Switch Theme:

Phoenix Gem + other Remnants of Glory?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You have permission to swap ONE weapon for ONE item

You arte swapping TWO weapons for TWO items. Find permission to do that

And yes, you DO need permission to do that, as you are told, explicitly, you MAY swap one weapon for one weapon. The game is permissive - find the permission

Mahtamori - you can do that if you want to take e.g. gem or mantle plus a weapon; you are told you can take items, you are no longer bound by the permission to only take 1 weapon in exchange for 1 wqeapon as you arent swapping a weapon any longer
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




In that case it is merely how you read it.

Gotta wait for FAQ
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




nosferatu1001 wrote:
You have permission to swap ONE weapon for ONE item

You arte swapping TWO weapons for TWO items. Find permission to do that

And yes, you DO need permission to do that, as you are told, explicitly, you MAY swap one weapon for one weapon. The game is permissive - find the permission

Mahtamori - you can do that if you want to take e.g. gem or mantle plus a weapon; you are told you can take items, you are no longer bound by the permission to only take 1 weapon in exchange for 1 wqeapon as you arent swapping a weapon any longer


I tend to read it more like you do, but can see the other side has a valid point. It is ambiguous.
   
Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

The permission to take more than 1 remnant per model is given in the options for a model that can take them.

It reads: may take items from the remnants of glory list. Note how it says items which is plural. So, those items that require weapon swaps aren't limited to just 1 per model - its 1 per weapon.



 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan




In the Casualty section of a Blood Bowl dugout

If you were to go all grammar Nazi on this, I think you'd have to make the call that you can take more than one. For example, I could take the Firesabre, which is using up my allowance of "Replacing one weapon with one of the following" And then I could take the Phoenix Gem, because this is not replacing anything hence isn't covered by the above restriction. Pretty ambiguous though.

However, I think, going of RAI, it's fairly clear that, from the mention of "One of the following" you are only meant to take one Remnant.


DT:90S+++G++MB++IPwhfb06#+++D+A+++/eWD309R+T(T)DM+

9th Age Fantasy Rules

 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

 The Shadow wrote:
However, I think, going of RAI, it's fairly clear that,

I contest this statement most strongly. It's not clear in any way shape or form what the codex writer intended. They've written both, and used a language which clearly mean both depending on where you read. In the case where clarity is needed, you will have to wait for the FAQ and then agree with your opponent.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




 The Shadow wrote:


However, I think, going of RAI, it's fairly clear that, from the mention of "One of the following" you are only meant to take one Remnant.



No way. If that was the case the Farseer entry would not be "May take items from the Remnants of Glory list".

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 ColdSadHungry wrote:
The permission to take more than 1 remnant per model is given in the options for a model that can take them.

It reads: may take items from the remnants of glory list. Note how it says items which is plural. So, those items that require weapon swaps aren't limited to just 1 per model - its 1 per weapon.

So youre ignoring the part where it says you may swap one weapon for one item?

You are granted permission to go to the list and buy items
You are then restricted from purchasing more than one item whcih swaps a weapon, by the line saying you may swap one weapon for one item.

You dont get to ignore a rule when it isnt convenient
   
Made in it
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners






Foreword: I have not read the rule myself (yet).
Based on what I read here, there might be a wording problem:

So, the rule says we can take items, by swapping one item with one weapon.
Could be clearer if it said: 'take any item from the list' or 'take one item from the list'

But I have to agree with the first of the two "rephrasings"

Model has one weapon? She can take one swap-based item and any non-swap ones (up to one each per army)
Model has two weapons? She can take up to two "swaps" and any "add-ons".

Doing the latter adds up in point cost for the single model, and that could be not the best idea (if the model is killed, one loses all the bonuses, if one spreads the bonuses, they are more safeguarded, if may be less... deadly)

2270 (1725 painted)
1978 (180 painted)
329 (280ish)
705 (0)
193 (0)
165 (0)
:assassins: 855 (540) 
   
Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

nosferatu1001 wrote:
 ColdSadHungry wrote:
The permission to take more than 1 remnant per model is given in the options for a model that can take them.

It reads: may take items from the remnants of glory list. Note how it says items which is plural. So, those items that require weapon swaps aren't limited to just 1 per model - its 1 per weapon.

So youre ignoring the part where it says you may swap one weapon for one item?

You are granted permission to go to the list and buy items
You are then restricted from purchasing more than one item whcih swaps a weapon, by the line saying you may swap one weapon for one item.

You dont get to ignore a rule when it isnt convenient


I usually find that your interpretations are well thought out and considered Nos so I will go back to the codex and have another look. However, the way that I have interpreted it is that the wording under the models options gives permission to take more than 1 whilst the wording above the costings of the remnants provides the instructions for how you take a remnant. The 'one for one' instructions aren't therefore denying you permission to take more than one, they're just advising that in the case of a remnant having to replace a weapon, one remnant costs one weapon (and it's related points cost).



 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Jacob29 wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Jacob29 wrote:
I still think you can swap more than one, but that its a 1:1 conversion rate.

So if you swap 2 weapons for 2 items, how have you fulfilled the rule allowing you to swap ONE weapon?

Ploease provide permission to swap 2 weapons. Page and graph is sufficient. Or is this a HIWPI argument? If so, as per the tenets of the forum denote it as such


Because I swap ONE weapon for ONE item but then I do it again.

It doesn't say it is limited to 1 nor I can only do this once.

Its like vehicle upgrades, "swap X for Y". The reason it says one weapon for an item is so you can't buy ALL of the Glory items.


The rule doesn't say 1:1 Ratio, it simply states 1 weapon. After trading out the first you have traded out your 1 weapon. Anything more than that 1 would be going against the rule.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Cold - yet that isnt what the codex states. It tells you to swap one weapon for one item. This is a restriction (as well as permission) on taking two weapons and swapping them for two items, as that is not "one".
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

"Replace one weapon" is a lot different from "Replace a weapon".
The former would be a one and only one restriction.
The later would be any number on a 1:1 ratio.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: