield they simply say "At the beginning of the Movement phase" So they are only permitted to move "In your turn" but can change configuration "At the beginning of the Movement phase" (Not At the beginning of thier Movement phase)

See the difference?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
See the difference?

Yeah, and I don't think I can effectively argue against it anymore. Point conceded.

I'm still not convinced that a unit of enemy infiltrators can deploy on my pad though. I think in this context 'inside' means 'in or on' a fortification, otherwise you'd have infiltrators deploying on unmanned battlements (assuming their opponent didn't deploy in, on or near that fortification).

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Even if they can't deploy on it, they can deploy next to it with any models base touching and change the configuration so you can not land on it without scattering.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
Even if they can't deploy on it, they can deploy next to it with any models base touching and change the configuration so you can not land on it without scattering.
Agreed.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: