Switch Theme:

CSM Lord Dual Plasma Pistols?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
Eh... combi-weapon is one weapon.


Actually it's not.

Each part is listed as a weapon.


In total it's still one weapon.

PG 56 Combi-Weapons.

Primary Weapon-Boltgun
Secondary Weapon-"plasma,flamer,etc"

Pg 56 BGB

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/29 05:06:06


My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Weapons add strengrh to dmg vs vehiles right?
So if I fire my secondary weapon it doesnt beings youre telling me its not a wepon. If it was csm lord can trade it out.

You're correct, you wouldn't add the strength to a d6 when firing, strict RAW.

Since you have to use RAI to make it work at all, it's obvious the intent is not to be able to trade both pieces.

So you're wrong RAW and wrong RAI. Want to try again? :-)

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Weapons add strengrh to dmg vs vehiles right?
So if I fire my secondary weapon it doesnt beings youre telling me its not a wepon. If it was csm lord can trade it out.

You're correct, you wouldn't add the strength to a d6 when firing, strict RAW.

Since you have to use RAI to make it work at all, it's obvious the intent is not to be able to trade both pieces.

So you're wrong RAW and wrong RAI. Want to try again? :-)


Gladly as you've yet to prove me wrong.
All you have done is say there is a primary weapon and a secondary weapon.
I don't disagree with either point but there is something about those. They are both weapons.
If you have a Green banana and an overripe banana, what do you have?
Other than being on the track for a banana split, you have 2 weapons.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Dozer Blades wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
Eh... combi-weapon is one weapon.


Actually it's not.

Each part is listed as a weapon.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
Eh... combi-weapon is one weapon.


Actually it's not.

Each part is listed as a weapon.


In total it's still one weapon.

PG 56 Combi-Weapons.

Primary Weapon-Boltgun
Secondary Weapon-"plasma,flamer,etc"

Pg 56 BGB


If you have Weapon Green and Weapon Yellow that would be 2 weapons. Read the BGB how each is classifed as a seperate weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/29 01:47:54


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Just look at the actual bit and you'll know it's one total weapon.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Weapons add strengrh to dmg vs vehiles right?
So if I fire my secondary weapon it doesnt beings youre telling me its not a wepon. If it was csm lord can trade it out.

You're correct, you wouldn't add the strength to a d6 when firing, strict RAW.

Since you have to use RAI to make it work at all, it's obvious the intent is not to be able to trade both pieces.

So you're wrong RAW and wrong RAI. Want to try again? :-)


Gladly as you've yet to prove me wrong.
All you have done is say there is a primary weapon and a secondary weapon.
I don't disagree with either point but there is something about those. They are both weapons.
If you have a Green banana and an overripe banana, what do you have?
Other than being on the track for a banana split, you have 2 weapons.

You have a Penetrating Hit, a Glancing Hit, and a Hit that is a result from a to-hit roll.
According to you they are all the same thing.

This is demonstrably false, so your stance cannot be correct.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Weapons add strengrh to dmg vs vehiles right?
So if I fire my secondary weapon it doesnt beings youre telling me its not a wepon. If it was csm lord can trade it out.

You're correct, you wouldn't add the strength to a d6 when firing, strict RAW.

Since you have to use RAI to make it work at all, it's obvious the intent is not to be able to trade both pieces.

So you're wrong RAW and wrong RAI. Want to try again? :-)


Gladly as you've yet to prove me wrong.
All you have done is say there is a primary weapon and a secondary weapon.
I don't disagree with either point but there is something about those. They are both weapons.
If you have a Green banana and an overripe banana, what do you have?
Other than being on the track for a banana split, you have 2 weapons.

You have a Penetrating Hit, a Glancing Hit, and a Hit that is a result from a to-hit roll.
According to you they are all the same thing.

This is demonstrably false, so your stance cannot be correct.


Still have no idea why you're trying to compare combi weapons to hits. I don't see the comparison at all.
To me it's more similar to Lascannon w/ Twin-linked plasma, or a DCCW w/ built in stormbolter.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Because you're asserting that (word) weapon is the same as weapon.
That's exactly like saying (word) hit is the same as hit. You can try and find similarities to other things if you want, but to support your stance you have to find an equality between (word) weapon and weapon.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Dozer Blades wrote:
Just look at the actual bit and you'll know it's one total weapon.


2. The only official sources of information are the current rulebooks and the Games Workshop FAQs. Emails from Askyourquestion@games-workshop.com are technically official, but they are easily spoofed and should not be relied on.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
rigeld2 wrote:
Because you're asserting that (word) weapon is the same as weapon.
That's exactly like saying (word) hit is the same as hit. You can try and find similarities to other things if you want, but to support your stance you have to find an equality between (word) weapon and weapon.


If the (word) weapon wasn't the same than you would not be able to use said (weapon)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/29 02:09:17


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

The models and bits should definitely be used to help make a ruling.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Dozer Blades wrote:
The models and bits should definitely be used to help make a ruling.


2. The only official sources of information are the current rulebooks and the Games Workshop FAQs. Emails from Askyourquestion@games-workshop.com are technically official, but they are easily spoofed and should not be relied on.

Again.
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







... meh lets work under the assumption your right about combi-weapons (i don't think you are but ...)

Combi-weapons are a Bolter which has been built to house another weapon. So could you replace the bolter? Yes but since the bolter house the other weapon you would loose that as well. (much like a DCCW with built in bolter .. loose the arm loose the gun)

Ok how about the secondary weapon? possibly but then begs the question whether it now counts as the secondly weapon and as such one shot.

Lets assume it doesn't what are you going to do with that weapon? Well you can't get a melee weapon since its not a bolt pistol or ccw. I guess you could get a ranged weapon like the plasma pistol (though begs the question why? and if you can make two choices) .... chaos reward? again could have got it without the hassle and been just as effective.

So what was the point of trying this again?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/29 02:45:00


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Tri wrote:

Lets assume it doesn't what are you going to do with that weapon? Well you can't get a melee weapon since its not a bolt pistol or ccw. I guess you could get a ranged weapon like the plasma pistol (though begs the question why? and if you can make two choices) .... chaos reward? again could have got it without the hassle and been just as effective.

So what was the point of trying this again?


Curious is all.

That and I'd like to model a Dual Plasma Pistol IC with a Daemon Weapon

   
Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader




San Diego, CA

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
It's really not.

When you roll a cover save for a vehicle, you discard the hit. Page 75 BrB. According to you, that means that the entire hit is discarded, not just the Glancing or Penetrating hit.


It kind of is, I'm talking weapons. You're talking "smoke"

Chaos lord may exchange any weapon IIRC for a pistol. They're both weapons.

Off to work.


which since it words one for one that would leave the model with bolt pistol and plasma pistol or plasma pistol and chain sword. I dont understand how two PPs are appealing though, I dont think they could be worth that big of a points sink

 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Exalbaru wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
It's really not.

When you roll a cover save for a vehicle, you discard the hit. Page 75 BrB. According to you, that means that the entire hit is discarded, not just the Glancing or Penetrating hit.


It kind of is, I'm talking weapons. You're talking "smoke"

Chaos lord may exchange any weapon IIRC for a pistol. They're both weapons.

Off to work.


which since it words one for one that would leave the model with bolt pistol and plasma pistol or plasma pistol and chain sword. I dont understand how two PPs are appealing though, I dont think they could be worth that big of a points sink


Take the Ork Codex as Precedence for this. Trade all sluggas for shootas, however before we did that I traded the Nobz slugga for a PK.
Lord takes a Combi-XX
Trade out the XX
Trade out the Combi-
Trade out CCW for D-Weapon.

   
Made in us
Fluttering Firewyrm of Tzeentch





Well, thank you for all the responses. In retrospect, perhaps I'll just give him one magnetic arm and have it swap out for either a plasma pistol or a power lance.

Thank you all.

Submit to you destiny  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: