Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 08:05:29
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
Dozer Blades wrote:The rule say a character with A mark. Abbadon has four marks so it doesn't apply to him. That is totally RAW too. 
"A" need not be limiting to "a single" or "one".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 09:53:22
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Having 4 marks means you do, indeed, have A mark. Nothing stops you having A mark by having 4.
Case yet again disproven, waiting for this to be aignored by certain posters again
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 15:22:17
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It is illegal to carry a pistol.
I guess I'm safe - I'm carrying 4.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 15:24:38
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
|
~Ice~
Da' Burnin Couch 2018 Best Overall
Beef and Wing ITC Major GT Best Overall 2018
2019 ITC #1 Overall Best Admech
LVO 2019 #1 Admech |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 15:38:52
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
Actually, to avoid ambiguities, those laws are normally written "one or more" or "any", not "a".
Has no one addressed giving a champion "a gift of mutation"? So I am safe to give him four then, right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 15:41:47
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
kaisshau wrote:
Actually, to avoid ambiguities, those laws are normally written "one or more" or "any", not "a".
Has no one addressed giving a champion "a gift of mutation"? So I am safe to give him four then, right?
I believe that has been covered plenty, but by some peoples interpretation you can lol. ALthough the consensus is obviously that does not work!
Sorry abbadon. No marked units for you!
|
~Ice~
Da' Burnin Couch 2018 Best Overall
Beef and Wing ITC Major GT Best Overall 2018
2019 ITC #1 Overall Best Admech
LVO 2019 #1 Admech |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 16:08:36
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
My question is, why does "a" in the gift of mutation option mean only one, but the "a" in the Marks of Chaos means more than one?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 16:17:45
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
kaisshau wrote:My question is, why does "a" in the gift of mutation option mean only one, but the "a" in the Marks of Chaos means more than one?
You're only allowed to buy "a gift of mutation", so once you've bought it you've already bought "a gift of mutation". You don't have permission to buy it more than once, so you can't. Conversely, Abaddon has a Mark of Chaos.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 16:33:09
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
Are you agreeing with me then, that "a" always means "one"?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 16:34:51
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Old Sourpuss
|
AlmightyWalrus wrote:kaisshau wrote:My question is, why does "a" in the gift of mutation option mean only one, but the "a" in the Marks of Chaos means more than one?
You're only allowed to buy "a gift of mutation", so once you've bought it you've already bought "a gift of mutation". You don't have permission to buy it more than once, so you can't. Conversely, Abaddon has a Mark of Chaos.
By that note, aren't you only allowed to buy "a mark of chaos"? I don't have my codex on me, but I believe I'm not allowed to have a Nurgle/Slaaneshi marked Lord...
|
DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 16:37:35
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
No, you buy a specific Mark from the Mark of Chaos list - a Mark of Nurgle, etc.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/26 16:37:47
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 16:41:19
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Old Sourpuss
|
rigeld2 wrote:No, you buy a specific Mark from the Mark of Chaos list - a Mark of Nurgle, etc.
But I still can't purchase more than one mark correct?
|
DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 16:42:53
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Correct - the Lords entry specifies single.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 17:05:56
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
No, did you not read my post? Abaddon has a Mark of Chaos, but you're not allowed to buy more than one Gift of Mutation since you don't have permission to buy more than one. You're allowed to take a Gift of Mutation; when going from no Gifts to A Gift it's OK, but if you try to buy another you'd run into the fact that you've already purchased a Gift of Mutation and as such aren't allowed to buy another.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 17:21:54
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Old Sourpuss
|
AlmightyWalrus wrote: No, did you not read my post? Abaddon has a Mark of Chaos, but you're not allowed to buy more than one Gift of Mutation since you don't have permission to buy more than one. You're allowed to take a Gift of Mutation; when going from no Gifts to A Gift it's OK, but if you try to buy another you'd run into the fact that you've already purchased a Gift of Mutation and as such aren't allowed to buy another. The same holds true with the marks of chaos though. You can't go and buy a second mark of chaos, because you've already purchased a mark. Abaddon breaks that rule with a mark that cannot be purchased. Though by that line of thought, Abaddon could only ever join unmarked units since no one else could purchase a Mark of Chaos Ascendant. Which to be fair is the RAW interpretation. I'd just like a solid answer so I know if I'm putting Abby with unmarked termies, or if I can spice things up in his life.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/26 17:22:31
DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 17:58:36
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
Abbadon doesn't have a "Mark of Chaos". The Mark of Chaos Ascendant is not listed on page 91, 30, or 104. It is completely separate and distinct from a "Mark of Chaos". Thus, that mark specifically is not dealt with by the restrictions on page 30.
It comes down to this. Is having four Marks of Chaos the same as having "a" Mark of Chaos? If yes, then I can purchase multiple gifts of mutation for a champion. If "a" equals four when determining marks, "a" equals four when determining if I purchased "a" gift of mutation. Most other options say "a single" or "up to one/two/four". This is one of the only upgrades that doesn't. It doesn't say, as Melta-bombs do, that the champion "may take gift of mutation", or, as Warp Talons have "take up to two gifts of mutation", or, as lords have for Marks, "may take a single Mark of Chaos". If I take four gifts of mutation, have I taken "a gift of mutation"? If Abaddon has "a Mark of Chaos", then I have taken "a gift of mutation".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 18:01:38
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Except the rules for it are "He has all 4 Marks" which would put us back to where he will always have a different Mark from any marked unit.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 18:06:26
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
Grey Templar wrote:Except the rules for it are "He has all 4 Marks" which would put us back to where he will always have a different Mark from any marked unit.
Yes, but the restriction on Pg. 30 says "Independent Character with a Mark of Chaos". If "a" means one and only one, it doesn't apply to Abaddon. If "a" means at least one, then purchasing "a" gift of mutation, 4 (or 40) times is allowed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 18:09:38
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
kaisshau wrote: Grey Templar wrote:Except the rules for it are "He has all 4 Marks" which would put us back to where he will always have a different Mark from any marked unit.
Yes, but the restriction on Pg. 30 says "Independent Character with a Mark of Chaos". If "a" means one and only one, it doesn't apply to Abaddon. If "a" means at least one, then purchasing "a" gift of mutation, 4 (or 40) times is allowed.
"a" in this case doesn't mean if the Character has one mark. It means if he has a mark.
Does abbaddon have a mark? yes, in fact he has all 4 marks.
Do I own a car?
Yes, in fact I own 2 cars!
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 18:34:28
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
A character with only one mark obviously doesn't have multiples while on the other hand Abbadon has more then one... So the rule doesn't apply to him. I doubt few people will play it that he can't join a marked squad nor do I believe that was the intent.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 18:41:51
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Again, you have zero evidence that the rule only applies to a character with one mark. The context of the sentence is clear that it applies to Abbaddon.
It may have been unintentional but the english is quite clear on this.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 18:45:59
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
Dozer Blades wrote:A character with only one mark obviously doesn't have multiples while on the other hand Abbadon has more then one... So the rule doesn't apply to him. I doubt few people will play it that he can't join a marked squad nor do I believe that was the intent.
"A" means at least one singulr item, but as another poster provided,
Do you. Have a computer?
Yes, i have two of them.
That is a legal usage of the wording. Now, abbadon has 4 marks. The unit has 1. Does abbadon have "at least one" mark? Yes he does, he has four, three of which are different than the units. So he can not join.
This is silly, to be honest. I have already posted the answer to this topic and there are numerous other thrrads covering it. I would like to request a mod or someone close this one; we dont need redundancy, snd Dozer Blades doesnt seem to know what RAW is, so we could be here a while otherwise.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 18:57:46
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I disagree with what you say is RAW. You are using language to derive an unintended result.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 19:17:06
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant
|
I just thought I'd put in my two cents on this..
Last edition it was stated as well that Abaddon had all 4 marks of chaos, although, they were not singularly listed as individual marks.
Simply put, the effects of all 4 marks are granted through the "Mark of Chaos Ascendant" special rule stating that he has all four marks, but under his wargear, listed as "Mark of Chaos Ascendant" granting the effects of all four marks, without the clash of each mark inherently brings by rules as written.
Therefore, (and mind you this is also what about 2 dozen other people I play with as well also believe and follow, never singularly ever having an issue in a game) the "Mark of Chaos Ascendant" incurs the effects of all 4 marks upon Abaddon, without incurring the negative effects which is why it alone is a unique special rule specifically crafted for the Warmaster that no other character within the codex has.
|
Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.
12,000
14,000
11,000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 19:35:32
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
1st Lieutenant
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
|
To me, it's almost pretty obvious they intended him to be able to join any squad he wants (he IS the warmaster, after all)
Unfortunately, typical poor rule writing lead to the opposite effect and this argument over it.
Honestly, I would let him join any squad if the Chaos player wanted him to. Then again, my group plays a lot of RAI
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 19:43:56
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Old Sourpuss
|
washout77 wrote:To me, it's almost pretty obvious they intended him to be able to join any squad he wants (he IS the warmaster, after all)
Unfortunately, typical poor rule writing lead to the opposite effect and this argument over it.
Honestly, I would let him join any squad if the Chaos player wanted him to. Then again, my group plays a lot of RAI
The problem with the "intended him to be able to join any squad" is that he's the Warmaster of the Black Legion, joining a single, specific deity's cult troops might show favoritism and cause resentment amongst the gossip mill that is the 4 Chaos Gods.
But then again full doesn't equal rules. I honestly don't care as I don't play tournaments and don't run Abby regularly, but I couldn't care less how my opponent plays it.
|
DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 19:45:09
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
This thread seems kind of silly, its Abaddon... if he strode up to anyone aligned to chaos no matter who they worship and said ' I'm taking charge.' do you think a lowly group of marines dedicated to nurgle or tzeentch would be say umm no ? Abaddon is the warmaster as stated. He has all four marks and it doesnt say anywhere that he cant join any unit. so im all ???
|
"There is no escape from chaos, it marks us all."
"Only i can hear your prayers here my friend, and i'm afraid i will not answer them."
"It must be magnificent to see a planet writhe and scream to feel it compulse beneath your own feet, witness it dying with living eyes such marvelous spectacle, the skulls are my gift, in time perhaps i will share this gift with every living soul in the galaxy."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 19:48:27
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Legendary Dogfighter
|
I reckon this one will go four more pages and then be locked......this is always a great thread
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 19:50:07
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Old Sourpuss
|
Frecklesonfire wrote:This thread seems kind of silly, its Abaddon... if he strode up to anyone aligned to chaos no matter who they worship and said ' I'm taking charge.' do you think a lowly group of marines dedicated to nurgle or tzeentch would be say umm no ? Abaddon is the warmaster as stated. He has all four marks and it doesnt say anywhere that he cant join any unit. so im all ???
Actually, it says that marks can't be different would prevent Abby from technically joining anyone... And I believe Insaniak has said in one of these threads, this game is about permission, if you don't have permission to do it, you can't do it. Abby doesn't have explicit permission to ignore the different marked unit rule, so you must follow it.
|
DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 19:54:25
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Neronoxx wrote:This has been argued a billion times and we don't need another thread about it.
Short story; you got two options
RAW he cannot join any marked squad as the rules for joining marked squads prevents him from doing this.
RAI he can join any squad because he has all four and is the warmaster.
That's it. No more discussion please. Its been argued over enough. Use the search button if you have more questions.
This. SO this.
Can we move on from this thread please?
|
Click here for my Swap Shop post - I'm buying stuff!
DR:90-S++G++M+B++I+Pw40kPbfg99#+D++A++/eWDR++T(T)DM+
Black Legion/Iron Warriors/Night Lords Inquisitorial Friends & Co. (Inq, GK, Elysians, Assassins) Elysian Droptroops, soon-to-add Armored Battlegroup Adeptus Mechanicus Forge World Lucius
|
|
 |
 |
|