Switch Theme:

CSM Lord Dual Plasma Pistols?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fluttering Firewyrm of Tzeentch





So... I want to make a chaos lord of tzeentch who rides a bike and wields two plasma pistols. (used to want a power lance as well, but I realized I cannot have all of the above).

The rule I have to question is whether or not I can dual wield them. The line, verbatim, off of the Chaos Wargear List, reads like this: "A model can replace one weapon with one of the following."

Am I to understand that this means that you can replace any weapon with one of the weapons off the list as often as you desire or that you can only replace one weapon one time?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/27 01:09:46


Submit to you destiny  
   
Made in nz
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine





In The depths of a Tomb World, placing demo charges.

You can replace any weapon he has, but since he's only got a ccw and a bolt pistol, you can only replace those and limits you to two weapons.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/27 01:01:29


]
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







It's a good question ... the answer is maybe.

If it had read may swap a weapon for one weapon. it would be an easy yes.

The problem is may swap one weapon for one weapon, seems to imply that you can only do it once. I'm an old player so i don't personally think this way but have to admit the possibility.
   
Made in us
Fluttering Firewyrm of Tzeentch





ah yes, I had overlooked that he did not have a bolter in his profile. Thank you very much for clearing that up for me.

Submit to you destiny  
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

You can do it, as you have a bolt pistol and a CCW that you can trade for a plasma pistol each.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"A model can replace one weapon with one of the following."

In that case you may replace one weapon.

You have no allowance to replace more than one weapon, so you can not take 2 plasma pistols.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Bane Lord Tartar Sauce




 DeathReaper wrote:
"A model can replace one weapon with one of the following."

In that case you may replace one weapon.

You have no allowance to replace more than one weapon, so you can not take 2 plasma pistols.


My reading of ' with one of the following' is that it means that the character can make 1 for 1 substitutions for wargear, not go "Ok, I replace my bolt pistol with a plasma pistol and a power fist and a lightning claw and a midget with a shotgun", not that he can only take a single option once. (In more technical terms, it allows the model to replace one of X or Y with any one item from the list Z).
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

How many weapons does the rule allow you to replace, One or Two or more?

They cover this is other codexes when they can replace 1 or 2 weapons by saying "replace bolt pistol and/or chainsword with:", SM Captain rules.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Veteran Knight Baron in a Crusader





Albuquerque,, NM

 DeathReaper wrote:
They cover this is other codexes when they can replace 1 or 2 weapons by saying "replace bolt pistol and/or chainsword with:", SM Captain rules.


Thats right. In fact they even cover it in the CSM dex just above the ranged weapons in the Melee weapons sections with almost the exact same wording.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Lord Harrab wrote:
You can replace any weapon he has, but since he's only got a ccw and a bolt pistol, you can only replace those and limits you to two weapons.


You could always be beardy though.

Trade out a CCW for combi-weapon.

Trade out the Combi-XX for a lance
Trade out the Bolter part for pistol.


   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Eh... combi-weapon is one weapon.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

 DeathReaper wrote:
How many weapons does the rule allow you to replace, One or Two or more?

They cover this is other codexes when they can replace 1 or 2 weapons by saying "replace bolt pistol and/or chainsword with:", SM Captain rules.


these aren't the C:SM rules they are the CSM rules which are worded differently. The CSM lord is allowed to take options from the melee, ranged, artifact, and special issue war-gear section. The ranged options are replace a weapon with one of the following.

Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

The chaos artifacts part states you can only take one of them per model, the other charts don't.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Actually, the terminator stuff say can exchange combi-bolter for one of the following. That is a limit of one per model.

The line of "can exchange one weapon for one of the following" also is a limit of one per model. I have two weapons I may exchange 1 for x, y or z. It doesn't say I can exchange my second weapons for y when I traded the frist for z.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






its the same way you can put loghtning claws on a chaos lord. replace the bolt pistol and the chainsword for plasma pistols.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
its the same way you can put loghtning claws on a chaos lord. replace the bolt pistol and the chainsword for plasma pistols.

But you cannot do that. You can only have one of the ranged weapons options in the wargear list.
You can have plasma + bolt pistol, plasma and a melee weapon but not dual plasma.

The melee weapons allow you to swap bolt pistol and/or ccw, the ranged do not.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/27 18:00:41


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 liturgies of blood wrote:
Eh... combi-weapon is one weapon.


Actually it's not.

Each part is listed as a weapon.


PG 56 Combi-Weapons.

Primary Weapon-Boltgun
Secondary Weapon-"plasma,flamer,etc"

Pg 56 BGB

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/29 05:10:58


   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
Eh... combi-weapon is one weapon.


Actually it's not.

Each part is listed as a weapon.



PG 56 Combi-Weapons.

Primary Weapon-Boltgun
Secondary Weapon-"plasma,flamer,etc"

Pg 56 BGB


Oh my god jd....
tell me you didn't just do that...
EVERYONE REMAIN CALM!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/29 05:11:16


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Neronoxx wrote:


Oh my god jd....
tell me you didn't just do that...
EVERYONE REMAIN CALM!


I hate when I double quote too.

Something I picked up from the ole Chaos Bike Thread.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:


Oh my god jd....
tell me you didn't just do that...
EVERYONE REMAIN CALM!


I hate when I double quote too.

Something I picked up from the ole Chaos Bike Thread.

And it was disproved in the ole Chaos Bike thread too. It's a single weapon.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

rigeld2 wrote:

And it was disproved in the ole Chaos Bike thread too. It's a single weapon.


Must have missed that part entirely.
It's one option.
They're both a weapon.
"you cannot fire both weapons in the same turn" pg 56 BGB.


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

And it was disproved in the ole Chaos Bike thread too. It's a single weapon.


Must have missed that part entirely.
It's one option.
They're both a weapon.
"you cannot fire both weapons in the same turn" pg 56 BGB.


In context referring to the primary and secondary. Good job only quoting one sentence out of the paragraph though.

Sorry, I misremembered the Biker thread. It's not legal though.
Edit: it's like comparing Glancing or Penetrating Hits to normal Hits. They share a word, but are not comparable.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/28 15:43:33


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA


In context referring to the primary and secondary. Good job only quoting one sentence out of the paragraph though.

Sorry, I misremembered the Biker thread. It's not legal though.


It does call them both weapons though.

Primary Boltgun ( what is a boltgun if not a ranged weapon)
and
Secondary weapon

Even in the fluff "each has been expertly converted to house another weapon," Pg 56 BGB
"This extra weapon carries only a limited charge" pg 56 BGB


**
It's more like comparing a DCCW w/ stormbolter to a C-Weapon When looking at weapon destroyed results.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/28 15:46:47


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It's really not.

When you roll a cover save for a vehicle, you discard the hit. Page 75 BrB. According to you, that means that the entire hit is discarded, not just the Glancing or Penetrating hit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
It's really not.

When you roll a cover save for a vehicle, you discard the hit. Page 75 BrB. According to you, that means that the entire hit is discarded, not just the Glancing or Penetrating hit.


It kind of is, I'm talking weapons. You're talking "smoke"

Chaos lord may exchange any weapon IIRC for a pistol. They're both weapons.

Off to work.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
It's really not.

When you roll a cover save for a vehicle, you discard the hit. Page 75 BrB. According to you, that means that the entire hit is discarded, not just the Glancing or Penetrating hit.


It kind of is, I'm talking weapons. You're talking "smoke"

Chaos lord may exchange any weapon IIRC for a pistol. They're both weapons.

Off to work.

They're a Primary and Secondary Weapon housed in a single Weapon.
Just like a Glancing or Penetrating Hit is caused by a Hit.

Find permission to trade in a Primary Weapon.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




 gruebot wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
They cover this is other codexes when they can replace 1 or 2 weapons by saying "replace bolt pistol and/or chainsword with:"


In fact they even cover it in the CSM dex just above the ranged weapons in the Melee weapons sections with almost the exact same wording.


True that. A Chaos model with access to Melee can replace and/or, meaning he can replace both weapons if he wants to. Ranged section says replace one, period.

That said I surely wouldn't have a problem with it in a friendly game - a Chaos Lord with twin plasma pistols is a Chaos Lord without a Daemon Weapon or other nasty special issue CCW.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
It's really not.

When you roll a cover save for a vehicle, you discard the hit. Page 75 BrB. According to you, that means that the entire hit is discarded, not just the Glancing or Penetrating hit.


It kind of is, I'm talking weapons. You're talking "smoke"

Chaos lord may exchange any weapon IIRC for a pistol. They're both weapons.

Off to work.

They're a Primary and Secondary Weapon housed in a single Weapon.
Just like a Glancing or Penetrating Hit is caused by a Hit.

Find permission to trade in a Primary Weapon.


Chaos Lord may replace "one" weapon with

A primary weapon is one weapon.

A secondary weapon is one weapon.

The chaos lord may trade "one" out.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
It's really not.

When you roll a cover save for a vehicle, you discard the hit. Page 75 BrB. According to you, that means that the entire hit is discarded, not just the Glancing or Penetrating hit.


It kind of is, I'm talking weapons. You're talking "smoke"

Chaos lord may exchange any weapon IIRC for a pistol. They're both weapons.

Off to work.

They're a Primary and Secondary Weapon housed in a single Weapon.
Just like a Glancing or Penetrating Hit is caused by a Hit.

Find permission to trade in a Primary Weapon.


Chaos Lord may replace "one" weapon with

A primary weapon is one weapon.

A secondary weapon is one weapon.

The chaos lord may trade "one" out.

It says one weapon. Does it say one primary weapon?
Or one secondary weapon?

The weapon is the combi. The parts of it are the primary and secondary weapon. These two things are not interchangable.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Weapons add strengrh to dmg vs vehiles right?
So if I fire my secondary weapon it doesnt beings youre telling me its not a wepon. If it was csm lord can trade it out.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: