Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/18 08:36:35
Subject: Re:Casting blessings on units that arrive from reserve
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Mark, this FAQ (heavily referenced earlier in the thread), allows you to roll for Outflank before casting Blessings:
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
The rules for Outflank tell you to move the unit on immediately, so if you have two Outflanking units one is on the board before the other rolls to determine which side it appears. The FAQ gives explicit permission to Bless after this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/18 08:41:02
Subject: Casting blessings on units that arrive from reserve
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, the FAQ gives permission to roll for reserves and outflank, it does not give permission to cast after movement has been done. If rolls were not mentioned in that fine, I would agree. IMO the FAQ gives permission to create a break in the outflank and reserve rolls, so you can do those first then powers then movement, reserve first then normal. I use a daemon army with over 19 psyhic powers in it so it would benefit me to read it that way. Like I said before its not 100% clear as clearly some others do not read it as I do. Seems flingitnow really wanted a discussion on it. I have made my stance rather clear so I will leave it at that  .
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/18 08:42:55
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/18 08:45:22
Subject: Casting blessings on units that arrive from reserve
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yes I would roll outflank etc together, but what does that prove?, does it prove that when you roll reserves then outflank then move your units into the table it is no longer start of the movement phase, therefore blessing cannot be done
You're not allowed to do this. You HAVE to move your unit on when you roll for its Outflank. Given that you've now moved a unit on can you roll for the next units outflank?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/18 08:54:43
Subject: Casting blessings on units that arrive from reserve
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
You dont HAVE to do anything..
The Outflank rule actually says that units move onto the table as described for other reserves..
This is a discussion im not going more into, because faq tells you that you can cast blessings at the same time as outflanking rolls, and reserve rolls.
That obviously means that you can move your units onto the table and then cast blessings, even tho the blessings are cast at the start of the movement phase, not during.. Sure..
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/18 09:02:51
Subject: Casting blessings on units that arrive from reserve
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
The Outflank rule actually says that units move onto the table as described for other reserves..
You need to read the outflank rule and check when you do it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/19 06:45:41
Subject: Casting blessings on units that arrive from reserve
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Alyssis wrote:You dont HAVE to do anything..
The Outflank rule actually says that units move onto the table as described for other reserves..
This is a discussion im not going more into, because faq tells you that you can cast blessings at the same time as outflanking rolls, and reserve rolls.
That obviously means that you can move your units onto the table and then cast blessings, even tho the blessings are cast at the start of the movement phase, not during.. Sure..
Try rereading the Outflank rules, and note that you do HAVE to move them on immediately you roll for the side. You do not get to, for example, roll for 3 outflankkng units "sides" before moving any of them on. That directly contradicts the rules.
Mark - the Outflank rules require you to immediately move the models on. You then roll another Outflank, and immediatley move the models on. You are, as per the FAQ, allowed to cast blessings AFTER rolling for Outflank - meaning you can certainly move one outflank unit on, cast a Blessing, then move another Outflank unit on - as you are told these are ALL simultaneous with the start of turn.
|
|
 |
 |
|