Switch Theme:

Tyranid Qestion: Mawloc terror from the deep and destroyed.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




shogun wrote:
You can fly over a model but still cannot put the flyers base unto another model (friendly or enemy). Their no rules for when you get "forced" to move and thats the whole issue.

Incorrect, as pointed out. Skimmers are allowed to continue moving, if specifically forced to stop over somewhere they cannot be, and flyers do the same. As pointed out.
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





New Orleans

So what would happen if I dropped 6 sets of gaunts w/ pods around his eldar titan then the mawloc went in? It would take the d6 hits instead of being destroyed? Where would you move the titan to? Would it get its saves vs the hits?

01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110  
   
Made in mx
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan




Mexico

The new subterranean swarm comes to mind, Mawlocs everywhere.
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz






New Jersey

This has been a puzzle for me. though I not used a titan. I have had an Ork Battlewagon surrounded by figures 1+ inches away and Mawloc comes up. Mawloc didn't scatter because of a Lictor.

First the way we played it. The battlewagon was destroyed and removed from the game. I protested because my battlewagon should be able to tank shock and move far enough to be in btb contact with Mawloc. For the sake of time we just removed the battlewagon.

After reading the rules for Tank Shock, there is nothing saying it wouldn't just plow straight forward tank shocking the unit(s) in front.

My question is can a vehicle tank shock his way out from under Mawloc's base? Or is it just removed?

If a vehicle can or can not tank shock on an opponents turns. Can you please give me the quote and page number from the Rule Book or FAQ?

Not loud, on fire, or explodin' yer doin' et wrong  
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

I sense Black Magic, of the necromantic variety! Quick, lock this thread and start a new one!

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





When do you declare a tank shock?
That should be enough to prove that you did the correct thing by destroying the Battlewagon.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in mx
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan




Mexico

 Sleg wrote:
This has been a puzzle for me. though I not used a titan. I have had an Ork Battlewagon surrounded by figures 1+ inches away and Mawloc comes up. Mawloc didn't scatter because of a Lictor.

First the way we played it. The battlewagon was destroyed and removed from the game. I protested because my battlewagon should be able to tank shock and move far enough to be in btb contact with Mawloc. For the sake of time we just removed the battlewagon.

After reading the rules for Tank Shock, there is nothing saying it wouldn't just plow straight forward tank shocking the unit(s) in front.

My question is can a vehicle tank shock his way out from under Mawloc's base? Or is it just removed?

If a vehicle can or can not tank shock on an opponents turns. Can you please give me the quote and page number from the Rule Book or FAQ?


It is removed, you can't Tank Shock in your opponent's turn.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





In the original diagram, couldn't the marine player save his Dreadnought by moving the tanks first? It looks as though once they're shifted to be 1" away from the Mawloc's base there would be room for the Dreadnought to sneak between them (backwards in the direction away from the Spore).
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener






Altruizine wrote:
In the original diagram, couldn't the marine player save his Dreadnought by moving the tanks first? It looks as though once they're shifted to be 1" away from the Mawloc's base there would be room for the Dreadnought to sneak between them (backwards in the direction away from the Spore).


How would the tanks move? It's the Nid player's turn and, correct me if I am wrong, but the attack only affects units hit by the template and not every model withing 1 inch.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/12 07:33:11



Lots and lots and lots. 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz






New Jersey

 Tyran wrote:


It is removed, you can't Tank Shock in your opponent's turn.


OK, where does it say you can't?

Tank shock says before a tank moves it can declare Tank Shock. Mawloc is deep striking and says to move the model in BtB. Since the tank moves it should be able to Tank shock, correct?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kwosge wrote:


How would the tanks move? It's the Nid player's turn and, correct me if I am wrong, but the attack only affects units hit by the template and not every model withing 1 inch.


The Template attack effects those under the template. Then Mawloc deep strikes, if the Dreadnaught can find a place an 1" or more away of all the other models and in BtB of Mawloc it will survive, if it is under Mawloc's base it is removed.

Flyers are considered impassible terrain if Mawloc's template attack doesn't effect them and when he arrives he needs to be an inch or more away otherwise Mawloc mishaps according to Deep Striking rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/12 10:51:27


Not loud, on fire, or explodin' yer doin' et wrong  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Sleg wrote:
 Tyran wrote:


It is removed, you can't Tank Shock in your opponent's turn.


OK, where does it say you can't?

Tank shock says before a tank moves it can declare Tank Shock. Mawloc is deep striking and says to move the model in BtB. Since the tank moves it should be able to Tank shock, correct?

You must declare a Tank Shock instead of moving normally. The Mawloc forced move is not a normal move (it's not restricted by distance, it's not during your turn)


 Kwosge wrote:
How would the tanks move? It's the Nid player's turn and, correct me if I am wrong, but the attack only affects units hit by the template and not every model withing 1 inch.

The Template attack effects those under the template. Then Mawloc deep strikes, if the Dreadnaught can find a place an 1" or more away of all the other models and in BtB of Mawloc it will survive, if it is under Mawloc's base it is removed.

Flyers are considered impassible terrain if Mawloc's template attack doesn't effect them and when he arrives he needs to be an inch or more away otherwise Mawloc mishaps according to Deep Striking rules.

The FAQ clarifies what happens to Flyers.
Tyranid FAQ page 4 wrote:Q: Are Zooming Flyers or Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures affected by Mawloc’s Terror From the Deep special rule? (p51)
A: No. However, if the Mawloc cannot be placed because a Zooming Flyer or a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature is in the way, move the obstructing model by the shortest distance so that they are 1" away from the Mawloc when it is placed.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: