Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 19:16:38
Subject: Re:Charging with a Jump pack ?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Super Ready wrote:I don't see anything in the advanced character rules on page 63 relevant apart from where it mentions they follow the usual movement rules for models of their type. The rule for different movement distances within a unit is on page 10 - basic rules.
Page 47 specifically says:
"Note that the *ENTIRE UNIT* must always use the same form of movement."
...emphasis mine of course, but - how on earth can you interpret that to refer only to jump models? It says the ENTIRE UNIT. It doesn't say Jump models only. I don't see how that can be any clearer.
Absolutely.
There is nothing to say this applies to only units that comprise completely of jump models. The entire unit.
No exceptions are listed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 20:10:01
Subject: Re:Charging with a Jump pack ?
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
Super Ready wrote:I don't see anything in the advanced character rules on page 63 relevant apart from where it mentions they follow the usual movement rules for models of their type. The rule for different movement distances within a unit is on page 10 - basic rules.
Page 47 specifically says:
"Note that the *ENTIRE UNIT* must always use the same form of movement."
...emphasis mine of course, but - how on earth can you interpret that to refer only to jump models? It says the ENTIRE UNIT. It doesn't say Jump models only. I don't see how that can be any clearer.
How would a Biker Boss or Tech Marine on a bike move when attached to a squad of infantry? He cannot possibly use the same form of movement.
|
Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 20:21:29
Subject: Charging with a Jump pack ?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
The same form of movement is the restriction imposed by models being jump, x.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 20:25:08
Subject: Charging with a Jump pack ?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Yes, this. Page 47 (and the rule you quoted) is specifically from Jump. The rules for Bikes, Beasts, etc... don't have the same rule. The only restriction there is - as usual - that they must keep coherency, as per character rules on page 63.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 20:27:26
Subject: Charging with a Jump pack ?
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
liturgies of blood wrote:The same form of movement is the restriction imposed by models being jump, x.
Super Ready wrote:
Yes, this. Page 47 (and the rule you quoted) is specifically from Jump. The rules for Bikes, Beasts, etc... don't have the same rule. The only restriction there is - as usual - that they must keep coherency, as per character rules on page 63.
That makes sense.
|
Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/17 05:47:12
Subject: Re:Charging with a Jump pack ?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Super Ready wrote:I don't see anything in the advanced character rules on page 63 relevant apart from where it mentions they follow the usual movement rules for models of their type. The rule for different movement distances within a unit is on page 10 - basic rules.
Page 47 specifically says:
"Note that the *ENTIRE UNIT* must always use the same form of movement."
...emphasis mine of course, but - how on earth can you interpret that to refer only to jump models? It says the ENTIRE UNIT. It doesn't say Jump models only. I don't see how that can be any clearer.
grendel083 wrote: Super Ready wrote:I don't see anything in the advanced character rules on page 63 relevant apart from where it mentions they follow the usual movement rules for models of their type. The rule for different movement distances within a unit is on page 10 - basic rules.
Page 47 specifically says:
"Note that the *ENTIRE UNIT* must always use the same form of movement."
...emphasis mine of course, but - how on earth can you interpret that to refer only to jump models? It says the ENTIRE UNIT. It doesn't say Jump models only. I don't see how that can be any clearer.
Absolutely.
There is nothing to say this applies to only units that comprise completely of jump models. The entire unit.
No exceptions are listed.
Yes, the "entire unit" is in reference ONLY to jump infantry because that is the section it is in.
How on earth could you interpret "the entire unit" to mean anything other than Jump models when that is the section it is in? Why would there need to be exceptions there when they're talking "only" about jump units AND there are many other rules that already spell out they can move however they want?
But you know what, you play it how you want. Bring it up to the FAQ board at GW, maybe they'll put it in one day. See what your TO's or opponents say. Personally if someone told me my jump unit couldn't benefit from their packs all because a non-jump model was in the unit, I'd not play them. Automatically Appended Next Post: Idolator wrote: Super Ready wrote:I don't see anything in the advanced character rules on page 63 relevant apart from where it mentions they follow the usual movement rules for models of their type. The rule for different movement distances within a unit is on page 10 - basic rules.
Page 47 specifically says:
"Note that the *ENTIRE UNIT* must always use the same form of movement."
...emphasis mine of course, but - how on earth can you interpret that to refer only to jump models? It says the ENTIRE UNIT. It doesn't say Jump models only. I don't see how that can be any clearer.
How would a Biker Boss or Tech Marine on a bike move when attached to a squad of infantry? He cannot possibly use the same form of movement.
liturgies of blood wrote:The same form of movement is the restriction imposed by models being jump, x.
I think what he's saying is that bikes don't walk and always move up to 12", jump infantry must use their packs to move up to 12" otherwise they move only up to 6", but neither bikes or jump infantry use the same form of movement.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/17 05:50:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/17 10:16:06
Subject: Re:Charging with a Jump pack ?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Let me ask one final question of you, then. Jet-packs, in a similar vein, use the word "unit" in their description of both Movement jetpack moves and Assault phase Thrust moves. Page 47 again:
"Jet Pack units can move as normal models of their type or activate their jet packs."
"A Jet Pack unit that is not locked in combat or charging can move up to 2D6" in the Assault phase."
...this allows jet-packers to use their packs in the Assault phase even if there's a model in the unit without one, as long as the unit remains in coherency. Why don't they have the same restriction saying that they must all use their jet-packs at the same time?
I believe it's because the use of the word "unit" already dictates this - you aren't given permission to choose an individual jet-pack model. Hence, you can use jet-packs even if there's a model in the unit without one - but not jump-packs, and that's why it specifically states the entire unit.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/17 10:55:36
Subject: Re:Charging with a Jump pack ?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Kevin949 wrote:Yes, the "entire unit" is in reference ONLY to jump infantry because that is the section it is in.
Can you show where that is written in the rules?
You somehow manage to interpret "entire unit must" as "part of a unit may".
How on earth could you interpret "the entire unit" to mean anything other than Jump models when that is the section it is in? Why would there need to be exceptions there when they're talking "only" about jump units AND there are many other rules that already spell out they can move however they want?
So assuming you're right, you would have an entire unit re-roll their charge distance when only a single model has a jump pack?
Charge distance can only be rolled once for the unit, Lemartes cannot roll separately. So you would have a unit not equipped with jump packs make a jump move?
"Entire unit" means exactly that. Nothing more or less. Any other interpretation leads to the rules abuse you're suggesting.
|
|
 |
 |
|