Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 16:51:00
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Check the rules on a Manticore. Its my understanding there is a rule that prevents it.
I don't own a Guard Codex and can't confirm, only going by memory.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 16:52:47
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Dogface 76 wrote:So can the Manticore fire all its Storm Eagle rockets in one turn: Moving or not moving?
I guess my major question is why one can (Skyray) and the other cannot (Manticore)?
The seeker missile has no limitation to fire rate expect specifically specified for flyer mounted ones under its own rules.
the manticore is limited because its own special rules (limited ammunition) which states that it can only fire 1 per turn as stated above.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 16:55:06
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
Dogface 76 wrote:So can the Manticore fire all its Storm Eagle rockets in one turn: Moving or not moving?
I guess my major question is why one can (Skyray) and the other cannot (Manticore)?
The Manticore's Storm Eagle Rockets do not fire like missiles. It does not have 4 separate rockets that are one shot. Instead, it has a single weapon profile which is limited to firing four times per game.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 17:08:03
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
While stationary the Manticore may only fire a single missile(just like they always could.) based on its own special rules While moving they may only fire one, since blasts cannot be snapfired.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/16 17:12:49
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 17:09:07
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Dogface 76 wrote:So can the Manticore fire all its Storm Eagle rockets in one turn: Moving or not moving?
I guess my major question is why one can (Skyray) and the other cannot (Manticore)?
Did you not read the thread, this was answered already. (By me).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 17:09:58
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate
|
Dogface 76 wrote:So can the Manticore fire all its Storm Eagle rockets in one turn: Moving or not moving?
I guess my major question is why one can (Skyray) and the other cannot (Manticore)?
No , you cannot.
"Storm Eagle Rockets" is one weapon ,and Manticore has only this weapon and a heavy bolter. Storm Eagle Rockets "can fire only four times " does't means : Manticore has four weapons.
|
2000
2000+ army
2500 army
2000+
2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 17:13:34
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
Ah... so the listing in the Skyray wargear section: "6 seeker missiles" vs the Manticore's "Storm Eagle Rockets" and the "Limited Ammunition" makes the difference.
Thank you again--but c'mon....4 Storm Eagle rockets with 3 lrg markers....12 lrg markers scattering wildly over your opponents force! Dont we all want to see that?
|
I do not discriminate....all races are equally worthless....
4500 Fist of the Five Castes
4000 76th Fremont Motor Rifle
2000 Crimson Suns Chapter |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 17:15:39
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
How many weapons does a Manticore have? The Skyray has 9 just like any vehicle it can fire all its weapons if it remains stationary.
The Manticore has 1 gun it can fire 4 times. The Skyray has 6 guns that can each only be fired once.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 17:17:21
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Manticore may fire 1 Rocket either way because the "Storm eagle rockets" are a single weapon, that the "limited ammunition" rule limits to 4 total shots from that weapon. There is a significant difference between the Manticore and Skystrike missiles. Automatically Appended Next Post: Kommissar Kel wrote:Manticore may fire 1 Rocket either way because the "Storm eagle rockets" are a single weapon, that the "limited ammunition" rule limits to 4 total shots from that weapon.
There is a significant difference between the Manticore and Seeker missiles.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/05/16 17:25:48
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 18:59:24
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Dogface 76 wrote:So can the Manticore fire all its Storm Eagle rockets in one turn: Moving or not moving?
I guess my major question is why one can (Skyray) and the other cannot (Manticore)?
No.
The Manticore does not have 4 missiles.
It has one weapon (rocket not missile) that can only be fired 4 times per game.
And in this case, a single weapon destroyed result will remove all rocket shots (because it's a single weapon with 4 uses).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 20:05:04
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I would say the random weapon destroyed would count each missile seperate as if you put a seeker missile on another vehicle (which I understand you can) then that seeker would also be subject to weapon destroyed
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/16 23:20:06
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Dogface 76 wrote:So can the Manticore fire all its Storm Eagle rockets in one turn: Moving or not moving?
Nope.
Dogface 76 wrote:I guess my major question is why one can (Skyray) and the other cannot (Manticore)?
Because the Skyray has six one-shot weapons, while the manticore has one four-shot weapon. Six weapons can each be fired, but a single weapon can only be fired once.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 00:05:33
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
Edit: Nothing to see here.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/17 00:10:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/17 02:15:57
Subject: Skyray Shenanigans
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Assuming the Storm Eagle Rockets were missiles (and not rockets),
And assuming there were 4 of them (instead of 1 with 4 uses),
Then it still could not fire all 4.
Because they're Ordnance.
Once one is fired, the others are Snap Shots (therefore can't be fired).
So a whole pile of reasons why not.
|
|
 |
 |
|