Switch Theme:

Salvo Fire 2/4  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
FenixZero wrote:
... Slow and Purposeful (Termies) models fire Salvo weapons as if they didn't move.
Wait, Terminators are Slow and Purposeful?

Not 100% sure about that, just figured that they were. . .

Sorry for the confusion if they weren't.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 DeathReaper wrote:
FenixZero wrote:
... Slow and Purposeful (Termies) models fire Salvo weapons as if they didn't move.
Wait, Terminators are Slow and Purposeful?

I haven't read the codex but that is a massive hit. If true.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/14 17:26:49


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It isnt true, hence the people pointing this out.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Texx wrote:
I think its a stupid question, but the stormbolters (deathwing) also get the salvo 2/4 since stormbolters are a type of boltGUN (according to the main rulebook)?

Thus it would appear that it works for all three Dark Angel army's standard guns (DW, RW, green wing)? I guess they'll be called the Dakka Angels from now on.

*shudders*


No, because they have a different statline then boltguns.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Texx wrote:
I think its a stupid question, but the stormbolters (deathwing) also get the salvo 2/4 since stormbolters are a type of boltGUN (according to the main rulebook)?

Thus it would appear that it works for all three Dark Angel army's standard guns (DW, RW, green wing)? I guess they'll be called the Dakka Angels from now on.

*shudders*


Page 56 of the BRB shows a list of the Boltguns.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

So what do they consider "bolters"?

Is it just the "Boltgun"

Or is it all the "Boltguns" listed on P. 56 such as the:
Bolt pistol
Boltgun
Storm bolter
HIeavy bolter
Vulcan mega-bolter

Does the rule give any guidance on what they mean when they say "Bolter"?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Vancouver, BC

It's just Boltguns. Your Bolt Pistol isn't going to become Salvo 2/4, and neither is your Stormbolters.

Do relentless platforms (such as the bikes) get to fire 4 shots regardless of if they moved, or do they have to fire at half range/half shots as well?

 warboss wrote:
Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Crazyterran wrote:
It's just Boltguns. Your Bolt Pistol isn't going to become Salvo 2/4, and neither is your Stormbolters.

Can I get a rules quote to back this up, "Some guy on the internet said so" is not going to cut it at the shop.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Crazyterran wrote:
It's just Boltguns. Your Bolt Pistol isn't going to become Salvo 2/4, and neither is your Stormbolters.

Do relentless platforms (such as the bikes) get to fire 4 shots regardless of if they moved, or do they have to fire at half range/half shots as well?


Relentless models count as stationary when firing weapons, so yes.

@DeathReaper

You can use the C:SM FAQ as precedent (the bit about sternguard and special ammunition) to rule out storm bolters.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/15 06:35:06


 
   
Made in ca
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Vancouver, BC

 DeathReaper wrote:
Crazyterran wrote:
It's just Boltguns. Your Bolt Pistol isn't going to become Salvo 2/4, and neither is your Stormbolters.

Can I get a rules quote to back this up, "Some guy on the internet said so" is not going to cut it at the shop.


Because the entry for "Boltgun" is S4 AP5 Rapid Fire? Sometimes it even becomes S4 AP5 Rapid Fire Twin-Linked?

It's by name, unless it specifies otherwise. Hurricane Bolters are 3 Boltguns w/ Twin Linked. Bikes have Boltguns that are twin linked.

Stormbolters are not Boltguns. Heavy Bolters are not Boltguns.

Unless Space Marine Missile Launchers can now launch Flakk Missiles for free, being under the Boltgun entry in the Rulebook means jack and gak.

Unless the back of your Codex has "Bolter" instead of "Boltgun", I think it's pretty obvious what it means.

 warboss wrote:
Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be.
 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





^ is right
Boltguns is a weapon category.
boltgun is a weapon.
this refers to the Boltgun.
Even if the codex used bolter, the text under bolguns states "The Boltgun or Bolter, meaning Bolter is the same as Boltgun however still not the same as Boltguns.

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




To follow up on the combi-weapon: from BRB p 56:

Combi-weapons are boltguns that have been specially
modified by skilled artisans.

and

A model armed with a combi-weapon can choose to fire either the primary boltgun, or the secondary weapon.


I am Red/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both chaotic and orderly. I value my own principles, and am willing to go to extreme lengths to enforce them, often trampling on the very same principles in the process. At best, I'm heroic and principled; at worst, I'm hypocritical and disorderly.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

The way I've worded it for combiweapons in another thread is that the combiweapon IS a bolter, and its also a single shot special weapon, because you're told to use those profiles. The only oddity is that they're bought as one wargear option and not two.

This also explains why your plasma shot doesnt suddenly become salvo a a result! The rules treat that shot as a separate weapon, and that weapon isn't a bolter.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 00:54:08


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: