Switch Theme:

Stormraven - shadow of the skies - flyers base  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Can you recite where moving under flyer are moving through terrain?

And P.30 is an exception to the normal rule as is the flyer rule, they are bot exceptions in different ways. My point still stands, if a flyer's base can stand on me, ı can stand on a flyer's base.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 21:24:52


Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in sg
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





Lost in the Warp

There's of course, that one caveat under the Zooming Flyer rules which state that models still need to be 1" away from the flyer's base no matter what... And unless you're intending to magnetically levitate your models an inch off of the flyer's base, this specific rule prevents you from having any models on the flyer's base itself.

In the section where it says a flyer may end its move over another unit, the specific wording refers to the flyer, not its base. Taking its interpretation, you are allowed to have parts of a flyer (i.e. its wings) over another unit. The wording is quite clear when it refers to the flyer - it does not refer to the base. In any case, even IF you decide to interpret that ruling of "flyer" to include "the flyer and its base", there is no possible way a flyer (on its base) can stand on another unit (trying to imagine squishing a space marine model with my entire flyer + base here...) safely.

When you put both rules together, you get a ruling that tells you that your flyer may have any parts of its hull above another unit, BUT all units still need to be 1" away from the flyer's base. Nowhere is specific permission given for you to have models on the flyer's base, and nowhere states that the base of a flyer is a piece of terrain.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 22:06:41


Click here for my Swap Shop post - I'm buying stuff!
DR:90-S++G++M+B++I+Pw40kPbfg99#+D++A++/eWDR++T(T)DM+
Black Legion/Iron Warriors/Night Lords Inquisitorial Friends & Co. (Inq, GK, Elysians, Assassins) Elysian Droptroops, soon-to-add Armored Battlegroup Adeptus Mechanicus Forge World Lucius

 
   
Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





 Enigwolf wrote:
There's of course, that one caveat under the Zooming Flyer rules which state that models still need to be 1" away from the flyer's base no matter what... And unless you're intending to magnetically levitate your models an inch off of the flyer's base, this specific rule prevents you from having any models on the flyer's base itself.

In the section where it says a flyer may end its move over another unit, the specific wording refers to the flyer, not its base. Taking its interpretation, you are allowed to have parts of a flyer (i.e. its wings) over another unit. The wording is quite clear when it refers to the flyer - it does not refer to the base. In any case, even IF you decide to interpret that ruling of "flyer" to include "the flyer and its base", there is no possible way a flyer (on its base) can stand on another unit (trying to imagine squishing a space marine model with my entire flyer + base here...) safely.

When you put both rules together, you get a ruling that tells you that your flyer may have any parts of its hull above another unit, BUT all units still need to be 1" away from the flyer's base. Nowhere is specific permission given for you to have models on the flyer's base, and nowhere states that the base of a flyer is a piece of terrain.


the 1" rule is for the enemy units not friendly.

To my knowledge there is not a single rule about friendly units not being able to be in base contact in any situation, if i am wrong please refer.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 23:37:52


Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 pizzaguardian wrote:
Can you recite where moving under flyer are moving through terrain?

And P.30 is an exception to the normal rule as is the flyer rule, they are bot exceptions in different ways. My point still stands, if a flyer's base can stand on me, ı can stand on a flyer's base.
A Flyers base is not terrain, so you can not move on top of it.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in sg
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





Lost in the Warp

 pizzaguardian wrote:
 Enigwolf wrote:
There's of course, that one caveat under the Zooming Flyer rules which state that models still need to be 1" away from the flyer's base no matter what... And unless you're intending to magnetically levitate your models an inch off of the flyer's base, this specific rule prevents you from having any models on the flyer's base itself.

In the section where it says a flyer may end its move over another unit, the specific wording refers to the flyer, not its base. Taking its interpretation, you are allowed to have parts of a flyer (i.e. its wings) over another unit. The wording is quite clear when it refers to the flyer - it does not refer to the base. In any case, even IF you decide to interpret that ruling of "flyer" to include "the flyer and its base", there is no possible way a flyer (on its base) can stand on another unit (trying to imagine squishing a space marine model with my entire flyer + base here...) safely.

When you put both rules together, you get a ruling that tells you that your flyer may have any parts of its hull above another unit, BUT all units still need to be 1" away from the flyer's base. Nowhere is specific permission given for you to have models on the flyer's base, and nowhere states that the base of a flyer is a piece of terrain.


the 1" rule is for the enemy units not friendly.

To my knowledge there is not a single rule about friendly units not being able to be in base contact in any situation, if i am wrong please refer.


I recall seeing the rule somewhere else, but I can't seem to find it. I did find this for Independent Characters though, BRB Pg. 39 "Independent Character - Joining and Leaving a Unit" paragraph 2:
..It must (where possible) remain more than 2" away from it at the end of the Movement phase.

Click here for my Swap Shop post - I'm buying stuff!
DR:90-S++G++M+B++I+Pw40kPbfg99#+D++A++/eWDR++T(T)DM+
Black Legion/Iron Warriors/Night Lords Inquisitorial Friends & Co. (Inq, GK, Elysians, Assassins) Elysian Droptroops, soon-to-add Armored Battlegroup Adeptus Mechanicus Forge World Lucius

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

 pizzaguardian wrote:
 Enigwolf wrote:
There's of course, that one caveat under the Zooming Flyer rules which state that models still need to be 1" away from the flyer's base no matter what... And unless you're intending to magnetically levitate your models an inch off of the flyer's base, this specific rule prevents you from having any models on the flyer's base itself.

In the section where it says a flyer may end its move over another unit, the specific wording refers to the flyer, not its base. Taking its interpretation, you are allowed to have parts of a flyer (i.e. its wings) over another unit. The wording is quite clear when it refers to the flyer - it does not refer to the base. In any case, even IF you decide to interpret that ruling of "flyer" to include "the flyer and its base", there is no possible way a flyer (on its base) can stand on another unit (trying to imagine squishing a space marine model with my entire flyer + base here...) safely.

When you put both rules together, you get a ruling that tells you that your flyer may have any parts of its hull above another unit, BUT all units still need to be 1" away from the flyer's base. Nowhere is specific permission given for you to have models on the flyer's base, and nowhere states that the base of a flyer is a piece of terrain.


the 1" rule is for the enemy units not friendly.

To my knowledge there is not a single rule about friendly units not being able to be in base contact in any situation, if i am wrong please refer.

You can move into base contact with a friendly model's base. You just can't move on top of/through that base. As page 30 (and multiple other places in the rules) reminds us.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/17 07:06:29


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





It's about clearly marking what unit an Independence character is a member of and doesn't have much bearing here.

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





 Mannahnin wrote:
 pizzaguardian wrote:
 Enigwolf wrote:
There's of course, that one caveat under the Zooming Flyer rules which state that models still need to be 1" away from the flyer's base no matter what... And unless you're intending to magnetically levitate your models an inch off of the flyer's base, this specific rule prevents you from having any models on the flyer's base itself.

In the section where it says a flyer may end its move over another unit, the specific wording refers to the flyer, not its base. Taking its interpretation, you are allowed to have parts of a flyer (i.e. its wings) over another unit. The wording is quite clear when it refers to the flyer - it does not refer to the base. In any case, even IF you decide to interpret that ruling of "flyer" to include "the flyer and its base", there is no possible way a flyer (on its base) can stand on another unit (trying to imagine squishing a space marine model with my entire flyer + base here...) safely.

When you put both rules together, you get a ruling that tells you that your flyer may have any parts of its hull above another unit, BUT all units still need to be 1" away from the flyer's base. Nowhere is specific permission given for you to have models on the flyer's base, and nowhere states that the base of a flyer is a piece of terrain.


the 1" rule is for the enemy units not friendly.

To my knowledge there is not a single rule about friendly units not being able to be in base contact in any situation, if i am wrong please refer.

You can move into base contact with a friendly model's base. You just can't move on top of/through that base. As page 30 (and multiple other places in the rules) reminds us.


I am trying to tell that the flyers are an exception to the rule, since nearly all of their rules are different from vehicles /infantry.

@Deathreaper

Couldn't i suggest the point where the flyer's base is ignored except for 2 specific pourposes , and effectively not there , so it can be moved through and stayed upon?

Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 pizzaguardian wrote:
@Deathreaper

Couldn't i suggest the point where the flyer's base is ignored except for 2 specific pourposes , and effectively not there , so it can be moved through and stayed upon?


You could suggest that, what section is it under?

Flyers and Measuring?

So it is ignored for measuring, but not for moving.

Do not ignore the context of the section.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




SC

I think after a certain point you have to sit back and play the game. The flyer is obviously flying and although its base is not terrain, it has to have a base or you need to set up some elaborate wire system to properly portray your flyer flying. I think you can fairly place the models on the base of the flyer or nearby and just tell your opponent that you'll move them or account for them being under the flyer during the next movement / shooting phase.

Saying that a flyers base is not terrain of any type and that units can not move on anything not terrain is the kind of response that doesn't help answer the question, it just confuses the issue more.

 
   
Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





 DeathReaper wrote:
 pizzaguardian wrote:
@Deathreaper

Couldn't i suggest the point where the flyer's base is ignored except for 2 specific pourposes , and effectively not there , so it can be moved through and stayed upon?


You could suggest that, what section is it under?

Flyers and Measuring?

So it is ignored for measuring, but not for moving.

Do not ignore the context of the section.


You are correct. So i will suggest flyers and other models section which allows us to move beneath the flyer and the flyer can move over other models. This allows to place models anywhere under the flyer.

Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Does "move under" equate to "stop under"?

ID say no based on Jump Infantry being able to move over friendly units or impassable terrain but not being able to stop there (unless its flat enough to land on).

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 pizzaguardian wrote:
So i will suggest flyers and other models section which allows us to move beneath the flyer and the flyer can move over other models. This allows to place models anywhere under the flyer.

You can move beneath the flyer, but it does not give an allowance to ignore the base ofr movement purposes.

Plus you are only allowed to move through terrain, a flyers base is not terrain.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Can you refer where i can not move somewhere that is not terrain?

(I am also not forfeiting the point that stormravens base is not terrain btw)

Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Page 90 classifies terrain into a few categories.

Difficult, Dangerous, Impassible Etc.

"Any area not specifically classed as a type of terrain (such
as a building, ruin, forest, river, battlefield wreckage or unique
terrain) is considered to be open ground." P. 90

So terrain is what makes up the entire battlefield.

P.119 has the three different deployment maps, and P.120 tells you how to set up terrain on the battlefield.

P.121 says "Armies are placed within the owning player's deployment zone."

So models that are deployed must be deployed in terrain, and the movement rules do not say that you can move through anything that is not terrain. (Permissive ruleset tells us what we are allowed to do.) The deployment and terrain sections establish that models must be deployed in terrain (Open terrain is still terrain).

Therefore since nothing says you can move through something that is not terrain, then you can only move through terrain.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/18 00:55:16


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

As discussed earlier in this thread, as well, the flyer rules tell us that the base is ignored except for a couple of specific purposes, then immediately go on to detail MORE things for which they are not ignored.

The rules which say you can move under the flyer also are quite explicit that despite being able to move under the flyer, enemy models still have to remain at all times 1" away from the base. So the allowance to move under the flyer clearly doesn't mean that the base can just be moved over. There's an implicit "except for the base" caveat on the permission to move under the flyer.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: