Switch Theme:

Crazy rule question! - Targeting units inside transports, w/shooting which doesn't require LOS  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Raging Ravener




The rule doesn't specify the embarked unit shooting. It just specifies involving" if they are being shot at are they involved? i would think so. So the rule applies.

Never underestimate the Genestealers ability to sweeping advance EVERYTHING!  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





clively wrote:
Wounds taken from a shooting attack might cause a leadership/morale test. Therefore you can't shoot them.

No, it wouldn't. Embarked units are Fearless so no morale test required.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Backlash wrote:LOS isnt an issue i understand. You cant target a unit in a transport because you cant check range on it.
pg 78 "if the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measure too or from the vehicles hull."
Can you check range on a model not on the table?


Backlash wrote:The rule doesn't specify the embarked unit shooting. It just specifies involving" if they are being shot at are they involved? i would think so. So the rule applies.

If I need to measure a range involving the embarked unit, the range is measured too or from the vehicle's hull.
The parenthetical means that if the embarked unit is shooting you do not measure to the vehicle's hull - the Firing Point rules specify you measure to the Firing Point.

Again, all ranges except for the embarked units shooting are measured to the vehicles hull.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/21 03:49:39


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Backlash wrote:
LOS isnt an issue i understand. You cant target a unit in a transport because you cant check range on it.
pg 78 "if the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measure too or from the vehicles hull."
Can you check range on a model not on the table?

So you say we can't check range by linking the rule that says we CAN measure the range?
I don't get it..
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





the rule says "except for shooting".....

But a blast weapon with unlimited range that ignores LOS (i'm sure i can find one if i need to) doesn't check range of LOS.

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 jegsar wrote:
the rule says "except for shooting".....

No, that's not what it says.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






The Except for shooting part is there b.c the unit inside the vehicle needs to use the Fire Point and not the Hull.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: